Baguley Hartley Hooker
Goddard Hurley Gleeson
Parish Heppell Colyer
Laverde Daniher Tippa
Langford Brown Fantasia
Berger Watson Merrett
Zaka Myers Ambrose ???

Who would you add?

I'd add Pick 5 & 8 off GWS (or whatever they have) when they offer you to swap Pick 1. I think who goes Pick 1 depends on who picks that pick. If Essendon do, I think they'll take McCluggage. I'd take the best available, I currently rate McCluggage one so I'd take him. In my opinion, you've gotta take the best available in the Top 10 on your list rather than needs.

Is it worrying that SA seems to produce fewer players at the top of the draft than QLD and NSW lately? Or is it just a sign that the academies are working? How do they differ from the SA state system?

I think it is worrying in a sense, but they do have some good prospects. Just not Top 20s as it seems at the moment. The QLD/NSW have been aided by academies in a sense, but some are from strong football places not just academy regions.

Might just be down to talent, Will Setterfield to be honest hasn't had a lot of time with GWS academy going to school footy in Melbourne & playing TAC Cup.

SA should again have some good players next year, but i think Connor Rozee (2018 draft) might be their next Top 10 talent.

I think it is worrying in a sense, but they do have some good prospects. Just not Top 20s as it seems at the moment. The QLD/NSW have been aided by academies in a sense, but some are from strong football places not just academy regions.

Might just be down to talent, Will Setterfield to be honest hasn't had a lot of time with GWS academy going to school footy in Melbourne & playing TAC Cup.

SA should again have some good players next year, but i think Connor Rozee (2018 draft) might be their next Top 10 talent.
Callum Coleman-Jones?

Don't think he's a top 10 talent for me, have seen him play about 6-7 times this season. Nice height, but for me needs to be a bit stronger in the ruck contests, up forward reckon he spills a few marks he needs to take. Best game was v WA in the champs.

I'd actually have Darcy Fogarty in my Top 10 at the moment- he's a South Australian, but not sure he'd end up there come November 2017.

Kobe Mutch looks a pretty neat type who isnt afraid to win the hard ball... Pitty he is a GWS academy kid. Would be great at the Lions. Any chance GWS wont be able to match bids on all their kids and a guy like Mutch get to another club?

There's a pretty good detailed write up here from AFLDraftCentral goo.gl/0VKOqV

His numbers were good throughout the year, but I agree that I don't think his hurt factor is that huge. I think he probably falls in the 20-40 region or so - For me I wouldn't match as GWS, as I can't see him breaking into their best 22. And I think GWS won't match, think it's well acknowledged they'll take Perryman & Setterfield and then most likely Macreadie & Sproule in the 20-40 category and be done for the draft.

There's a pretty good detailed write up here from AFLDraftCentral goo.gl/0VKOqV

His numbers were good throughout the year, but I agree that I don't think his hurt factor is that huge. I think he probably falls in the 20-40 region or so - For me I wouldn't match as GWS, as I can't see him breaking into their best 22. And I think GWS won't match, think it's well acknowledged they'll take Perryman & Setterfield and then most likely Macreadie & Sproule in the 20-40 category and be done for the draft.

Yeah the thing the I liked was his cleanness around congestion to find an out kick rather then dumping it long that so many of the kids seem to do. I do think that not all players need to have extreme hurt factor in todays link up possession type game. Watching his tapes made me think if he could become like a Macrae, gaff, or rockliff (minus forward attributes) type of player which is clearly what a heap of teams could do with. Anyway, GWS are bloody lucky with their academy when they can start passing on kids like him

Don't think he's a top 10 talent for me, have seen him play about 6-7 times this season. Nice height, but for me needs to be a bit stronger in the ruck contests, up forward reckon he spills a few marks he needs to take. Best game was v WA in the champs.

I'd actually have Darcy Fogarty in my Top 10 at the moment- he's a South Australian, but not sure he'd end up there come November 2017.
Think Fogarty will be a top 10 pick he reminds me a lot of Stringer as a junior.

Ok, that is sort of what I was getting at, with the success of the academy system which seems to be churning out a lot of top end talent, can this be replicated in some sense in SA? Without the SA teams having dibs? Or will it turn around itself in your opinion?

Long time I think it will 'even' itself out. Adelaide & Port are starting to put in time to their academies that they have, so that hopefully should help strengthen football in their region/zone.

SA might have some strong kids, but maybe its down to 'Sticks' and their coaching panel that they haven't produced the talent in the past.

Bishop, what are Clarkes wheels like for an inside mid? Does he have any outside game whatsoever? Where do you expect him to go range wise?

Great thread btw mate.

Yes he does have the ability to play on the outside. His endurance levels are very good, but he's more of an inside midfielder due to his strong body and clearance/tackling ability.

Ran a 3.17 for 20m, which is below average. Beep of 15.4- Would expect these numbers to be better at the combine.

His kicking is what will keep him outside the first round (Below 50% this season), probably likely to end up as a 25-45 pick. I'd say more likely to be 30+

What about Joe Atley?

Obviously asking because we have both brothers, but pretty sure we wont draft another inside mid for a couple of years unless one falls into our laps at a late pick. I actually dont mind picking up an inside mid, but he must have some good wheels as we have a bunch of 1 paced plodders atm. Not interested in crap kick either as we have enough of them in the team as well...

What about Joe Atley?

Obviously asking because we have both brothers, but pretty sure we wont draft another inside mid for a couple of years unless one falls into our laps at a late pick. I actually dont mind picking up an inside mid, but he must have some good wheels as we have a bunch of 1 paced plodders atm. Not interested in crap kick either as we have enough of them in the team as well...

Atley nice contested ball winner, clearance work is superb. His kicking is serviceable, but his kick-to-handball ratio is a bit out of whack. 8 kicks to 14 Handballs at TAC Cup level. He's probably a 25-40 prospect or thereabouts. I wouldn't worry about the name, you just take the best available on your list. He's a completely different player to his brother.

Have only seen Atley four times this year, more detail thanks to AFLDraftCentral is here: http://goo.gl/B16A3V

His kicking is what will keep him outside the first round (Below 50% this season), probably likely to end up as a 25-45 pick. I'd say more likely to be 30+

Speaking of which....Do you have the figures on the players with the highest kicking efficiency, in the TAC Cup for 2016 Bishop?

Also....Any smokeys who have stood up & caught your eye this finals series, thus far?

Atley nice contested ball winner, clearance work is superb. His kicking is serviceable, but his kick-to-handball ratio is a bit out of whack. 8 kicks to 14 Handballs at TAC Cup level. He's probably a 25-40 prospect or thereabouts. I wouldn't worry about the name, you just take the best available on your list. He's a completely different player to his brother.

Have only seen Atley four times this year, more detail thanks to AFLDraftCentral is here: http://goo.gl/B16A3V

Looks to be a player almost any team could pick up. Has a good frame that could easily carry another 5kg of muscle and although i only watched the highlights of the SA game, strong in the contest with decent dash. Looks like he could get games early with his contested work/tackling ability.

Speaking of which....Do you have the figures on the players with the highest kicking efficiency, in the TAC Cup for 2016 Bishop?

Also....Any smokeys who have stood up & caught your eye this finals series, thus far?

Out of all the relevant ones these are the top 3- My spreadsheet has had a few issues since updating a few finals stats, so I haven't included Sandy or Murray- If you remind me in about a fortnight I can get a bigger list if you want!:
Harrison Bult: 82.9%
Lachlan Murphy: 78.6%
Louis Cunningham: 75.6%
----

I reckon there has been a few smokies. I'd certainly say Sam Simpson from Geelong Falcons has caught my eye. Father/Son for Geelong, he's lively around goal and very smart inside 50; Reads the play well and the flight of the ball.

I hadn't seen a lot of Callan Wellings due to him playing most of his games in the country, I liked him in defence and through the midfield.

I reckon Louis Cunningham hasn't got enough credit. Superb left foot out of the Oakleigh Chargers backline and has some pace with his orange boots. Jordan Ridley is another one who assess' play well out of the backline.

Who is the KPD who played as a 193cm midfielder in the championships? Ive seen him ranked low 20's by Cal Twomey.

Interesting prospect.

Might be speaking of WA's Josh Rotham or Griffin Logue? Not sure. Both have pushed at the ground at times at WAFL level, but more of defenders in the Under 18 championships. Have a look at Twomey's Form Guide and I can give you more detail then!