Biglands

It's the same side bar 2 players but you have completely written them off, do you understand that.

You have given up, you have conceded defeat already. .

Whoi else has given up on season 2007? not the ******** me. But you have.

Who cares what I have done, thats me, you go and live your own dream.

No its not, No Clarke, No Biglands, No Hentschel

Dont you think other clubs will also improve??? Western Bulldogs will runs rings around the AFC.

Who is ignoring everyone now; you are the only one that has given up on season 2007.

You say you are a realist, more like a bloody defeatist. Stop being so negative and assuming someone can not do something; think with a positive attitude and what if they succeed? What if Meesen and Maric can step up, what if Perrie and McGregor have stand out years, what if Ricciuto and McLeod have outstanding years?

You have given up, no one else has.

Who cares what I have done, thats me, you go and live your own dream.

Why don’t you send Mark Ricciuto, Neil Craig or Steven Trigg an E-Mail and suggest we are wasting our time this year and see what the response will be.

Who is ignoring everyone now; you are the only one that has given up on season 2007.

You say you are a realist, more like a bloody defeatist. Stop being so negative and assuming someone can not do something; think with a positive attitude and what if they succeed? What if Meesen and Maric can step up, what if Perrie and McGregor have stand out years, what if Ricciuto and McLeod have outstanding years?

You have given up, no one else has.

Im not ignoring anyone those are my thoughts, now your just making rubbish up, Im not forcing that thought onto anyone, that is my opinion.

*Marty taps Kane Mcgoodwins signature*

Tap away - :p

Dizzy, I’m so dizzy my head is spinning
Like a whirlpool it never ends
And it’s You girl makin’ it spin
You're making me dizzy

The reason I have been so repetitious in this threat is because you change your argument all the time.

Have I? I don’t thing so as it basically been Rhett Biglands will not be good enough for the future plans at the AFC as he will not be any influence this year.

You, we can not win the premiership in 2007 or basically the next 7 or 8 years because it is a drafting and trading cycle but heaven forbid if we look at bringing in some younger player who are the future because we have good old player now.

Because we have been knocked out by the WCE in the last 2 finals series and Dean Cox has been one of the influential players on the ground.

We need to get a ruckman that can counteract his dominance around the ground and Rhett Biglands could not do that.

ummm... that's a bit simplistic. you did watch the 2006 prelim, right? :D

Of course I did, but hindsight is a wonderful thing after the fact.

You rate his importance to the side; and I don’t. I do not believe he will not be missed as much as it is being made out. I have faith in Hudson, Maric and Meesen to get the job done.

Isn’t it that simple?

What do you want me to say, that I will be a happy little chappie if Rhett Biglands lines up as a ruckman for the Adelaide Football Club round 1 2008? Because I will not be happy as it is potentially stopping the future development of Meesen and Maric.

I cannot see a future for Rhett Biglands at the AFC.

And I will say it again, I understand that it will be seen as a heartless move and it is not showing all that much loyalty to a player but sometime a football club has to make the tough decisions on a player.

I also know that he will never be delisted at this time of the year and in no way am I suggesting they do it today.

Mate, I'm not asking you to be happy if Rhett Biglands lines up as a Ruckman for us in 98. I'm asking you to wait and see before you make what IMO are ridiculous calls for his head. What if meesen and maric are duds? What if one or both of them get injured? We need Rhett around in case something like that happens. All I am asking is for you to consider that maybe everyone else on this thread asking you to WAIT AND SEE might be onto something and that you acknowledge that that makes good sense. Or to come up with reasonable agruments why it DOESNT make sense to wait and see. I'm not sure you've come up with one yet as you've been so hell bent on saying get rid of him without showing some level of consideration for why others are saying just wait.

For the record maccas_no_1 I also feel that its a bit silly to say 3 players difference puts us out of contention this year. It will be harder, I totally agree with that but if we can keep more injury free than last year we should be around the mark. I'm gonna issue a 'wait and see' on that opinion as well :)

Mate, I'm not asking you to be happy if Rhett Biglands lines up as a Ruckman for us in 98. I'm asking you to wait and see before you make what IMO are ridiculous calls for his head. What if meesen and maric are duds? What if one or both of them get injured? We need Rhett around in case something like that happens. All I am asking is for you to consider that maybe everyone else on this thread asking you to WAIT AND SEE might be onto something and that you acknowledge that that makes good sense. Or to come up with reasonable agruments why it DOESNT make sense to wait and see. I'm not sure you've come up with one yet as you've been so hell bent on saying get rid of him without showing some level of consideration for why others are saying just wait.

For the record maccas_no_1 I also feel that its a bit silly to say 3 players difference puts us out of contention this year. It will be harder, I totally agree with that but if we can keep more injury free than last year we should be around the mark. I'm gonna issue a 'wait and see' on that opinion as well :)

OK, I am more than happy to wait and see and re evaluate the situation in October. But the only way I am going to be happy to see Rhett Biglands plays as a ruckman for the Adelaide Crows in 2008 is if both Meesen and Maric are both incapacitated and cannot get out on the park.

I've been one who's enjoyed taking pot shots at Biglands but it has to be said that he's played some good games. I wouldn't consider delisting him until he is unable to make your best 22 for an extended period following his return from injury. Even then he might be useful as backup if one of your young guys doesn't come up to scratch.

As far as the argument about the impact of his injury during the prelim goes, he went down half way through the second quarter. So Clarke was on his own for 15 minutes prior to half time. He then had a break at half time yet from the start of the second half West Coast were all over your lot. It's not like they got on top late in the game as Clarke was tiring. It could be argued that Biglands absence prevented you from fighting back effectively late in the game but the Eagles should have had the game sewn up not long after three quarter time if they'd kicked straight. The stats also suggest that Rhett was having little influence prior to his injury.

I've been one who's enjoyed taking pot shots at Biglands but it has to be said that he's played some good games. I wouldn't consider delisting him until he is unable to make your best 22 for an extended period following his return from injury. Even then he might be useful as backup if one of your young guys doesn't come up to scratch.

As far as the argument about the impact of his injury during the prelim goes, he went down half way through the second quarter. So Clarke was on his own for 15 minutes prior to half time. He then had a break at half time yet from the start of the second half West Coast were all over your lot. It's not like they got on top late in the game as Clarke was tiring. It could be argued that Biglands absence prevented you from fighting back effectively late in the game but the Eagles should have had the game sewn up not long after three quarter time if they'd kicked straight. The stats also suggest that Rhett was having little influence prior to his injury.

OKay so for what reason after half time caused the game to shift??? Im interested in your point of view because you are an 'outsider' and it will be unbiased.

Rather than relying on stats, I find it better to watch the game.

Footy is a game of contests, and while Biglands does not have great marking stats he does get to the opposition ruckman and make a contest. That doesn't show up in conventional stats.

Now Cox got, from memory, 29 posessions in the game. Most of these were uncontested posessions in the second half. He effectively was their link man whenever they came out of defence.

I don't want to drag up the argument here about Clarke's strengths and weaknesses, and everyone knows his marking stats are lousy - but it is his inability to get to, and create a contest which really hurt us in that game (and others). Having to carry the rucks against a quality opponent in Cox after Biglands went down was a huge ask. Clarke has a huge heart, but the task was too big and Cox dominated the game.

I don't expect Maric and Meeson to be running around taking marks like Shaun Rehn in his prime, I'll be happy if they chase, tackle, and get to as many contests as they can.