Big Cox

Does Cox's category b rookie status prevent us from adding him to the senior list next year? Or does it work in our favour to keep him on the list? I'd be concerned that other clubs might start circling and am not sure how we lock him in while he has this status.

His Category B status doesn't make him vulnerable as far as being poached by other clubs is concerned (given that he would still be under contract for a while yet anyway). We can add him straight onto our senior list at the end of the year if we choose to (via a National Draft Rookie Elevation), but won't be under any pressure to do so. Blicavs was a Cat. B rookie at Geelong for 3 years (I think), and he's now an established member of their team. They were able to hang on to him until they were eventually forced to elevate him.

Big Mason is ours to keep, he gives the impression he's enjoying himself at Collingwood, and why wouldn't he be!

I'm happy to admit I just couldn't see a giant American coming to Australia aged 23-24 and making it in our native game, I'm simply staggered by what he has achieved, and very pleased to be proven wrong! A bit unfair, of course, but the Shae McNamara experience probably made me think mature age American imports were not likely to make it!

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/gee...e/news-story/2e2cae523c85b91ae3be57012a86edea

Five cowardly Geelong players gang up and get stuck into big Mason before the bounce - worked out well for them! The big fella just shrugged it off and went on to be the match winner. What a legend.

Yeah Brisbane tried the same things.
Must be a massive confidence boost that a guy in just his 4th game is being targetted by the opposition - and each time he has responded magnificently.

I reckon the club should have a quiet word with the umps to keep a close eye and make sure nothing crosses the line (esp. If they target an injured hand - remember stevie J and baker), but that sort of bumping is fine, and Mason gave plenty back

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/gee...e/news-story/2e2cae523c85b91ae3be57012a86edea

Five cowardly Geelong players gang up and get stuck into big Mason before the bounce - worked out well for them! The big fella just shrugged it off and went on to be the match winner. What a legend.

Yeah Brisbane tried the same things.
Must be a massive confidence boost that a guy in just his 4th game is being targetted by the opposition - and each time he has responded magnificently.

I reckon the club should have a quiet word with the umps to keep a close eye and make sure nothing crosses the line (esp. If they target an injured hand - remember stevie J and baker), but that sort of bumping is fine, and Mason gave plenty back

I think he actually likes the attention. He is a smart bloke and he would think he is getting into the opposition players heads.
How about that stare down on Merrett the week before after his mark!!!!

Like I said earlier I love the mongrel in him! :D

I think he should now only be introduced as...

"Collingwood Cult Hero Madon Cox" by anyone other than a pies supporter.

I think he actually likes the attention. He is a smart bloke and he would think he is getting into the opposition players heads.
How about that stare down on Merrett the week before after his mark!!!!

Like is said earlier I love the mongrel in him! :D
I think at the start of the 3rd quarter Geelong were bumping a few of our other forwards at about centre half forward. Cox was back further towards the goal square. Cox came up and gave it back to all the Geelong players, bumping them all many times. Good to see that he doesn't mind throwing his weight around.

Would cox salary be outside of our cap while he is on the cat b rookie list? Could he be given a pay rise and kept in the cat b list so it's outside of our cap?

I'm not generally one for hyperbole, but I believe he could become one of the game's greats.

Just wait till he's got 50-80 games into him, a few more preseasons, gym, conditioning and strength work.

He'd be almost impossible to match up on. So much upside, sky's the limit

I've been bemoaning the lack of mongrel in our team for a while now. I've been expecting it to come from Adams and JDG as they mature. But none other than a 7ft tall American, who has played 4 or 5 games, is showing some 'mongrel' form. Fantastic!

Being 7 foot tall is a good starting point to exert a little dominance.

The thing that has blown me away V P is he has got "footy smarts".

Scary thing is you cant teach that.......actually you cant instill mongrel either.

Lucky for us he has both those traits.

We done Americano!

Pretty standard pre-siren tactics actually. A welcome of sorts. He took it very well, answered perfectly which will hold him in good stead, even with his opponents.
It's a mans game with big egos and lots of testosterone....
Nothing wrong with it I don't think.

Against Brisvegas, after he played on after a mark and snapped a goal in close, Merritt took him out and tried to get him involved in some rough and tumble.
He got up and walked away with another goal under his belt.
He has a great demeanor.
Did not even look like getting involved.
Needs to learn when to fly the flag though, as in the Broomhead incident against the filth.

Saverio Rocca says hi! You either got it (mongrel) or you don't IMO!

Agree CFC - Sav was a gentle giant. Stayed that way even after Dermott Brereton mentored him. My sister knows Anthony Rocca - says that he is also a very kind, friendly guy.

This gentleness is why the Roccas must stay the hell away from Mason.

Agree CFC - Sav was a gentle giant. Stayed that way even after Dermott Brereton mentored him. My sister knows Anthony Rocca - says that he is also a very kind, friendly guy.

This gentleness is why the Roccas must stay the hell away from Mason.
You do know Anthony is a development coach at CFC?