Bishop's 2016 Draft Thread

Jy Simpkin broke his leg badly today, apparently out for 12 months which might drop him a bit.

Broke his leg yesterday for Scotch College his Melbourne APS school team.

Stringer/Burton level break?

I don't have much information with me at this stage- Brett Anderson mentioned on Twitter he believes it is 12 months, I'll follow it up and get back to you if I get any extra info- But it sounds like a 12 montha

Broke his leg yesterday for Scotch College his Melbourne APS school team.

I don't have much information with me at this stage- Brett Anderson mentioned on Twitter he believes it is 12 months, I'll follow it up and get back to you if I get any extra info- But it sounds like a 12 montha
Cheers Bishop. Hope he recovers well, such a shame if it ends up affecting him long term.

Bishop ... where would you place Witherden ..seems to range a bit these early Big Board type threads.
I have him at #28 on my list, he's a rebounding defender. 184cm- Has a really good kick on him, I just question whether he can move up the ground in a sense is he just a one trick pony? I'd like him to play on a wing at some point & I'm really hoping for that to happen throughout the year but I can't really justify a judging him up high when he may just end up being a really good HBF (Which there is nothing wrong with btw)

Could you relate him to any particular player type.. (Geelong are a side that lacks a HBF , especially with Thurlow going down this year) Darcy Tucker for instance?

He does have some similarities to Tucker- I think Tucker was a better kick and had a better footy brain and did move onto a wing a bit for NBR, yet to really see that with Witherden at the Falcons. In saying that Witherden kicked goals for his school side on the weekend, so we might just see another string to his bow.

Tucker probably moved a bit better around the ground than Witherden does, but I haven't seen them live this year so can't really comment without seeing them set up behind the ball etc.

Few WA KPP prospects in the top 20 maybe ..... interesting draft , WA a little stronger this season !!

They should be better suited this year than last. I'm expecting Petrevski-Seton to go top 3, Powell-Pepper, Goddard, Rotham all a good chance to join him in the top 20. Alas still a long way to go- But after a shocker in 2015 they should be better.

Bishop, who do you think are chances of being picked up this year as 19yo's?

Saw Ronke played well in the trials where was he playing?

These are some (TAC Cup) names who I think are a chance: In saying that, I can really only see maybe three picked up at best at this point in time. When blokes come back they are really expected to lift their game and standout- They do get scrutinised a lot more too as 19 yr olds.

Brett Blair (GF)
Jake Bradley (NK) Blues Father/Son
Karl Brown (CC)
Daniel Foley (WJ)
James Gow (NBR)
Tom Jok (DS)
Goy Lok (SD)
Lockey McCartney (GF)
Matt Perry (NK)
Lachie Tiziani (MB)
Lachie Walker (OC)

I personally think Bradley is the best chance due to the F/S nature. I think Brown/Blair are very similar and for me they play as No.1 targets at TAC Cup & won't really be able to do that at AFL level due to their height. Then there is two sudanese prospects who were close last yr but still learning the game, Matt Perry is someone I really like but think he'll be left alone again. Lockey McCartney was superb in the Vic trials- Kicking does need to be cleaned up but played fantastic that afternoon. Lachie Walker got cut from Vic Metro, someone who finds a lot of footy at TAC Cup but will he get a chance this year after being 'stiff' IMO last year?

The Vic Metro trial was the first time I'd seen Ronke play, He had 27 disposals and was consistent throughout the day. I noted in my note book that he was in the centre (bounce) for a large chunk of the day but did move to HFF a bit too. Kicked at 40% throughout that day which was horrible- One of the few that recorded more ineffective kicks than effective.

Jake Lovett a chance playing VFL for Casey? What are your thoughts Of playing TAC vs VFL to get that second chance? Maybe it was what Melbourne wanted from him?

I believe Melbourne didn't have a spot for him, but promised an opportunity at Casey. Playing Casey VFL means they can give him a special program of sorts and be coached by their coaches- with a look to possibly earning a spot this year on their rookie list for example. So I do think they'll have an eye on him.

Lovett missed a chunk of last year with an injury and didn't set the world on fire for Dandenong. I think going to VFL gives him that advantage to mixing with the Melbourne FC environment and being coaches by their coaches rather than going back to TAC Cup.

I think the VFL v TAC Cup one depends on the player and should be a player by player case- It is still very rare 19 year olds get picked up in the draft but it does happen.

