Bishop's 2016 Draft Thread

McCluggage got enough going on, that he could go at 1? Let's be honest, Essendon has the number 1 draft pick this year, trying to get early vision of who we will get :p

Definitely in consideration, it wouldn't surprise me if the best player come November is one of the academy players. But I'm 99% sure that a club with Pick #1 won't bid on an academy player.

McCluggage definitely a chance to be the first picked, is an Outside midfielder/HFF I said above:

McCluggage is really good in traffic, looks like time stands still when he has the ball. One of his games i watched, he found a target with almost all of his possessions in close. Wins a lot of the ball using his good hands to clear the ball from a stoppage and has the capacity to hit the scoreboard.
---

I don't think Pick #1 is as clear cut as it has been in the past, could be a large chunk of names that could challenge for it this year.

Hey bishop what are your thoughts on Jordan galluci? Is he predominately outside? What are his skills like? His pace? Does he kick goals? Could you see st kilda using say a pick 5-8 on him or would that be to early cos he sounds like the classy outside midfielder we need. Cheers

I definitely think Gallucci could come into consideration for the Saints. St Kilda in my view need a good kicker on on the outside.

He's 183cm, has missed a bit of footy with an injury but bounced back and had 36 disposals a few weeks against (all be it against the bottom team).

Gallucci in my view is one of the better kicks in the draft pool, at this stage I have him around the 2nd round.

Five out of his nine games ( TAC Cup ) last year he had more contested possession than uncontested. However, he mainly plays on the outside and that's the role I see for him at AFL level.

He isn't a huge goal kicker when pushing forward, but did average one per game at U18 Champs in 2015.

Has what I would classify as elite speed, very agile too. His testing results even as a 16 year old were superb and he'll test well again the National Combine.

Have updated Post #2 with my latest power rankings- For comparison

April 8th:

nCTrYk1.png

May 24th:

EKqW1RI.png

A few injuries with Berry missing a month with a AC joint injury, Jack Scrimshaw has been back playing school football for the past month, whilst Ben Ainsworth is suspended for two more weeks.

Any questions fire away, the next update will have a full list of 75 prospects & a Phantom Draft.

ALSO: NOTE that I haven't included players such as Shai Bolton & Tim English as I am yet to see them, I won't be including them until I've seen them to make my own judgment.
Do you have any 19 year olds in your 75.

Have a few, Ben Davis is probably one of the higher ones. Lachie McKenzie too. Tim English from WA is also a 19 year old, but I'm yet to see him so can't really comment on him, but a few rate him.

Blair & Brown a chance as 19 year old forwards +
Guys like Tiziani, Lane, Walker, Gow playing TAC Cup are ones on my radar, Michael Hagan another outside chance.

Not living in WA makes it hard to answer this one!

But for the 2017 draft Kyron Hayden & Ben Miller are two guys who I think are a chance to be drafted.

Greg Clark is playing senior footy and I know he's still on the radar but don't think there is too many coming through this season.

Can you give a rundown on Jacob miller (subi Colt) and his chances for the 2016 draft and also his younger brother ben miller and his chances for the 2017 draft? What sort of players are they are where are they likely to be selected

Hey mate, don't think i'll be able to give you a solid answer on this as I've never seen either play seeing I'm from Melb. Best to ask someone in the know from WA :thumbsu:

Off stats it seems both have done ok in the WAFL (Colts/Reserves).

Bishop ... the form of Zac Guthrie interests me. Named in the best nearly every week , yet not a state rep. This parallels his brother. It would seem he is a similar type of player , a bit of a shutdown , rebounding defender..

Why would he not be considered for state duties?... and where do you see him going in the draft. Im not sure on the figures of players getting drafted that were rep and not rep ... one would have to think that rep players have the chance to go past him if they play well on the bigger stage?

Hi Bishop. Where do you think Lebois will fall, and do you think he'll end up in the mid rotations?
Also keen for your take on Ben Jarman and Sam McClarty...

Thanks mate.

Bishop ... the form of Zac Guthrie interests me. Named in the best nearly every week , yet not a state rep. This parallels his brother. It would seem he is a similar type of player , a bit of a shutdown , rebounding defender..

Why would he not be considered for state duties?... and where do you see him going in the draft. Im not sure on the figures of players getting drafted that were rep and not rep ... one would have to think that rep players have the chance to go past him if they play well on the bigger stage?

Averaging 16 disposals and four marks per game. More of just a shutdown defender that can rebound. 184cm, also missed out on the Vic Metro squad. Calder are pretty weak this year and he's been very good week after week. I've only seen him once so hard to make a real big comment, maybe ask me come September once I've seen him a few more times.

