Roast Big Footy News

Wasn't grizz on our board just the other day trying to extoll the virtues of BigFooty News?

grizzlym, I'm sorry mate, but allowing that sort of verbal diarrhoea to masquerade as 'news' is doing the site's credibility no good at all.

Wasn't grizz on our board just the other day trying to extoll the virtues of BigFooty News?

grizzlym, I'm sorry mate, but allowing that sort of verbal diarrhoea to masquerade as 'news' is doing the site's credibility no good at all.

Not me. Or at least that I'm aware of...

it's written as a joke. Just because we're the butt of it - meh. Let's not get too sensitive, it's not like we aren't shit at the momnt

I don't think there's anything to suggest it was written as a joke. No doubt the author had a smile on his face when writing it, but that's not the same.

Eh, someone in admin was. Maybe not you, my memory is unreliable at the best of times.

Either way, my point stands. An article like that is neither news nor a properly constructed opinion piece. It's just garbage and leaves me inclined to never even bother perusing the articles on BF News again.

norf are still offended over 2001 when they couldn't beat us after we gave them a 12 goal start...
Also they were effing pathetic as well today. DOS must be mentally ******ed

Basically, my summation of the article would go something like:

"Hahahahahaha Essendon are shit!!!"
***DOS spanks the plank

"I hate Essendon for *insert myriad reasons*"
***DOS incandescent with rage, shaking umcontrollably

***DOS regains composure kinda...."Hahahaha James Turd!!!!"

It is completely embarrassing, childish and has nothing constructive or interesting to say.

I've got my own versions of my family talking about North.

Oh, wait, I don't. Because they don't.

I think the best thing is the insistence that we hate North because Lloyd says so. Yes, because who or what I hate is defined by what the players think. Of course. It's this pathetic craving of disapproval that is so utterly entertaining - I hadn't given North a second thought until I joined BF.

Its ok though, because I took the $4.20 on offer for Freo after Pavlich went out, and I'll take the undoubtedly generous odds against them in week 1 of the finals.

But for now, they are shit, and I will revel in it. In the immortal words of Montogomery Burns, I will spend this time wallowing in my own anti-Essendon crapulence

I think he's really only angry because Essendon got a mention on The Simpsons.

That is what he's saying, right? Surely someone who writes such a well thought out piece of literature wouldn't make such a basic grammatical error to imply otherwise.

Dos23, I think it was Leather Poisoning who was pumping it up.

And, suffice to say - yeah, nah....
Certainly was me - and I've been a proponent of provocative articles, but this is a little too far.

Before you write it off (see that pun?) just remember how many ill informed and deliberate troll pieces proliferate in the popular news yet still have us returning.

BFN is still an infant - its still finding its tone and audience. There will be a few mis-hits, especially where humour is involved and if it's directed at your club it'll be a lot harder to take.

I don't think there's anything to suggest it was written as a joke. No doubt the author had a smile on his face when writing it, but that's not the same.
I certainly don't think it's quality or particularly funny at all, don't get me wrong. I just intend to give it no more thought than I accidentally did by reading this thread and responding twice :)

Certainly was me - and I've been a proponent of provocative articles, but this is a little too far.

Before you write it off (see that pun?) just remember how many ill informed and deliberate troll pieces proliferate in the popular news yet still have us returning.

BFN is still an infant - its still finding its tone and audience. There will be a few mis-hits, especially where humour is involved and if it's directed at your club it'll be a lot harder to take.
As others were saying in the previous thread - there's plenty of crap out there. What the space could do with is a genuine, wide-reaching news service, that isn't from club-land, isn't from big names with big agendas. If I wanted to read childish, poorly written, reactive pap - I'll turn to the HS, thank you very much.

Something different from SNF or HS or bigfooty, where you can just trust & accept anything written is reasonably accurate, and written dispassionately.

Meltdown doesn't worry me too much but nothing he writes should be tagged under '...News'. Ever.
It's a story, no more (not even enough content to be tagged an editorial).

What a joke. Oh well he had karma handed out to him today anyway.

We are shit. No point cracking it with someone calling it like it is.

