BigFooty Official Big Footy 2016 Phantom Draft

Sorry for the delay but I thought I made it clear that I would match wherever he was bid on as I have him in my top 15!
All good mate, was just looking for confirmation

Given poor old POULTERBEAR doesn't really get a run in this I will ask him if he wants to do Geelong. If not I will do it. Simply accepting bids at the moment......
i reckon you just do it mate, your not doing much more!

r0_44_4928_3023_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Geelong select Cedric Cox
Cedric Cox
North Ballarat Rebels/Western Australia
DOB: 19/8/97 Height: 184cm Weight: 70kg
Position: General Defender

Stats:
AuSXEtb.png

Profile: Silky one-touch half-back who needs minimum possessions to be able to impact the game. Has speed to burn and his low-centre of gravity causes problems for the opposition trying to tackle him. Skills are great and has also shown he can play as a wingman and as a half-forward. Is originally from Halls Creek in WA he is also the brother of ‘The Recruit’ finalist Daniel Cox and cousin of potential top 5 pick Sam Petrevski-Seton.

Rationale: Fits both positional need as a running half-back with drive and pace and is probably the best player on the board. Geelong need some pace in general all over the ground and find it here. Potential half-back partner with Jackson Thurlow in the future.

Happy to get him here as I took him at #72 with Hawthorn in the trial earlier in the year!

It would be interesting to know how much credit we can give Bevo or was it really the recruiting department.
Its Both Bevo would have asked what kind of draft it was ie key forward, mids, deep shallow ect then would have said what type of players he wanted. (players who can win their own ball but use it well.)

then it would have been on the recruiting team to deliver, that they did.

Its Both Bevo would have asked what kind of draft it was ie key forward, mids, deep shallow ect then would have said what type of players he wanted. (players who can win their own ball but use it well.)

then it would have been on the recruiting team to deliver, that they did.

Sounds like you know the system, do you have contacts or just an educated guess?

Pick 27 Carlton - Jordan Gallucci

Midfielder Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro
Height: 183cm
Weight: 75kg
DOB: 4/5/1998

At this point in the draft, I could throw a number of names up for consideration and everyone would have different thoughts on their ratings. I was insanely close to picking someone else here but I think Carlton need players all over the ground, so bring in quality.
At the moment, I think Gallucci is a player being picked a little on potential. There is insane amounts of upside with this selection. He is close to the most athletic player in the draft with a combination of speed and spring. Has amazing agility and I really like his side step and movements in tight spots. Showed some leadership skills and from all reports is a professional, so bring in quality people certainly increases the chances of a player making it at AFL level. Has shown at times that he can gather plenty of possessions and like Taranto, shows some ability in the forward half as well. Taking a little lead from the Bulldogs and Giants, I want quick players that are multipositional.
I think with my first two selections, I've managed to add some real class and players that can rotate through the midfield and also drift forward. I think the most opitimum set up is players spending close to 60% of their time in the midfield.

Negatives on Gallucci
I really struggle with his kicking at times, especially on the run. It is all over the shop and there is a kicking flaw which I hope a more experienced coach would be able to refine and fix. The mechanics of his kicking action also require a little work, something is wrong, just not sure what it is to be honest.
I would like to see him lift his output, that could be an endurance issue or just needs to learn to spread from a contest more often. He could be a player that if he gets the ball 20 times, you would worry about his possessions, because he does have the ability on his day to torch a team.

There are still plenty of viable options here and I would not mind having another second round pick.

Sounds like you know the system, do you have contacts or just an educated guess?
Just a bit of everything really, very early on i could tell that those players seemed to be very much the kind of players Bevo likes, who is suited to his game plan.

The recruiting team has had a plan for a long time, and carefully picked their players (even keeping tabs on Boyd in his first year). winning the premiership hasn't changed their plan, we were always going to go to the draft again this year with an eye on trading in some high end talent in 2017.

keep in mind that even though we have already done well with father/sons we still have a number of kids coming through, young West looks like he will be a likely type in 2018, knowing this info can allow us to take a few risks on other type of players.

Geelong select Cedric Cox
Cedric Cox
North Ballarat Rebels/Western Australia
DOB: 19/8/97 Height: 184cm Weight: 70kg
Position: General Defender

Stats:
AuSXEtb.png

Profile: Silky one-touch half-back who needs minimum possessions to be able to impact the game. Has speed to burn and his low-centre of gravity causes problems for the opposition trying to tackle him. Skills are great and has also shown he can play as a wingman and as a half-forward. Is originally from Halls Creek in WA he is also the brother of ‘The Recruit’ finalist Daniel Cox and cousin of potential top 5 pick Sam Petrevski-Seton.

Rationale: Fits both positional need as a running half-back with drive and pace and is probably the best player on the board. Geelong need some pace in general all over the ground and find it here. Potential half-back partner with Jackson Thurlow in the future.

Happy to get him here as I took him at #72 with Hawthorn in the trial earlier in the year!

Cedric Cox write-up is up!