Another question could very well be is it worth playing 15 VFL Development league games (and maybe 1-2 in the snrs) or playing 18 TAC Cup games as an over ager?

who are some people from Subiaco and who from subi are some future 2017 prospects?

Not living in WA makes it hard to answer this one!

But for the 2017 draft Kyron Hayden & Ben Miller are two guys who I think are a chance to be drafted.

Greg Clark is playing senior footy and I know he's still on the radar but don't think there is too many coming through this season.

What's the reason you have Dylan Clarke higher than most? Sounds like an interesting player

Yeah the left footer is the younger brother of Ryan (who is on the NM list). Dylan is a big ball winner, averages 29 disposals in the TAC Cup & stood out at stages last year as a bottom ager for the Eastern Ranges.

187cm, a really nice height and he uses the ball very well (not an elite kick)- But he's a real damaging player that hards hard forward of centre. His defensive efforts need a bit more work, but I really think he should go higher than his brother did at this stage. Clarke lays a lot of tackles as an inside midfielder and can hit the scoreboard too.

Any thoughts on Brown and Prescott from the swans academy?
I've seen Jake Brown play but not Eli Prescott.

Brown normally plays forward of centre (spent most of his U16 carnival off HBF) as an outside midfielder/medium forward, only collected 13 disposals in the trial game when I saw him and was very quiet. I'm not sure how much of an impact he'll have in the U18 Championships and whether he'll get a huge amount of game time with some big names to come back into that NSW/ACT team. I don't have any specific notes on him from last year.

I'm not sure they'll be many Sydney academy boys drafted this year- I think ruckman Liam Maze is a good chance, but I think majority are going to be rookies.

Post 2: Power Rankings

Early look at the Top 25 as I see it currently...

nCTrYk1.png
Korewha goddard and Kerr way overrated for mine
Venebles from jets is a top 25 talent for mine. Florent from sandy has tricks. Kirby from Bendigo has heaps of tricks and Marshall from Murray is a riser.
I like the look of Himmelberg, Watson and Dennis from qld as well.

Korewha goddard and Kerr way overrated for mine
Venebles from jets is a top 25 talent for mine. Florent from sandy has tricks. Kirby from Bendigo has heaps of tricks and Marshall from Murray is a riser.
I like the look of Himmelberg, Watson and Dennis from qld as well.

I do agree with some of those comments- I'm still 50/50 on Venables, will need to see him again as I've got a few ?? marks. Florent is one who has risen for me, been outstanding this month. Kirby not so sure he gives you anything at his size, as he plays as a 'tall'- Won't be doing that at AFL level- Probably rookie for me. Todd Marshall was solid yesterday, kicking is interesting but effective- He is tied to GWS alas.

Those three have been ok for QLD- I reckon Curtis Marsden (+ the four academy kids) are the main ones, Dennis will still need to do a lot more to be drafted as a 19 year old far better ruckman going around.

Also agree with Korewha, been horrible this month. I'm happy to keep Goddard where he is & I know Kerr needs one bag to get back into it (Kicked 6 for his school two weeks ago)

So you've made some nice points ;)

Who are the best ball winners? Any have that Dangerfield/Selwood breakaway pace?

Where do you think Hampton might go?

The best ball winners I'd say would be Dylan Clarke VM, Will Brodie VC & you probably could say Jonty Scharenberg SA & Sam Powell-Pepper WA.
The BL/GC academy members Scheer, Allison, Bowes do win a fair chunk of footy too.

At the top end I don't think there is a big presence of 'elite' breakaway pace, Ben Ainsworth VC & Jarrod Berry VC move very well out of stoppages, I'd need to look closer at the interstate prospects much closer in the Champs to say more.

I watched Hampton on the weekend- Had a superb opening quarter but went quiet after that. He was very underwhelming in the trial game too, I think he will be a later pick/rookie at this stage. No real consistency for me, has a good 5 minutes but then you won't see him after that for the rest of the quarter.

He's agile and has good breakaway speed, but finding the footy is another thing. Is good when he has it in hand- But when he doesn't??

Kirkby is a risky selection but he is fast keeps his feet and kicks goals.
He is not fit. Will he put in the work?
Reminds me of Robbie gray at the same age.
Kerr moves too unathletically for me.
Korewha wouldn't be listed if he wasn't gifted ais. He is a fair way off it.