*EDIT*

The standard of writing is deplorable though; if BF were trying to paint the BF news as anything even semi-respectful they'd be getting rid of clearly piss poor writers like that though.

*EDIT*

The standard of writing is deplorable though; if BF were trying to paint the BF news as anything even semi-respectful they'd be getting rid of clearly piss poor writers like that though.

There's a pretty clear distinction between saying we're shit and celebrating the fact that we're shit. Might as well chuck a picture of Bill O'Reilly up with the caption "fair and balanced" if they're going to call it "News" and publish that drivel.

Calling it like it is consists of systematically breaking down what has gone wrong and blasting choices made and key personnel.

This is just bilious, caustic shit that is hardly better than what you'd get on Street Talk.

There's a pretty clear distinction between saying we're shit and celebrating the fact that we're shit. Might as well chuck a picture of Bill O'Reilly up with the caption "fair and balanced" if they're going to call it "News" and publish that drivel.

There are a lot of reasons that I don't give North (and it's laughable representation on BF) much thought.

Teams will go up and down - the AFLs equalisation policy virtually assures that, for as long as I am around.

They'll beat us, we'll beat them, and so on and so forth.

But they'll never catch us in flags, prestige, funds, fans or any other measure you care to go with in comparing the two clubs - we're effectively a different class held together by a league that is hell bent on growing the game, not shrinking it.

So when a North fan writes and article trying to celebrate our poor showing, and does it with such poor writing skills, it's all very 'meh' to me.

I almost feel sorry for him that he put so much effort in to what I suspect my ten year old nephew could have done a better job of.

Calling it like it is consists of systematically breaking down what has gone wrong and blasting choices made and key personnel.

This is just bilious, caustic shit that is hardly better than what you'd get on Street Talk.
which is why it's best to completely ignore it, and turn of the Take Offence capability. It's so shit it's not even worth contemplation let alone a thread on here, certainly not even worthy of the exertion of disdain.

I know I'm not telling you anything you don't know btw

I agree - but honestly, what do you care what some North peasant thinks about us?

Particularly a noted troll (and a poor one at that).

If you want to direct any anger at anyone, I'd suggest those that allow this standard of work to pop up under the header of BigFooty news might be a good place to start.

There are a lot of reasons that I don't give North (and it's laughable representation on BF) much thought.

Teams will go up and down - the AFLs equalisation policy virtually assures that, for as long as I am around.

They'll beat us, we'll beat them, and so on and so forth.

But they'll never catch us in flags, prestige, funds, fans or any other measure you care to go with in comparing the two clubs - we're effectively a different class held together by a league that is hell bent on growing the game, not shrinking it.

So when a North fan writes and article trying to celebrate our poor showing, and does it with such poor writing skills, it's all very 'meh' to me.

I almost feel sorry for him that he put so much effort in to what I suspect my ten year old nephew could have done a better job of.

That's all absolutely true. The issue is that a site that purports to produce "news" based content is dishing up that shite.

Not sure about the flag argument - in my lifetime I've seen them have just as much success as we have.

The fundamental thing is, though, I just don't give a shit about them. Carlton make my blood boil, and there's a special rung in hell reserved for them, I despise Hawthorn in almost every capacity, Collingwood can GAGF, St Kilda's arrogance doesn't befit their output, Geelong have been ****ing awesome and that saddens me, Melbourne are the biggest bunch of punces in Christendom and they still find a way to beat us, Richmond are Richmond, the Bulldogs are a waste of everyone's precious time, but North are just the Moody Blues/Special K nothingness inbetween. I don't know what their "thing" is, because they don't want to be these embattled "Shinboners" anymore so... what are they? I don't feel any more from having lost to NM than I do losing to one of the generic expansion clubs.

At the end of the day it says a crapload more about the author than anything else. You could do a find n' replace of Essendon -> Collingwood and Norf -> Carlton and it'd still be nothing more than a noted down brain fart by some bogan who takes this kind of crap way more seriously than is healthy.

All clubs have these types of supporters, just that this one has been given a means to try and impress the masses with his "talents".