Big Cricket Thread

Starc was preferred(I wanted Richo in for him at the start of the series) because he is a proven world class fat bowler and long time incumbent on the test team. Richo has played a few tests and had multiple injury concerns, ultimately what ruled him out of tests 3&4. That is why they went the way they did, not because of which state each game from.
I thought a rest for Starc was on the cards in game 5 but he is the best pink ball bowler in the world and he stood up again and repaid the selectors decision.
Your bed wetting cries of state based bias are unfounded and rather sad.
I must admit, all of this "NSW boys club" and state bias stuff does get tiresome.

I'm with you, I would've preferred Richo over Starc but can see why they went with Starc.
Same with Carey over Inglis. Carey was in the set up already so can see why he got the nod.

Hard to fault the selectors when just about everyone they picked went well (not including Harris).
Find it hard to believe that people think the selectors sit around thinking, "how can we shaft WA and look after the Sydney boys".
And stuff like Cummins wanted his NSW mate Starc in the side so he ould stick it up Warnie is embarrassing TBH.

Getting the Heat when they've already been knocked out must be the worst time to get any team.

Theyre either gonna make 270 or collapse and be all out for 58
..or somewhere in the middle...

He's not really going to get a chance to do that though. You're going to have Peirson and Phillipe getting the gloves domestically, whilst Inglis gets to practice in the nets in the sub-continent.

It's a spectacularly bad set of circumstances unless CA realise he needs to play to develop his game.

Yeah this is what worries me for Inglis being the backup and not getting the chance to show his wares

It happened in the World Cup were he just twiddled his thumbs waiting for an opportunity

If he had played in the shield and scored a hundred I reckon we might of seen him for the first test at brissie........because Careys form in the shield was woeful leading up to the test (and its continued in the tests) then carey got a hundred in the marsh cup that swayed the selectors

So Inglis is unlucky along with Jhye as well...funny that they are both WA lads plus we lose the test....funny that isn't it ???? and then constant speculation of Langer being sacked

I must admit, all of this "NSW boys club" and state bias stuff does get tiresome.

I'm with you, I would've preferred Richo over Starc but can see why they went with Starc.
Same with Carey over Inglis. Carey was in the set up already so can see why he got the nod.

Hard to fault the selectors when just about everyone they picked went well (not including Harris).
Find it hard to believe that people think the selectors sit around thinking, "how can we shaft WA and look after the Sydney boys".
And stuff like Cummins wanted his NSW mate Starc in the side so he ould stick it up Warnie is embarrassing TBH.
Fair enough tugga :)

..or somewhere in the middle...
Honestly glad we didn't bottle that though.

Really need Tye to work out how to stop leaking runs. I know he bowls some tough overs but the past 5 games he's gone @ 9.75 off 16 overs for 4 wickets, so I think we need to do away with the idea he's an economical bowler. The question is, since Tye takes a lot of the death overs, who's getting the experience to try and be better?

Kelly is bowling at the death and Marsh had the last over for one game. Richardson can do it, Behrendorff we know can't, Moody shouldn't be anywhere near the team. I think Morris had a couple of death over spells in his games.

Yepect Inglis thought it was great to be in the squad as we..ah this is what worries me for Inglis being the backup and not getting the chance to show his wares

It happened in the World Cup were he just twiddled his thumbs waiting for an opportunity

If he had played in the shield and scored a hundred I reckon we might of seen him for the first test at brissie........because Careys form in the shield was woeful leading up to the test (and its continued in the tests) then carey got a hundred in the marsh cup that swayed the selectors

So Inglis is unlucky along with Jhye as well...funny that they are both WA lads plus we lose the test....funny that isn't it ???? and then constant speculation of Langer being sacked
The thing is Westy, that when Inglis was selected for the WC, everybody thought that it was great that he seemed to be 2nd in line for white ball cricket.
I expect Inglis was chuffed to be in the squad as well.
We won the WC so it was hard to make a case for Inglis to get a chance in front of Wade.

At this stage, Paine was our test keeper and there was no suggestion of him stepping down for at least another year.
So normally, there would be another year or so for Inglis to show his stuff in the Shield.

Obviously, that all changed when Paine suddenly resigned.
That was unlucky for Inglis but nobody saw it coming.
It was just bad luck.
No conspiracy to keep him out.

I'd give Pain a pass so far, just on the fact he top scored in the last innings.

Jhye was also unlucky.
A lower leg injury kept him out off the 3rd test.
Boland came in and was incredible.

I thought Starc should've been rested for the 5th test, but it being a day day/nighter and Starc's record,
they were never going to rest him.

Tye’s been worked out but he’s benefitted from batting teams being under pressure to score. As soon as there’s no pressure he gets spanked. If the other bowlers are economical and we have posted a decent total he will get wickets.

It would be great if he could eliminate some of the juicy pies he dishes up every over. Would like to see a pitch map of the balls he gets dispatched for six vs his wicket-taking balls.

SOS is a brilliant batter to watch in full flight, but he's well past his best and struggles to stay fit. He's a bit of a liability in the field. I wouldn't be surprised if the Renegades parted ways with him next year, given how much coin he's probably on.

Yeah he’s not really the guy the Renegades need given where they’re at

He's contracted for another year.
That's one of the reasons he left the Scorchers.
The Gades gave him a 3 year deal.

Shaun Marsh was run out against the Thunder a week or 2 ago, and I've never seen such a half hearted effort to reach for the crease. Fair enough he was gone for all money if it was a direct hit so why bother but even when it missed and the keeper needed to gather it he barely leaned over. I suspect if he had leaned any further both hammies were cactus. Bloke can barely touch his knees. Still love him though.

Reckon he’s been that way for 5 years