Bishop's 2016 Draft Thread

He's an outside player- no doubting that. Can play HFF or HBF (or wing) but looks suited and I think he wants to play his best footy at HBF from speaking with him.

34.2% of his total possessions won in the TAC Cup were contested.
With this in mind i can't see how he will be a good fit for North with the likes of Atley, Mullett, McDonald, Macmillan, Hibberd and Vickers-Willis all capable of playing half back. I would think if North envisage him being a winger who can spend time on ball then he may be an option. Florent makes most sense for North, with Venables a bit of a risk IMO.

My theory with a first round pick is take best available - I know for a fact they're keen on Cox. But there is no way he's available at their 2nd pick.

Don't understand why we'd take Cox with our first pick? We have enough true outside wing types IMO in Cameron, Milera, Seedsman, Hampton, Atkins, Smith etc

We're more likely to go with an inside mid such as Venables, Berry or SPP - that's where we lack depth

My theory with a first round pick is take best available - I know for a fact they're keen on Cox. But there is no way he's available at their 2nd pick.
North tend to follw the same theory so i doubt Cox will be at North next year all things considered. They clearly like him but I don't think he is as good an option as others at 11.

Cheers for the responses.

Don't understand why we'd take Cox with our first pick? We have enough true outside wing types IMO in Cameron, Milera, Seedsman, Hampton, Atkins, Smith etc

We're more likely to go with an inside mid such as Venables, Berry or SPP - that's where we lack depth

I think Berry is the obvious pick for me. But put my Phantom Draft together combining needs and from a few tid bits where some players might go from those in the know.

Hey Bishop

Nearly every phantom draft on bigfooty has the top 6 being:
1 Essendon - McCluggage
2 GWS - McGrath
3 Gold Coast - Bowes
4 Brisbane - Ainsworth
5 GWS - Setterfield
6 Carlton - Brodie

Yours is one of the few that (slightly) changes it up. It is really that predictable at this point or is there massive groupthink going on? The bids on Bowes and Setterfield especially I feel should be hard to predict.

Hey Bishop

Nearly every phantom draft on bigfooty has the top 6 being:
1 Essendon - McCluggage
2 GWS - McGrath
3 Gold Coast - Bowes
4 Brisbane - Ainsworth
5 GWS - Setterfield
6 Carlton - Brodie

Yours is one of the few that (slightly) changes it up. It is really that predictable at this point or is there massive groupthink going on? The bids on Bowes and Setterfield especially I feel should be hard to predict.

My Phantom is my gut feel and from tid-bits I've heard going around. It's too early to have an accurate 'group' think as clubs are still watching vision and deciding and can't speak to players during exams.

I still think McGrath at #1 and to be honest nobody knows whether that is true, the club haven't decided- the player doesn't know & other clubs don't know.

Setterfield seems likely to be bid on at 5 & Bowes at 3 is generally what everyone thinks and seems likely.

Carlton's Pick 6 could well be Taranto/SPS or Brodie.

Brisbane bidding on Bowes is an interesting assumption, given it benefits them in no way at all (ie - it will be matched and it doesn't affect Brisbane's draft order at all), aside from ensuring Gold Coast don't get a live pick before Bowes.

Personally I think they should bid as Bowes seems a top three prospect and they are only making GC stronger, but it wouldn't surprise me if the bid doesn't come.

Brisbane bidding on Bowes is an interesting assumption, given it benefits them in no way at all (ie - it will be matched and it doesn't affect Brisbane's draft order at all), aside from ensuring Gold Coast don't get a live pick before Bowes.

Personally I think they should bid as Bowes seems a top three prospect and they are only making GC stronger, but it wouldn't surprise me if the bid doesn't come.

They should bid. For a club that has struggled to keep players, he's a local boy. It makes sense, of course Gold Coast will watch it but they should be bidding on him there.

I agree they should bid if they see him as a top three player, but there is a 0% chance Gold Coast don't match so the fact he's a QLDer is irrelevant.

I think Berry is the obvious pick for me. But put my Phantom Draft together combining needs and from a few tid bits where some players might go from those in the know.
So in other words, you've heard we're interested in Cedric? Don't have to spill if you can't, I'm just the curious type :p

I agree they should bid if they see him as a top three player, but there is a 0% chance Gold Coast don't match so the fact he's a QLDer is irrelevant.

There aren't too many definite in the draft- But this will be one of them unless something significant changes in the next few weeks.

So in other words, you've heard we're interested in Cedric? Don't have to spill if you can't, I'm just the curious type :p

Correct.

I would prefer Brennan Cox rather than a mid with flaws at 27. Any chance we could get him and then Begley at 56?

No he (Begley) is a second rounder. I definitely wouldn't want Cox at all, if I put my Richmond hat on. Not sure Begley has that many flaws.

St Kilda have pick 61... but I can't see a pick allocated to them around there in the mock...?

Also, I thought SPP would slide given the concerns around his disposal...

Maybe it's the long game? There's more and more of a chance that a player gets unsettled in the first few years. If GC go further down the toilet and Bowes wants to leave, Brissie would be the obvious destination, especially if they're showing something on field. If they can also say "we've rated you since before you were drafted", maybe he remembers the bid and is more favourably disposed to them?

Not sure. But there's no downside for them in trying.

St Kilda have pick 61... but I can't see a pick allocated to them around there in the mock...?

Bidding brought it in to 58, a lot of GWS picks before that which disappeared. Bishop has us taking Jack Maibaum at that spot, gee I hope not, at some point we've got to stop drafting depth KP players and start drafting mids.

I'm not a fan. His stuff in the champs was just OK in my opinion. Didn't do a lot to excite me v Vic Metro or WA.

I know his testing stuff earlier in the year was great- but watching a few SANFL games, he looked slow and out of it.

Has played both forward & back this year, I like him in defence, but still reckon he's a tad slow.

Also, I thought SPP would slide given the concerns around his disposal...

Maibaum at 58 is their pick. I think SPP might slide, but that West Coast pick is hard to pick in a Phantom! That's the one where everyone comes unstuck I think. I don't rate him personally, but I'm sure West Coast have put a lot of work into him.

Bidding brought it in to 58, a lot of GWS picks before that which disappeared. Bishop has us taking Jack Maibaum at that spot, gee I hope not, at some point we've got to stop drafting depth KP players and start drafting mids.

Maibaum's a good fit. And if he's there at that pick, I think they'd snatch him in a heartbeat. I don't think N.Brown in a long term player in my view and I'd be happy to get Maibaum in with Goddard & Carlisle.

I can't see Brisbane bid on Bowes anymore with Ainsworth come out and declare he wants to be a Lion so unless Ainsworth isn't available at 3 Brisbane shouldn't bid

It's been well known for a while of Ben's desire to get to the Lions. But I'll back in what I'm told- Lions will bid at 3. I'd be very very very surprised if I'm wrong.

I'm not a fan. His stuff in the champs was just OK in my opinion. Didn't do a lot to excite me v Vic Metro or WA.

I know his testing stuff earlier in the year was great- but watching a few SANFL games, he looked slow and out of it.

Has played both forward & back this year, I like him in defence, but still reckon he's a tad slow.

Wandering what you thought on teh SA lads, the SA team finished second in the championship so obviously have something go for them I will name the ones who I believe will be top 3 kids

Sharenberg - picked in team of the year of the u/18 national team at end of the year as the centreman, has played SANFL league footy for the last 2 years, won MVP in the only u/18 gane he played this year in the u/18 grand final for Glenelg. And if truth be known has pretty much been touted as the best in that age group for the past 5 years since they started playing state footy

Graham- Won MVP for the u/18 National Championship ready to go player along the lines of Mark Ricciutto who had more strenght as a junior than anyone else I have seen.

Hayward Hasnt broken into the SANFL league yet, but had a solid second half kicking nine goals in an Under 18 SANFL match and finishing the season very well

Where do you see these three, remembering SA has never ever had a kid not feature in the first round and looking at the SA team finishing second in the championship they must have something going for them

Wandering what you thought on teh SA lads, the SA team finished second in the championship so obviously have something go for them I will name the ones who I believe will be top 3 kids

Sharenberg - picked in team of the year of the u/18 national team at end of the year as the centreman, has played SANFL league footy for the last 2 years, won MVP in the only u/18 gane he played this year in the u/18 grand final for Glenelg. And if truth be known has pretty much been touted as the best in that age group for the past 5 years since they started playing state footy

Graham- Won MVP for the u/18 National Championship ready to go player along the lines of Mark Ricciutto who had more strenght as a junior than anyone else I have seen.

Hayward Hasnt broken into the SANFL league yet, but had a solid second half kicking nine goals in an Under 18 SANFL match and finishing the season very well

Where do you see these three, remembering SA has never ever had a kid not feature in the first round and looking at the SA team finishing second in the championship they must have something going for them

Hayward will be the highest drafted out of all of them and he will go in the first round no doubt. His stuff in the second half of the year was great, even at times when he pushed through the midfield in the All Stars game. The nine goal game was outstanding and he just couldn't stop slotting them, it really caught my eye. His stuff in the champs, was ok- despite kicking a good chunk of goals.

Scharenberg likely next, somewhere in the 25-40 region and Graham probably in the 30-45s. Kicking needs work with both of them,

Graham's size at times make him look a bit like a 'man child' and I question that in an AFL environment he'll have to trim down a bit to improve his running. I see him being better than most at U18 level because of size, but struggling at AFL level.

Scharenberg's hands in stoppages are good, but was running at 49% kicking efficiency in the champs. That final in the U18s was great, but I think he's another who is 'too' good for U18s.