Big Footy Drug Users

BIG FOOTY DRUG USERS

• YES

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • NO

Votes: 0 0.0%

definately NO for me...alcohol is BAD ENOUGH, drugs is the pinnacle of stupidity.

Drugs is the root of all evil and if i found out any of my friends did drugs, they wouldnt be friends for long. To get caught up in that scene is the beginning of the end.

True for a minority. But in my experience, those are usually people who are using drugs to cover up some kind of emotional pain, as opposed to your average Joe who just wants a good night out. Then again, some people just have an addictive personality.

True for a minority. But in my experience, those are usually people who are using drugs to cover up some kind of emotional pain

to me using drugs for emotional pain is WEAK...my dad died when i was 15 and 20 years later i have NEVER touched drugs or alcohol...but thats me..i have a STRONG will i guess. Drugs is for weak minded fools who cant face the reality of life no matter how bad it is, and i have had my share of lifes problems.

All these people that say they NEED drugs or alcohol to GET THRU are nothin but weak minded individuals.

to me using drugs for emotional pain is WEAK...my dad died when i was 15 and 20 years later i have NEVER touched drugs or alcohol...but thats me..i have a STRONG will i guess. Drugs is for weak minded fools who cant face the reality of life no matter how bad it is, and i have had my share of lifes problems.

All these people that say they NEED drugs or alcohol to GET THRU are nothin but weak minded individuals.

I wouldn't be too quick to judge. I'm talking about people who have had very abusive upbringings. You and I are lucky in that regard. Some people I've known have been treated like absolute sh¡t since birth. Stuff that'd make your skin crawl. It doesn't always mean they're weak or foolish if they turn to drugs, it can often mean they're desperate.

50% of people use drugs? either im blind, or have been lucky not to have seen anyone with drugs. 50% is rediculous, I wonder what the percentage is in the AFL?

I wonder what age group you're in.

Being in my 20s, this comes as no surprise.

I wouldn't be too quick to judge. I'm talking about people who have had very abusive upbringings. You and I are lucky in that regard. Some people I've known have been treated like absolute sh¡t since birth. Stuff that'd make your skin crawl. It doesn't always mean they're weak or foolish if they turn to drugs, it can often mean they're desperate.

Just my opinion Milkman...i understand SOME peoples upbringings could propel them to a life of drugs, but we arent a third world country as such...there IS help available if people want it. I just think that if people say they take drugs BECAUSE of a certain thing in their life then that is a weak excuse IMO..

Just my opinion remember.
Thanks for ur opinion as well.

DOG GOD - you are aware that many drug users are not junkies, but in fact are normal functioning members of society?

You'd be surprised how few high profile media, performance & music professionals don't indulge an at least an occasional basis.

DOG GOD - you are aware that many drug users are not junkies, but in fact are normal functioning members of society?

You'd be surprised how few high profile media, performance & music professionals don't indulge an at least an occasional basis.

yeah Mofra i understand what u are saying. I just see drugs as serious business. Like i have said that is just my opinion on the subject. It would be interesting to see a poll or something as to WHY people take drugs...that would be surprising.

Do you smoke or drink? Personally I measure the seriousness of drugs by a person's dependance on them, not by their legality.

yeah Mofra i understand what u are saying. I just see drugs as serious business. Like i have said that is just my opinion on the subject. I would be interesting to see a poll or something as to WHY people take drugs...that would be surprising.

Most likely the reason I used to. Basically it's just for the experience of it. Also, some of them can make a fantastic night totally unforgettable. I'm certainly not advocating the use of them while you're just sitting around, twiddling your thumbs, or to make an average night that slight bit better. It's like anything really. Why do people go on holiday? To relax and for an amazing experience. Well, the majority of people use drugs for that reason. Unfortunately there are also people who use it for the wrong reason, i.e. people using them solely to escape the daily grind. That's how people get addicted.

