Big screen stuff at home games

sog35 said:
It's very American. Went to a couple of NBA games a couple of years back and it's almost identical. I appreciate that the club is trying to be innovative, but they need to realise when something isn't working.

exactly. we need to improve it. u got any ideas thou

I'm waiting for the blokes here to suggest almost naked cheerleaders or something, all around the oval on the boundary line. They could get the cheer going after each goal, and give the guys something to perv on at the same time. Problem solvered!

portentous said:
I'm waiting for the blokes here to suggest almost naked cheerleaders or something, all around the oval on the boundary line. They could get the cheer going after each goal, and give the guys something to perv on at the same time. Problem solvered!
Cheerleaders are so last century :eek:

portentous said:

Naked is boring. They should be dressed in skimpy French Maid outfits. Those are black and white, after all.

crazy_big_al said:
exactly. we need to improve it. u got any ideas thou
I reckon nothing would be a nice improvement.

Seriously, who's gonna get revved up by crap music. I'd rather hear the roar of a crowd. And the only thing thats gonna make me clap and cheer is the blokes on the field, not flashing lights on a friggin telly.

I agree it is terrible. I took my gf to her first Port game on Monday, and she said something along the lines of how lame it was when it first came on. Basically I can't see it relating to the seasoned football goer, or the new ones on the scene.

wharfie_1870 said:
Rory said:
What is that damm song clip they play? ......
It's one of those riffs I know but can't quite put a name to, maybe Black Sabbath "Iron Man".
Been bugging me for some time but it has finally come to me.

The riff is from "Sunshine of Your Love" by Cream. It was released on the album Disraeli Gears in 1967.

Some of the younger supporters may even have heard of Eric Clapton :)

Code:
-----------------------------------------|-----------------------------------------|
-12-12-10-12-----------------------------|/12-12-10-12-----------------------------|
--------------12--11--10------8~~~-------|--------------12--11--10\------8~~~------|
---------------------------10-------10-10|----------------------------10------10---|

Macca19 said:
Anyone else find all the crap they put on the big screen at home games extra annoying and extra lame, or am I the only one?

Especially the "Power *insert fake lightning/clapping which is almost deafening* Power..." chant.

Yeah they are trying to 'Americanise' it unfortunately. It is pretty pathetic.

Also, if you think the crap they put on the big screen at Footy Park is bad, get down to Adelaide Oval Friday Night.... North vs Centrals.

When i was there for North's flogging of Sturt, before the game they had the stereo CRANKED (i must say it's an awesome system!) with dancy music, all they needed was flashing lights. It was deafening, couldnt even hear the person standing next to you, and this was only 10mins before the opening bounce, absolute disgrace! One song was a remix of a Queen song which i think was We Will Rock You (my mind is pretty blurry though) and i think it was remixed by Limp Bizkit.

:thumbsdown:

wharfie_1870 said:
Been bugging me for some time but it has finally come to me.

The riff is from "Sunshine of Your Love" by Cream. It was released on the album Disraeli Gears in 1967.

Some of the younger supporters may even have heard of Eric Clapton :)
Sunshine on Your Love, I identified it ASAP, thus my reference to it on page one of this thread.:p

I dont care who you are, anybody with any musical taste should know this song.:cool:

wharfie_1870 said:
How many Port home games you been to at AAMI this season?

I've been to all of them, and agree with roosterlad. It's a very lame attempt at entertainment and quite pathetic. Maybe they could try a variation of songs after each goal, then it wouldnt be quite as annoying.

RoosterLad said:
Also, if you think the crap they put on the big screen at Footy Park is bad, get down to Adelaide Oval Friday Night.... North vs Centrals.

I remember last year in the Finals at Adelaide Oval they were playing Hard Trance music before the games and in the breaks. All you needed were the glowsticks.

Sheeds said:
Sunshine on Your Love, I identified it ASAP, thus my reference to it on page one of this thread.:p

I dont care who you are, anybody with any musical taste should know this song.:cool:
Sorry mate, I missed your earlier post. The post I responded to was on the second page. Would have saved me a lot of sleepless nights :)

Yeah, I should have known it straight away but the old memory ain't what it used to be :eek:

Good to see alot of Port fans dislike the tripe shown on the screen.

I was at the Port v Freo match and sitting next to a couple of teenage Power fans (both female), who just turned to each other laughed and said 'this is embarassing.'

I was laughing at how pathetic it seemed, and what's the deal with 'Sunshine Of Your Love', surely there are far more appropriate songs for the footy. Yes it is a great song (original maybe not the remix), but choose a song with a link via title or something like that or even have a variety of songs.

This isn't having a go at the Power, I'd hate it if the Crows did it too. I just preferred the simple flashing the Crows or Power logo on the screen without sound.

Maybe it would be better with a better audio system but hopefully it stops sooner rather than later.

Ray Nolan said:
I can't stand it either, it's cringeworthy stuff that is better suited to FP's other tenants.

Maybe Adelaide United could use some of it there Ray.
I mean, most of Hindmarsh look like they need a bomb under them to get them going :p
(Sorry couldn't resist! Am just NOT a fan of Kosmina United.:mad: )

Seriously, I can only hark back to the days of "Show Em Sydney" & "Kick On you Sydney Swans" to realise how footy has matured and evolved over the years. Having stuff like this to me just reeks of Super League. Or Sydney United at Parramatta Stadium where they'd play this rock clip "na na na na na na na, whoo hoo" whenever they got a corner.:eek:

As Paralowie Power & Beaza found out the other day when I went with them to an NRL match at Cronulla, taped cheers and music over the loudspeakers is still prevalent in Australian sport. Cronulla were attacking the Roosters line & up pops the theme from Jaws over the loudspeakers. (Maybe this is why a guy lost it & jumped over the fence to crash tackle the person in a Subway sub walking around the side of the field that night! :thumbsu: :cool: :D )

At a club like Port that prides itself on its tradition & history I find such gimics mystifying. But I suppose they are trying to jazz up Port home matches so that these actually attract more than JUST Port supporters I guess.

What is better, 25000 Port supporters all barracking and waving flags, or 35000 of which 10000 are dancing after goals & talking about their social lives during play (aka: a Swans Homebush crowd). You as supporters would probably want the former. The club, looking it its revenue, would obviously look for the latter. All a bit sad to be honest!

And people ARE starting to notice too.
http://www.talkingfooty.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1091&highlight=

JF

Big screen stuff at home games