Bishop's 2015 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Bishop

Hi Bishop.
It is obvious that we need a quality fast small forward that can kick goals. Anybody in this years draft that we should target that fulfils this role?

Hi Bishop.
It is obvious that we need a quality fast small forward that can kick goals. Anybody in this years draft that we should target that fulfils this role?

Hisham Kerbatieh and Nick Dodge are two small forward options. Neither is super quick, but will be interesting to see how they test at the combines. (Hisham is invited to the national combine; Dodge likely for a state test)

Both know where the goals are. Kerbatieh is a better prospect and probably falls around the 40+ mark he's kicked 22 goals in 14 games at TAC Cup (was the Vic Metro leading goalkicker with 9 at the U18 Champs)

Kerbatieh has been training with Richmond during the year & preseason as he is apart of the Bachar Houli Academy.

He would be a nice prospect for a club (like Richmond) needing a small goalkicker, and should be around the 40 mark in the draft.

Dodge likely a rookie at this stage.

Hisham Kerbatieh and Nick Dodge are two small forward options. Neither is super quick, but will be interesting to see how they test at the combines. (Hisham is invited to the national combine; Dodge likely for a state test)

Both know where the goals are. Kerbatieh is a better prospect and probably falls around the 40+ mark he's kicked 22 goals in 14 games at TAC Cup (was the Vic Metro leading goalkicker with 9 at the U18 Champs)

Kerbatieh has been training with Richmond during the year & preseason as he is apart of the Bachar Houli Academy.

He would be a nice prospect for a club (like Richmond) needing a small goalkicker, and should be around the 40 mark in the draft.

Cheers.
I actually think that Daniel Rioli would be a great speculative pick too. He has those "indigenous hands" that seem to be able to grab the ball cleanly without fumbling and those trademark lightening reflexes that make him look quicker than he is. Good overhead with good goal sense too. Div 2 players always get underrated in the draft (often for good reasons). We seldom go for those types of players though....

Cheers.
I actually think that Daniel Rioli would be a great speculative pick too. He has those "indigenous hands" that seem to be able to grab the ball cleanly without fumbling and those trademark lightening reflexes that make him look quicker than he is. Good overhead with good goal sense too. Div 2 players always get underrated in the draft (often for good reasons). We seldom go for those types of players though....

I'd better not mention Relton Roberts :p

You're right though. Rioli would be a good speculative pick, probably more likely for rookie. But has been invited to the national combine, so was in at least 5 clubs' top 60 list.

i beleive kerbatieh's 20 meter is 2.89 at his best and his agilty was tested at 7.91 secs according to twitter when boys tested at TAC level early in the year ..now thats some speed for ya

Bishop,
Word is we are looking at taking Clayton Oliver in the 3rd round. He's played a few vfl games for us. What can you tell me about him?

Bishop,
Word is we are looking at taking Clayton Oliver in the 3rd round. He's played a few vfl games for us. What can you tell me about him?
He's one of the few who didn't play in the carnival but made the national combine. 5+ clubs must be interested in him.

187cm,86kg I've only see him live once (and that was a Richmond VFL game)

Has played at both ends of the ground, on a flank and has played on the wing, but has worked on playing on the inside throughout this year.

Gets a lot of handballs which bump his possession count up, however his ability to take marks and lay tackles indicate he's hungry to get the footy.

I can't really comment however due to only seeing him once...

Will be one I'll watch closely, i'll see if I can find out more from a few scouts i know.

Your thoughts on the tassie prospects bishop? Or anyone on this thread

These are the blokes invited to the combine .

Tasmania
National

Mitchell Hibberd Clarence
Kieran Lovell Kingston Tigers
State
Nicholas Dodge – Lauderdale
Isaac Franks – Lauderdale
Ryan Gardiner – Burnie
Mitch Rainbird – Glenorchy
Jake Sushames – North Launceston

The two invited to the national carnival will likely be drafted at the national draft. Hibberd has dealt with injuries in the past but I reckon he'll fall around the 25-40 mark (so second round), he'll appeal to a lot of clubs and played pretty well in the champs.

Lovell is another, unlike Terry Wallace- I don't rate him in my first round, however I think he'll fall 40+ mark. Is sub 180cm which some clubs will steer clear of, but he's got the talent to defy the odds of the "smaller" players. Speaking with an AFL scout I know, he reckons that Lovell does get a lot of "cheapies" with his possessions, not working hard enough for them. However I think he's a nice prospect and one i expect to end up on an AFL list.

