Billings verse Gresham

• Thread starter Thread starter AFLOnline

Dangerous caper judging players on their first season...Gresh looks to have it no question...but hands up who predicted Lonie and Sinclair to spend most of 2016 with Sandy? Not me.

how many of us thought Spencer White and Aaron Siposs were going to be stars? It's definitely not a great idea to take it to the bank but he does have some very nice traits.

On performance so far you'd have to go with Gresham. I think he has played with more confidence and consistency than Billings so far. Gresh nails his chances most of the time and isn't afraid to use his tricks, whereas Billings has largely looked tentative and doesn't often take risks. I'm hoping that Billings is able to have a great pre season, build his tank, put on a few kg's and start asserting himself more on the game, whereas I'm confident Gresh will cement himself in our starting 18 next year.

That's an easy one snake

Whichever one brings me the next stubby
Pfffft knowing my kids they wouldve shaken it up first and then theyd hide around the corner giggling as the beer fizzed out all over me.
:eek:

Both have had different early career paths so far. Billings to some extent has had to deal with a young body not ready for the rigours of AFL but when on is elite. Gresh has shown maturity beyond his years evasive, skilled, tough. Depends on whether we are talking durability, superstar material, leadership?

Grab a novel or 2 and sit back and enjoy the ride.

Based on the first year alone probably Gresh edges it and that is where it really ends....players take different routes to get there depending on their body, loads, injuries, the state of the overall team and the like.

Rest assured they're both going to be A grade players for the club and with a bit of luck they will both be elite!!

i'm puzzled by the comparison, they play two different roles and are two different types of players
small forward/mid, pretty similar I would have thought? name a better comparison for either.

Call me mad but I'll state without hesitation that in two years most impartial footy fans will say St Kilda took the right player at pick 3.
JB is a freak show who hasn't had a proper pre season since he was 16yo. He needs to be played a little closer to goal next year and he will become that match winner I know he can be.
Just be patient with the kid.

Call me mad but I'll state without hesitation that in two years most impartial footy fans will say St Kilda took the right player at pick 3.
JB is a freak show who hasn't had a proper pre season since he was 16yo. He needs to be played a little closer to goal next year and he will become that match winner I know he can be.
You're mad[emoji258]

The top 4 of the 2013 draft is hopefully going to go down as a pretty special quartet.

small forward/mid, pretty similar I would have thought? name a better comparison for either.
I think Billings is more a flanker that can play on the wing. Where as Gresham is more a small fwd who can play in the clearances

Its like comparing akermanis to Nathan brown

Is that a sign that we might be shifting on the idea of him playing in the midfield/wing until he finds his feet a bit more on the flank?

I reckon it's just we din't maximise his impact this year. He plays a much more damaging game closer to goal and I reckon Members might step his fitness up to an even higher level and be able to move around a lot more.

I saw it a bit as the the opposite. He was awesome to start the year when he played around the ball, suffered the ankle injury, played forward for the rest of the year but struggled a bit. Still hovered around 20 touches a game though which a lot of our young players can only dream of.

I think he's one player that doesn't need to be pigeon holed as either a forward or mid. A mixture of both would be perfect IMO.