Clayton Oliver never played Vic Country and went high- So it can happen. But yes majority who play Vic duties do have some form of advantage.

Hi Bishop. Where do you think Lebois will fall, and do you think he'll end up in the mid rotations?
Also keen for your take on Ben Jarman and Sam McClarty...
Thanks mate.

I think Lebois is more of a forward due to the spark that he provides inside 50. Will catch his games in Victoria later this month, but seems like a really exciting prospect. Not sure at his size he'll push on ball, probably more of a goal sneak but like Daniel Rioli perhaps. I'd say he's a prospect 40+ at this stage for me.

Jarman a later pick too- as a forward. McLarty an interesting one (definitely a later pick for me too), has played a lot forward for Oakleigh this year but I think his best position is in the backline. Will be interested to see where he plays this week for Vic Metro- But I think he's suited to defence where he reads the play pretty well and uses his big hands to clunk marks.

Last edited by a moderator:
Averaging 16 disposals and four marks per game. More of just a shutdown defender that can rebound. 184cm, also missed out on the Vic Metro squad. Calder are pretty weak this year and he's been very good week after week. I've only seen him once so hard to make a real big comment, maybe ask me come September once I've seen him a few more times.

Clayton Oliver never played Vic Country and went high- So it can happen. But yes majority who play Vic duties do have some form of advantage.

Thanks- will keep my eye out for him. just the five disposals on the weekend playing KPD but hard to tell his impact without having seen the game but believe he matched up on Battle after he kicked those goals!

I think Lebois is more of a forward due to the spark that he provides inside 50. Will catch his games in Victoria later this month, but seems like a really exciting prospect. Not sure at his size he'll push on ball, probably more of a goal sneak but like Daniel Rioli perhaps. I'd say he's a prospect 40+ at this stage for me.

Jarman a later pick too- as a forward. McLarty an interesting one (definitely a later pick for me too), has played a lot forward for Oakleigh this year but I think his best position is in the backline. Will be interested to see where he plays this week for Vic Metro- But I think he's suited to defence where he reads the play pretty well and uses his big hands to clunk marks.
Thanks Bishop. Do you think McClarty's deafness will be a deterrent?

Thanks for that. Will check back in a couple of months.
At 184 , one might suspect he gets to his brothers 186. Did you watch much of Cam as a junior? Under the impression he played a bit of run with and shutdown defender as well. So... to me presents as a good prospect, good stock so to speak. Id like to have his skills and talent rated. Speed, vertical (the usual Combine stuff ) but in a game id be interested in his kicking and decision making , Leadership etc.

Thanks Bishop. Do you think McClarty's deafness will be a deterrent?

I think it'll be addressed but not sure to what significance, Pat McCartin has his diabetes, Keenan Ramsey with one eye etc. Clubs do their due dilligence on everything so I'm sure they will with McLarty.

At 184 , one might suspect he gets to his brothers 186. Did you watch much of Cam as a junior? Under the impression he played a bit of run with and shutdown defender as well. So... to me presents as a good prospect, good stock so to speak. Id like to have his skills and talent rated. Speed, vertical (the usual Combine stuff ) but in a game id be interested in his kicking and decision making , Leadership etc.

Wasn't following the draft back then sorry! But check back in later in the season will be interesting to see how he finishes the year.

Bishop.

Who are the likely prospects for the following clubs?

Calder Cannons for Essendon.
Eastern Ranges for North Melbourne.
Geelong Falcons for Brisbane.
Oakleigh Chargers for Collingwood.

Cheers.

Hey mate, don't really get your question. There isn't a 'link' as such between TAC Cup clubs & AFL teams [no form of academy]. I guess you're implying that a lot of the players from clubs on the left end up at the said club on right.

But some of the better prospects for each:
Calder: Karl Brown, Zach Guthrie, Jack Reaper (Michael Romero F/S to Dogs)
Eastern: Dylan Clarke, Jordan Gallucci (Callum Brown F/S to Pies)
Geelong:Alex Witherden, Brett Blair
Oakleigh: Plenty- Jack Roughsedge, Pat Kerr, Campbell Lane, Lachie Walker, Sam McLarty, Jordan Ridley, Taylin Duman (Josh Daicos F/S to Pies)

Hey mate, don't really get your question. There isn't a 'link' as such between TAC Cup clubs & AFL teams [no form of academy]. I guess you're implying that a lot of the players from clubs on the left end up at the said club on right.

Oakleigh: Plenty- Jack Roughsedge, Pat Kerr, Campbell Lane, Lachie Walker, Sam McLarty, Jordan Ridley, Taylin Duman (Josh Daicos F/S to Pies)

I know there's no links or academies but I've noticed a trend with the drafting of certain players from each of the above clubs.

Arent they going to be the academies for the clubs soon?

Also, do you think Calder can strengthen over the coming years, bishop? Have been pretty week last few drafts

Arent they going to be the academies for the clubs soon?

Also, do you think Calder can strengthen over the coming years, bishop? Have been pretty week last few drafts

Not so sure on the academy system myself.

I think Calder will be about the same 8-10 next year.

They have Dylan Landt, Noah Balta, mitchll Pdhajski & Daniel Hanna who are apart of the Vic Metro futures squad so should have a couple in the Vic Metro squad next year. (2017 draft)

The year after Mason Fletcher (Dustin Fletcher's son), Rhylee West (son of Scott) is a superb player and probably the best U16 going around.

Another few in the U16 Vic Metro squad- The one I really like is Curtis Taylor. i think he'll be something special.

If Brisbane could pick up Alex Witherden with an early second round pick I'd be wrapped and consider that two good drafts in a row.

FYI: He does have the nice combo of speed and endurance. 3.06 sec 20m sprint & 14.2 Beep Test at the beginning of the year.

Bishop, just wondering if you think this happens too...I have a strong feeling that coaches may sometimes structure their best player voting to push up someone who they think has enough qualities to be 'draftable' but is not attracting much early interest.

FYI: He does have the nice combo of speed and endurance. 3.06 sec 20m sprint & 14.2 Beep Test at the beginning of the year.

Bishop, just wondering if you think this happens too...I have a strong feeling that coaches may sometimes structure their best player voting to push up someone who they think has enough qualities to be 'draftable' but is not attracting much early interest.

Thanks- I thought you'd have the extra data ;)

I definitely think it would happen. But some coaches best are different to what others may think at the game, eg: the Jets back pocket keeps Dandenongs small forwards to zero goals- But Jets player only had 6 disposals, might make the best cause he did a really good role for the team.

I don't think recruiters go there to see players get 30 disposals, kick three goals and be best on ground- They're looking for other things such as running patterns, movement around the ground, kicking etc. The 30 disposals is an added bonus of course.

I've been to plenty of games where I thought the best wasn't the same as what the coaches thought- And I'm sure that'd happen for the recruiters there, but they're more looking at the individual rather than the team (if that makes sense).

Clubs sit down with most recruiters before the season to discuss their prospects & all the clubs know pretty much every player so I don't think he need to give them votes as I don't think the clubs would even look at the TAC Cup website for example.

Thoughts on today's game Bishop, down in Geelong very exciting finish

Was a very exciting finish- I put a detailed write up on the Under 18 championships thread.

McCluggage & Brodie were superb for Country in the middle, Ryan Clarke the most consistent player throughout the day. Ainsworth four goals in 20minutes was huge but Andrew McGrath killed him after that keeping him to one handball. McGrath's dash from defence set them up and without him don't think Metro wins. Venables overall quiet- But his last five minutes were huge.

Best players played well. Jarrod Berry continues to disappoint me however....

Was a very exciting finish- I put a detailed write up on the Under 18 championships thread.

McCluggage & Brodie were superb for Country in the middle, Ryan Clarke the most consistent player throughout the day. Ainsworth four goals in 20minutes was huge but Andrew McGrath killed him after that keeping him to one handball. McGrath's dash from defence set them up and without him don't think Metro wins. Venables overall quiet- But his last five minutes were huge.

Best players played well. Jarrod Berry continues to disappoint me however....
Whys that Bishop? Love the drive he offers off half back but probably hasnt been getting enough of it as he should be.

What range do you see him going at the moment?

Whys that Bishop? Love the drive he offers off half back but probably hasnt been getting enough of it as he should be.

What range do you see him going at the moment?

For me his kicking isn't good enough to be a HBF. I like those types of players to be good ball users. 191cm makes him an awkward height, doesn't go through the midfield very often & I don't think he'll ever be a midfielder. Has had a very disappointing season so far, but that can happen to people. The next month will truly show how he goes- Would of had about 10-15 disposals I reckon on Monday. Nice drive out of defence- But don't think his kicking efficiency is all that flattering. Missed a chunk of TAC Cup with an AC joint injury too...

I have him at #25 at the moment, second rounder for me currently. But the next month is make or break whether he cracks that first round.