----

Out of the state recruit I think Dodge and Sushames are the two best options. I think the other 3 will probably be undrafted at this stage.

Dodge is a goal kicking forward and knows where the goals are. I like his ability to play deep forward as well as being good on a lead. He didn't have the best champs, but has performed well in the TAC Cup collecting 14 goals in 4 matches. He also kicked 5 goals as a bottom ager in the U18 champs in 2014. I think he'd be a solid chance as a late pick or rookie.

Jake Sushames has a much lighter frame than the others, but he's got great athletic capabilities and is quick. Was apart of the AFL Academy earlier in the year, he's best suited to playing as a small defender or a winger. He hasn't had a fantastic year, but I know of a few clubs who are quite keen on him. I think he'll probably fall as a rookie at this stage.

Thanks bishop! Great insight! How much will the clubs look into hibbert injuries? Will that make him go later? What type of player is he ie strengths and weaknesses? Lovell stats for the championships were impressive.

Of course they'll look into it, like every injury. I don't think it will effect him too much, I'd still think he'll end up in the same position. Assuming everything comes out position from the medicos etc.

Strengths would be his long kick, and from what I've seen of him he just looks classy to me. A negative for me is that 187cm he doesn't really have an inside game. No opposite foot which I'd like for a player of his calibre.

Agree Lovell's stats are impressive, to get 20+ disposals at that height is a tick from me.

Bishop my question for you today is

Harley Balic, Darcy Tucker and Mathieson seem to have more hardness than that of Darcy Parish. Darcy Parish seems like a James Aish which is too much of an outside player

Balic I've been reading is compared to Pendlebury and Petracca. Parish also looks alot smaller than the 3 mentioned. Why is Parish rated above these 3 when the 3 mentioned above have stood out a lot. Tucker doing very well for the Rebels

Harley Balic, Darcy Tucker and Mathieson seem to have more hardness than that of Darcy Parish. Darcy Parish seems like a James Aish which is too much of an outside player

Balic I've been reading is compared to Pendlebury and Petracca. Parish also looks alot smaller than the 3 mentioned. Why is Parish rated above these 3 when the 3 mentioned above have stood out a lot. Tucker doing very well for the Rebels
Really? How much of Parish have you watched? Parish is inside and outside, and the most complete midfielder in the draft. He can win it on the inside and use it on the outside, while the others are all somewhat lacking in that balance

In order of height
Harley Balic 186cm
Rhys Mathieson 185cm
Darcy Tucker 184cm
Darcy Parish 181cm

It's an interesting point Gillo. I don't like the comparison to James Aish though!

Darcy Parish is more of an outside player that's correct (only just!), better suited to playing off a flank or on a wing. HOWEVER he does have really good inside capabilites winning the football and plays a lot harder than people think with good ability at the clearences. Parish is very clean with his skills (by hand and foot) as well. His height may be an issue, but he's still the best mid (non academy) in my mind. Really impressed me in both the AFL academy games this year.

Rhys Mathieson is a contest ball hard nut and is suited to playing on the inside (has more hardness, to use your words)

You can compare Balic to Pendles/Petracca due to both of them playing Basketball like Balic, however I reckon that doesn't mean a lot. Balic played majority in 2014 as a forward only this year spending more time for Sandy/Vic Metro playing as a midfielder. Balic probably has more X factor, but I've still got some ? on whether he's better suited to playing as an inside mid or just a HFF role than pushes into the midfield. He can play a bit on the outside, but when I've seen Balic especially at TAC Cup he's either situated in the goalsquare or he's in the centre contests.

Darcy tucker has been good at the Rebels, probably didn't have his best carnival at the champs. For me as an outside midfielder, I'd take Parish before him. But he's taller than Parish and possibly may be able to work on playing on the inside, but I think he's better suited as an outside runner and he's someone I'd want the ball in their hands.

Parish is rated higher than all 3 as he's probably got the most strings to his bow. Can play inside and outside, and has a good set of skills. If I had to chose any of the four, I'd take Parish first. But in reality, they are all probably different players. Mathieson is an inside jet, while Tucker is suited to Wing/HBF/BP with Balic more of a midfielder/forward.

In order of height
Harley Balic 186cm
Rhys Mathieson 185cm
Darcy Tucker 184cm
Darcy Parish 181cm

It's an interesting point Gillo. I don't like the comparison to James Aish though!

Darcy Parish is more of an outside player that's correct (only just!), better suited to playing off a flank or on a wing. HOWEVER he does have really good inside capabilites winning the football and plays a lot harder than people think with good ability at the clearences. Parish is very clean with his skills (by hand and foot) as well. His height may be an issue, but he's still the best mid (non academy) in my mind. Really impressed me in both the AFL academy games this year.

Rhys Mathieson is a contest ball hard nut and is suited to playing on the inside (has more hardness, to use your words)

You can compare Balic to Pendles/Petracca due to both of them playing Basketball like Balic, however I reckon that doesn't mean a lot. Balic played majority in 2014 as a forward only this year spending more time for Sandy/Vic Metro playing as a midfielder. Balic probably has more X factor, but I've still got some ? on whether he's better suited to playing as an inside mid or just a HFF role than pushes into the midfield. He can play a bit on the outside, but when I've seen Balic especially at TAC Cup he's either situated in the goalsquare or he's in the centre contests.

Darcy tucker has been good at the Rebels, probably didn't have his best carnival at the champs. For me as an outside midfielder, I'd take Parish before him. But he's taller than Parish and possibly may be able to work on playing on the inside, but I think he's better suited as an outside runner and he's someone I'd want the ball in their hands.

Parish is rated higher than all 3 as he's probably got the most strings to his bow. Can play inside and outside, and has a good set of skills. If I had to chose any of the four, I'd take Parish first. But in reality, they are all probably different players. Mathieson is an inside jet, while Tucker is suited to Wing/HBF/BP with Balic more of a midfielder/forward.

Do you consider it a weak first round selection from 1-20 compared to previous years. I'm getting that impression from what I've been reading

The top 20 is still pretty decent. Unlike previous years this year is probably full of more Key position players, especially at the top of the draft. Rather than your top 3 being full of star midfielders, we'll probably have Key position at the top, followed by the academy kids- Then the draft picks.

It's probably weaker in a sense, but possibly more even. I still think there is some value if your a club with Pick 15.

Lovell is another, unlike Terry Wallace- I don't rate him in my first round, however I think he'll fall 40+ mark. Is sub 180cm which some clubs will steer clear of, but he's got the talent to defy the odds of the "smaller" players. Speaking with an AFL scout I know, he reckons that Lovell does get a lot of "cheapies" with his possessions, not working hard enough for them. However I think he's a nice prospect and one i expect to end up on an AFL list.
I hope he isn't a Gold Coast scout.

Have you seen much of Blake Hardwick? And what do you think of him?
Personally I love him, I see him similar to Robbie Gray and Tom rockliff both spending majority of their time as undersized key forwards in the TAC cup but at the next level having the ability to play midfield.

Have you seen much of Blake Hardwick? And what do you think of him?
Personally I love him, I see him similar to Robbie Gray and Tom rockliff both spending majority of their time as undersized key forwards in the TAC cup but at the next level having the ability to play midfield.

33 goals in 10 TAC Cup games (even taking out his 10 goal haul against Geelong it's 23 goals from 9 games) a pretty impressive feat.

Personally I think he's better suited as a small/medium forward. I'll wait to see how he tests aerobically, I'm not sure though whether he has the capabilities that Gray or Rockliff have/has.

In my opinion Ben Crocker is probably a greater midfielder/forward as he probably spends more time in the midfield than Hardwick. I've only seen Hardwick at 1 TAC Cup game and in the champs. No denying Hardwick kicks goals, I think he'll feature in the national draft- but will be interesting to see if clubs rate him as a forward that can pinch hit in the middle or as a long term midfielder that can kick goals.

I like him as a player Hardwick, a player that I think would suit many clubs- Who doesn't need a 181cm goalkicker!

I've been working on getting an update ready for this week (Phantom Draft wise), I should be available to post tomorrow.

It's sure going to be an interesting October/November...

I've updated the Phantom Draft, which is in the third post.

I'll update the Power Rankings this week- But Ben McKay has moved into my Top 30, as well as Clayton Oliver.

With the Phantom Draft- I anticipate some clubs will only use two picks (with a rookie upgrade), I thought I'd put in a name for a player who I believe could be upgraded for next year for that particular club.

Gresham played a blinder on the weekend, but I'm finding it very hard to split my Top 30, very even between 10-30!

[And apologies if there is a mistake somewhere!)

Not sure your phantom draft makes sense to me, just don't understand how Sydney are getting Mills with the pick you selected.
I think he is saying that Essendon with pick 4 will bid on Mills and Swans will go, yep academy player we will take him and then be slugged with points of 4th pick minus the 20% discount taking their next pick to the 70's...

Or if a question of how academy selections work, this probably isnt the thread for that, but there is one on the main board.