Bishop's 2016 Draft Thread

Bit ha
For me his kicking isn't good enough to be a HBF. I like those types of players to be good ball users. 191cm makes him an awkward height, doesn't go through the midfield very often & I don't think he'll ever be a midfielder. Has had a very disappointing season so far, but that can happen to people. The next month will truly show how he goes- Would of had about 10-15 disposals I reckon on Monday. Nice drive out of defence- But don't think his kicking efficiency is all that flattering. Missed a chunk of TAC Cup with an AC joint injury too...

I have him at #25 at the moment, second rounder for me currently. But the next month is make or break whether he cracks that first round.
Bit harsh on berry i reckon. Only played 3 full games for rebels and averaging over 20 touches a game. Hadnt played for five weeks before championships so was always going to be under done. Not sure his shoulder is 100 percent yet. I reckon recruiters will be still very keen and agree his end to thevyear will determine where he lands, hopefuully with the bombers. As a side note his brother Thomas just appointed vic country under 16 captain.

Bit ha

Bit harsh on berry i reckon. Only played 3 full games for rebels and averaging over 20 touches a game. Hadnt played for five weeks before championships so was always going to be under done. Not sure his shoulder is 100 percent yet. I reckon recruiters will be still very keen and agree his end to thevyear will determine where he lands, hopefuully with the bombers. As a side note his brother Thomas just appointed vic country under 16 captain.

Did see that about his brother. He still played in the academy games pre-injury where I thought he was average too. Just question where he plays- Don't think he'll be a midfielder & doesnt have the kicking ability to play off HBF. Superb leadership skills nevertheless.

Co-Captains? ... Along with Oscar Brownless.
Going back and looking at Berry last year.. id have to agree with you. Berry's is kicking not something that id say is elite. Not as smooth as the best kicks.. but he still adequate.

Co-Captains? ... Along with Oscar Brownless.
Going back and looking at Berry last year.. id have to agree with you. Berry's is kicking not something that id say is elite. Not as smooth as the best kicks.. but he still adequate.

Correct, Oscar is co-captain with him. A big two games for Berry in my mind- that should decide whether he's first round.

Why haven't you put up you're phantom draft yet are you waiting until after the Championships or the Essendon vs Lions game so you know who will have the number 1?
Just curious on who you think the Lions would take at pick 1 or 2

Yeah I'm going to hold off until the conclusion of the Champs. Should be up by early July- Will be a pain to work out with all the academy bids o_O

If I was the Lions, I'd take Sam Petrevski-Seton or Hugh McCluggage with their early pick

Hi Bishop, asking the same question to you and KM (because I know you watch plenty of TAC Cup) and providing my own answer in my thread:
Who is a TAC Cup player that you think has draftable attributes but haven't heard many or any people talk about yet?

Hi Bishop, asking the same question to you and KM (because I know you watch plenty of TAC Cup) and providing my own answer in my thread:
Who is a TAC Cup player that you think has draftable attributes but haven't heard many or any people talk about yet?

I liked Luke Bunker's work earlier in the TAC Cup season, starting to put in a good month for Vic Metro now and is flying under the radar.

It's a hard one to answer as I've seen more school footy & Championships than TAC Cup action since May when the champs started. And generally from May-June, the better kids play at school footy.

I reckon Oli Florent is another I really rate and don't think too many people are talking about him, despite being in the Vic Metro squad same too with Jack Roughsedge I saw his 39 disposal game first game back from knee injury and I've been a fan since last year but believe he has another injury (perhaps shoulder?)
---
I saw you mention Parsons, I've seen Oakleigh a few times and have thought he was pretty underwhelming- But that's what school footy/Vic commitments do, they allow a few others to stand out.

I liked Luke Bunker's work earlier in the TAC Cup season, starting to put in a good month for Vic Metro now and is flying under the radar.

It's a hard one to answer as I've seen more school footy & Championships than TAC Cup action since May when the champs started. And generally from May-June, the better kids play at school footy.

I reckon Oli Florent is another I really rate and don't think too many people are talking about him, despite being in the Vic Metro squad same too with Jack Roughsedge I saw his 39 disposal game first game back from knee injury and I've been a fan since last year but believe he has another injury (perhaps shoulder?)
---
I saw you mention Parsons, I've seen Oakleigh a few times and have thought he was pretty underwhelming- But that's what school footy/Vic commitments do, they allow a few others to stand out.
Hi mate saw pat kerr for the first time today, looks like a really good leading forward with strong hands. How do you rate him?

I really liked Pat Kerr last year. Had him around the 20 mark coming into the TAC Cup season, he's been ok so far this year. Kicking has been a bit wayward but been good at school football level for St Kevins from all reports.

four goals in 10 minutes vs SA was good- but been told he should of kicked 6 or 7 with a lot of kickable shots rather than 4.4.

Nice clean hands when taking a mark and is usually a really good kick. Does need to work on his agility but has enough pace over 10m to get between himself and the defender to take a mark. 3rd rounder for me at the moment, but I really like him.

I really liked Pat Kerr last year. Had him around the 20 mark coming into the TAC Cup season, he's been ok so far this year. Kicking has been a bit wayward but been good at school football level for St Kevins from all reports.

four goals in 10 minutes vs SA was good- but been told he should of kicked 6 or 7 with a lot of kickable shots rather than 4.4.

Nice clean hands when taking a mark and is usually a really good kick. Does need to work on his agility but has enough pace over 10m to get between himself and the defender to take a mark. 3rd rounder for me at the moment, but I really like him.
Thanks mate appreciate it.

Bishop what did you make of Reece Pipers game for Vic Country on Friday? thought he did very well on Jarmen when he was moved onto him, kept him almost statless as well as getting some good ball himself!

I've really liked Piper's work this year. Probably the best 'back pocket' in the draft. Takes a lot of the kick outs for Vic Country- so his stats can be somewhat misleading when he plays on to himself and kicks the ball (gaining a stat)- BUT if you're a club looking for a good ball user in the backline he's one of the best. Kicks well on both feet, had some nice moments including running about 70m taking a few bounces in the 3rd running to the wing.

He's someone I rate at around the 3rd-4th round at the moment.

Who do you like fantasy football wise? For a keeper's league draft
Hard to tell at this stage, I haven't looked at the fantasy points as such.

Hugh McCluggage, Andrew McGrath probably take time before they're ready, Will Brodie a bigger body could probably slot in from round 1. Not sure how quickly the GWS academy kids get game time next year & in the future- Jack Bowes should play early for Gold Coast.

Ask me later in the season when it's a bit clearer o_O

Could throw a blanket over the first 20 or so. