Online racial trolling & BigFooty.

Had a read of the Collingwood board thread about Lumumba's letter to former teammates.. they're not the only club gulity of it (hello Essendon) but the blind loyalty to a club and defending them against anything that comes their way is just sad. Some fans should be proud of their response to it but I'd say 75% are completely getting it wrong with really soft excuses - why bring it up now, we drafted him when nobody else would, if it really happened why didn't more people bring it up, he needs to get over it, not enough evidence, he should accept private apology etc. etc. pretty sad really.

None of that proves him wrong or makes what happened ok.

Only a sith deals in absolutes. You should consider perspectives other than your own before instantly writing them off. It will make you more dynamic as a person.
On most topics yes, should take a step back and consider the other side but you can also be stronger in your convictions after doing it. There aren't many quality defences for any of what Goodes copped. Not everyone was booing cause they are racist.. most of them were, though. Some were booing cause they were told not to boo. Most was just racism whether it was from open racists, in denial racists or previously closeted racists. Even if you were booing to go against the anti-booing sentiment, that's not really a good reason, is it? Especially not when it'd been called out as racism and people had asked for it to end, that's probably a good time to stop it but it went on for way too long.

Trump is a classic example. He is motivated only by wanting to be re-elected. His behavior over the years (not renting to black tenants, the Central Park 5, ,****hole countries and many more) says more about his views than some of the actions he's done for attention. He has emboldened hate groups around the US and caused division through his rhetoric

On most topics yes, should take a step back and consider the other side but you can also be stronger in your convictions after doing it. There aren't many quality defences for any of what Goodes copped. Not everyone was booing cause they are racist.. most of them were, though. Some were booing cause they were told not to boo. Most was just racism whether it was from open racists, in denial racists or previously closeted racists. Even if you were booing to go against the anti-booing sentiment, that's not really a good reason, is it? Especially not when it'd been called out as racism and people had asked for it to end, that's probably a good time to stop it but it went on for way too long.

You're making broad generalisations about crowds of 50k-100k people. What quantifiable metrics are you using to declare most of the people booing were racist? I dare say you're basing that off what you "reckon".

Yes that is entirely it, based on what I reckon. Do you actually disagree or just making a point that I couldn't measure the % of each boo category? Pretty easy to make a common sense judgement without it being quantifiable.

If it wasn't to do with race & him standing up to the s**t he copped, why was he booed so much harder than anyone else post-Apegate & why did it go on for so long? This has been done to death but I thought I'd seen you post about this sort of thing and were on the right side (booing was racist)

Proving racism is impossible. You can however make your own value judgement.

Did you have any feelings towards Goode's plight? In his position can you see his point? Should have the behaviour continued? Was it unfair? What do you think we can learn from this?

Yes that is entirely it, based on what I reckon. Do you actually disagree or just making a point that I couldn't measure the % of each boo category? Pretty easy to make a common sense judgement without it being quantifiable.

If it wasn't to do with race & him standing up to the sh*t he copped, why was he booed so much harder than anyone else post-Apegate & why did it go on for so long? This has been done to death but I thought I'd seen you post about this sort of thing and were on the right side (booing was racist)

Of course some of the booing is racist. I grew up in country Tasmania, probably the whitest place in Australia. I know racism very well. I've heard more black jokes than I'd ever care to remember, and I've told more black jokes as a younger fella than I'd ever dare to repeat now. The racial vilification of Adam Goodes was appalling and it's a shame that a champion of our game feels like he can't participate in our community anymore.

However, I can't agree with the rewrite of history that many are trying to push here. I don't like people denying Goodes employed dirty tactics towards the end of his career, and I particularly don't like that when people point this out that they are branded as racists despite countless examples of him diving, flopping or sliding.

I sympathise with Goodes and I don't fault him at all. He used dirty tactics to win the game, like hundreds of players before him have. Lindsay Thomas was the king of it, and I loved it. My issue is that the AFL media, in an effort to look progressive, put him on a pedestal and chastised anyone who claimed he was less than perfect. They told the fans they shouldn't express themselves in a certain way, because the player in question was Indigenous. The result is that now people don't actually have to think about the context and can just write off naysayers as prejudiced, and then we all just pat each other on the back like we're intellectuals.

Guessing that most people who booed Adam Goodes were racist is such a lazy, shallow analysis. Claiming that no one who booed Adam Goodes were racist is a lazy, shallow retort. The idea that we can't accept a middle ground where it's acknowledged that a crowd of 50k-100k won't have a monoculture is maddening.

Of course some of the booing is racist. I grew up in country Tasmania, probably the whitest place in Australia. I know racism very well. I've heard more black jokes than I'd ever care to remember, and I've told more black jokes as a younger fella than I'd ever dare to repeat now. The racial vilification of Adam Goodes was appalling and it's a shame that a champion of our game feels like he can't participate in our community anymore.

However, I can't agree with the rewrite of history that many are trying to push here. I don't like people denying Goodes employed dirty tactics towards the end of his career, and I particularly don't like that when people point this out that they are branded as racists despite countless examples of him diving, flopping or sliding.

I sympathise with Goodes and I don't fault him at all. He used dirty tactics to win the game, like hundreds of players before him have. Lindsay Thomas was the king of it, and I loved it.
My issue is that the AFL media, in an effort to look progressive, put him on a pedestal and chastised anyone who claimed he was less than perfect. They told the fans they shouldn't express themselves in a certain way, because the player in question was Indigenous. The result is that now people don't actually have to think about the context and can just write off naysayers as prejudiced, and then we all just pat each other on the back like we're intellectuals.

Guessing that most people who booed Adam Goodes were racist is such a lazy, shallow analysis. Claiming that no one who booed Adam Goodes were racist is a lazy, shallow retort. The idea that we can't accept a middle ground where it's acknowledged that a crowd of 50k-100k won't have a monoculture is maddening.
Don't think this makes the point that you think it makes. Lindsay copped nothing compared to Adam & he was far and away the greater villain when it came to sliding, diving & general rascal behaviour. Booing an act during a game & continuing for the rest of the match after that act is ok but there is clear distinction between that (which Lindsay & others like Ballantyne etc copped) and booing a bloke from the first bounce to the final siren for an extended period of time, more than a season! It kicked off tenfold after the incident with the Collingwood supporter when he defended himself & then showing pride in his culture with the war cry celebration. I think that you know that is the issue, not that he was booed at all.

I didn't deny any tactics/claim he was squeaky clean or that he didn't do anything wrong but sliding/diving is not why he was treated as harshly as he was for as long as he was. Your claim that the media painted him as perfect is the "rewrite of history" as you put it IMO.. As I remember it, it was certainly acknowledged that he did slide & flop, it just wasn't accepted as a reason or an excuse for booing as hard & as long as what happened. It was also mused by many in the media that they didn't like the war cry, thought it was over the top and he shouldn't have done it/wasn't a good look. Many people like their Indigenous Australians quiet & to behave like white people and that was reflected by some commentators.

Do you not feel that things kicked off & got significantly worse after those two incidents I mentioned? If you do, why do you think that was?

And as for your last comment, I didn't ever claim it was all racism, I claimed it was mostly racism based on the coverage of it and my opinion.. you're never going to be able to work out anyone's motivations but the complete disregard for requests for it to stop and the way it escalated when & how it did gives me enough information to make that call IMO & I stand by that.

It is racist if you're booing an Aboriginal man because he is an Aboriginal man, yes.

Anglo Australia wants Aboriginal people to be unseen and unheard and if they have to be seen it is generally only desired to be on the footy field. Anglo Australia finds thinking about Aboriginal people uncomfortable because of all the massacres, slavery, wage theft, discrimination, stolen children, forced relocation, destruction of language and culture, inequity etc etc etc. When Anglo Australia thinks about living on stolen land, in stolen countries, having benefited from stolen labour, it makes it really hard to pretend that Aussies are easy going, friendly people.

You love using the term Anglo. It's a rather antiquated and meaningless term in 2020.

Especially given how diverse the population of people with European ancestry is in Australia.

You could have a Slav post an opinion but in your brain you assign it to "Anglo" Australians.

Do you not feel that things kicked off & got significantly worse after those two incidents I mentioned? If you do, why do you think that was?

Genuinely and honestly because they were asked not to and the average footy supporter doesn't have two brain cells to rub together, so they acted in revolt. Attributing it to racism is giving far too much credit to the boo-ers, I don't think they thought that deeply about it.

I love Dave Chappelle's skit, "The Black White Supremacist". Where a black man was brought up blind and became a White Supremacist. Hilarious!!! I love how his comedy touches upon how prejudism is formed in such a clever way. Or his other skit "What if the drug dealer was treated like a corporate criminal and vice versa".

Watched that just yesterday for the first time in ages and it'ss still brilliant. Also "What makes White People dance". He has a special, unparalleled way of joking about race where the joke feels inclusive to the race he's making fun of.

Genuinely and honestly because they were asked not to and the average footy supporter doesn't have two brain cells to rub together, so they acted in revolt. Attributing it to racism is giving far too much credit to the boo-ers, I don't think they thought that deeply about it.
Suppressing people isn't just about race. The American senator Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez was the youngest senator and won against a an established candidate in an unprecedented victory. She is a great organisor, she put together A Green New Deal and organised a sit-in with Nancy Pelosi until she was taken seriously. I am not getting into the socialist debate but she is an intelligent woman and gets called dim. I think it is because she is female and was a waitress. Non of the male candidates gets called this but their are inherent stereotypes we assign to everybody. Over-weight, elderly or disabled people can also be marginalized. In Goodes case, it is hard to think that his color wasn't a factor though.
The bigest shame I think was when the Australian Cricket Board failed to support Andrew Symmonds when he was being vilified by Indian people. I realize that Indians are also victims of racism but their cast system automatically trained them to treat Symmonds different. That bogus excuse in the Monkeygate slur caused Australia to lose their number one cricketer. In the end Symmonds felt that he was jeopardizing the contract with India and the victim became the defendant.

In race issues finger pointing is useless. I think that a few posters have commented that actions speaks louder than words. The Indians proved that no one is above this issue and the Australians should have learned that doing nothing makes you part of the system. Symmonds was sorely missed after that because he went from the world's best batsmen to missing training on a fishing trip in a very short time.

You love using the term Anglo. It's a rather antiquated and meaningless term in 2020.

Especially given how diverse the population of people with European ancestry is in Australia.

You could have a Slav post an opinion but in your brain you assign it to "Anglo" Australians.

Anglo is an appropriate term. The hegemonic ideologies of Australia are anglo, people don't need to be anglo to ascribe to these ideologies.

Watched that just yesterday for the first time in ages and it'ss still brilliant. Also "What makes White People dance". He has a special, unparalleled way of joking about race where the joke feels inclusive to the race he's making fun of.

I'm feeling you dude :thumbsu:

That is the nature of hegemonic ideologies, people don't think about them.

Self deprication :thumbsu:

It is racist if you're booing an Aboriginal man because he is an Aboriginal man, yes.

Anglo Australia wants Aboriginal people to be unseen and unheard and if they have to be seen it is generally only desired to be on the footy field. Anglo Australia finds thinking about Aboriginal people uncomfortable because of all the massacres, slavery, wage theft, discrimination, stolen children, forced relocation, destruction of language and culture, inequity etc etc etc. When Anglo Australia thinks about living on stolen land, in stolen countries, having benefited from stolen labour, it makes it really hard to pretend that Aussies are easy going, friendly people.
This is quite a racist post. Anglo people dont have a collective view on anything. Colour of skin doesnt align with opinion. You are discriminating based on skin colour.

As a anglo person, but not because Im an anglo person, I want to see everyone do well and find meaning. But not because of the colour of their skin.

Ps. I doubt anyone alive today feels guilt for things they didnt actually do. Actions are not linked to blood or genetics. That is an incredibly racist outdated view to tie responsibility to blood. We are all individuals.

Anglo is an appropriate term. The hegemonic ideologies of Australia are anglo, people don't need to be anglo to ascribe to these ideologies.
Gees this is even most racist. Ideologies arent tied to race. They are tied to culture and given societies historically have been grouped into races then certain races have adopted certain cultures due to the same enVironment and events and technologies. But the race is not causal. Its coincidental.

They were making statements that were OBJECTIVELY incorrect. Heck Aboriginal women in South Australia had the right to vote before virtually all women worldwide outside of South Australia. Nice piece of trivia there.

Not sure why you bothered to quote my post to add that waffle.

Was about to correct you and say that, no, Aboriginal women were not given the right to vote in 1894, but you’re right... interesting.

Someone asked for evidence for the claim that Aboriginal people only got the right to vote in 1967 on page 2 of this thread. Their post was then quoted by this post.

youre really going to dispute that?

That post above has received 15 likes. Should I tag all those nuffies?

Edit: * it.

Brunswick Trap King

Ticky009

Firestarter

Coalface

campbell

Kcrack

zeggie

projectv

JayJ20

The 747

branedotorg

Gibbsy

Verdun

Demonic Ascent

BBC1967

Who is Anglo Australia?, you talk about Anglo Australia like an individual. Sorry mate that don't fly - you can't broadbrush every Anglo with the same mindset, which in your view is they are all bad and would rather throw indigenous issues in the too hard basket. That's the impression I get from this post, again that doesn't fly.

Yes, there are some narrow minded dimwit Anglo's that have that view however they're minuscule in number. It's only the media that sensationalise political and social issues and portray the white man as the bad guy even if inadvertently so, and people like you who gobble up the hyperbole. It's like 'sorry mate you're white so you have to wear the racist moniker' - w**k.

And while I agree that past atrocities have occurred, just like in every other indigenous culture that's been conquered - but hey that's my fault coz I'm white, coz I was born that way, what is your solution? Full decolonisation? Even if that would improve things for our first Australians it won't change the past.

Who is Anglo Australia?, you talk about Anglo Australia like an individual. Sorry mate that don't fly - you can't broadbrush every Anglo with the same mindset, which in your view is they are all bad and would rather throw indigenous issues in the too hard basket. That's the impression I get from this post, again that doesn't fly.

Yes, there are some narrow minded dimwit Anglo's that have that view however they're minuscule in number. It's only the media that sensationalise political and social issues and portray the white man as the bad guy even if inadvertently so, and people like you who gobble up the hyperbole. It's like 'sorry mate you're white so you have to wear the racist moniker' - w**k.

And while I agree that past atrocities have occurred, just like in every other indigenous culture that's been conquered - but hey that's my fault coz I'm white, coz I was born that way, what is your solution? Full decolonisation? Even if that would improve things for our first Australians it won't change the past.

How about a treaty? All the other conquered indigenous cultures seem to have one.