Don't judge people just because you personally think it's wrong. I don't know if you've ever had a serious addiction to anything at all but for a lot of people, addiction can be crippling, regardless what the addiction is. It could be smoking, drugs or alcohol. Hell, it could be someone obsessed with stamp collecting, or most recently the fad thing to be addicted to is computer games. There are kids going into rehab in the US for it. Until you've been seriously addicted to something, then you can't really accuse people of being weak-minded. Everyone has a vice of some sort.

Do you smoke or drink? Personally I measure the seriousness of drugs by a person's dependance on them, not by their legality.

no i dont smoke or drink...never have ..never will...thats my choice and my choice alone...what everyone else does is their business, but have to face any consequences regarding their choice eg: cousins.

Yep I reckon the music industry would have the highest % of drug users of any profession. I'd be surprised if 90% of music stars hadn't experimented at some stage. Drugs and music go together like bogans and VB.

I always find it amusing that anti-drug crusaders don't realise that the music they enjoy so much was often inspired by mind altering substances. I remember one guy trying to argue with me that the Beatles would never have touched drugs.

Most likely the reason I used to. Basically it's just for the experience of it. Also, some of them can make a fantastic night totally unforgettable. I'm certainly not advocating the use of them while you're just sitting around, twiddling your thumbs, or to make an average night that slight bit better. It's like anything really. Why do people go on holiday? To relax and for an amazing experience. Well, the majority of people use drugs for that reason. Unfortunately there are also people who use it for the wrong reason, i.e. people using them solely to escape the daily grind. That's how people get addicted.

Don't judge people just because you personally think it's wrong. I don't know if you've ever had a serious addiction to anything at all but for a lot of people, addiction can be crippling, regardless what the addiction is. It could be smoking, drugs or alcohol. Hell, it could be someone obsessed with stamp collecting, or most recently the fad thing to be addicted to is computer games. There are kids going into rehab in the US for it. Until you've been seriously addicted to something, then you can't really accuse people of being weak-minded. Everyone has a vice of some sort.

yes people could be addicted to computer games, stamp collecting whatever, but its not going to kill them...drugs, alcohol, smoking can, and the first 2 can kill innocent people along the way. it just amuses me how on tv they play constant ads about what smoking can do, yet alcohol is ignored and drugs are swept under the carpet. Dont wanna get off the subject though.

I have never ever tried or even seen illicit drugs. I would never be stupid enough to try them,even if I was offered some. Seeing the actions of some that have been on them, is enough to turn anybody off. If they could only see how they behaved and how stupid they look when "high" maybe they wouldn't do it. Then again if they are high most of the time they wouldn't know what they were doing!!!
Even seeing a person whether a male or female, drunk, is pathetic. Why they do it is beyond me. And don't give me the story about their "past" crap.
There is so much help these days for people, IF they want it. I am so sick and tired of people blaming past situations for the mess they are in now!!
It is MY choice to remain ( illicit )drug free, and I intend to be until the day I leave this earth...For the life of me I cannot understand why ANYBODY would even contemplate taking them, knowing they can be addictive, like cigarettes. All you are doing is making the rich richer, and yourselves poorer..(unless you are a dealer) Then you should be put away permanently!!!! I HATE drugs...Say NO!!!!!:(

I have never ever tried or even seen illicit drugs. I would never be stupid enough to try them,even if I was offered some. Seeing the actions of some that have been on them, is enough to turn anybody off. If they could only see how they behaved and how stupid they look when "high" maybe they wouldn't do it. Then again if they are high most of the time they wouldn't know what they were doing!!!
Even seeing a person whether a male or female, drunk, is pathetic. Why they do it is beyond me. And don't give me the story about their "past" crap.
There is so much help these days for people, IF they want it. I am so sick and tired of people blaming past situations for the mess they are in now!!
It is MY choice to remain ( illicit )drug free, and I intend to be until the day I leave this earth...For the life of me I cannot understand why ANYBODY would even contemplate taking them, knowing they can be addictive, like cigarettes. All you are doing is making the rich richer, and yourselves poorer..(unless you are a dealer) Then you should be put away permanently!!!! I HATE drugs...Say NO!!!!!:(

well said!!!

as opposed to professionally?

Well, i do dabble in the arts a bit, and when i really want to paint something that expresses the mind, i like to take acid and really get in touch with my inner self.

Mark my words, when im dead the paintings will sell for many million dollars.

I remember one guy trying to argue with me that the Beatles would never have touched drugs.
:D Funniest thing I've heard for ages.

It is MY choice to remain ( illicit )drug free, and I intend to be until the day I leave this earth...For the life of me I cannot understand why ANYBODY would even contemplate taking them, knowing they can be addictive, like cigarettes.

And that's fair enough. Just like it's many peoples choice to experiment with altered states of consciousness. They are just as likely to not understand why some people deny themselves the experiences and different perspectives that drugs can provide.

What gets annoying is when people have never tried drugs but feel qualified to label those that have as weak minded losers who automatically have drug abuse problems. Even worse is often these people hypocritically think nothing of getting totally drunk every weekend.

Live and let live.

Coming from a recreational user, i would have to say, why would we take them?

To have a good time. Sure you can have a good time without drugs (I dont think you can without at least alcohol, but thats my opinion :) ) But i dont see the problem with on the odd occasion to snorting a line on a friday night, or having a few cones. Its all about having a good time, your only young once.

Obviously im not a junkie, i live a good life, and i will quite happily on the odd occasion have some illicit drugs. A lot of Aussies would think the same as me, 51% going by the poll. A lot of Aussies have taken drugs in there lifetime, for experimenting or for a good night. But like most things, to much of a good thing is bad for you, which is why some people, especially ones that can afford it will end up being junkies. The same reason why people become alcoholics, or addicted to smoking. But hey, these people will die a lot sooner than the recreational users, so its basically natural selection at its finest.

Says the man as hes packing another cone :D

here here:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
i'm sick of the cop-out society where it's always someone elses fault for the bad things people do e.g. pedophiles, oh they had a bad upbringing and a bad home life - weak as!
stop making excuses for the flogs, a weak mind is a weak character. some people have weak wills but still recognise this stuff is bad and mind you is also ILLEGAL.
NO MORE FREAKIN' EXCUSES:mad:

What gets annoying is when people have never tried drugs but feel qualified to label those that have as weak minded losers who automatically have drug abuse problems. Even worse is often these people hypocritically think nothing of getting totally drunk every weekend.

i guess this is a dig at one of my previous posts..and thats fine...its only MY opinion. People that use drugs coz they cant face their "problems" to me, is weak minded, especially when their is good help out there.

No i'm not a hypoctite either...ive never touched alcohol...once again thats my choice.

If anyone wants to do drugs thats THEIR choice...i just hope that they only end up hurting themselves and no-one else.

i guess this is a dig at one of my previous posts..and thats fine...its only MY opinion. People that use drugs coz they cant face their "problems" to me, is weak minded, especially when their is good help out there.

No i'm not a hypoctite either...ive never touched alcohol...once again thats my choice.

If anyone wants to do drugs thats THEIR choice...i just hope that they only end up hurting themselves and no-one else.

Sure, as do we all. Until you have serious issues though, I think it's entirely unfair to label someone as 'weak-minded' when you have absolutely no idea what they're going through. Some people are unable to turn to help for whatever reason and if drugs are the only thing they can turn to to feel good once in a while, then so be it. I certainly don't think it's the right way to go, but for some people, there is no other way.

here here:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
i'm sick of the cop-out society where it's always someone elses fault for the bad things people do e.g. pedophiles, oh they had a bad upbringing and a bad home life - weak as!
stop making excuses for the flogs, a weak mind is a weak character. some people have weak wills but still recognise this stuff is bad and mind you is also ILLEGAL.
NO MORE FREAKIN' EXCUSES:mad:

Yeah I agree with you. People should never use drugs, or a bad upbringing, as an excuse for inflicting pain upon other people. Regardless of what's happened to them in their lives, and regardless of how messed up on drugs you are, you still can pick right from wrong. Which path you choose is ultimately your own choice.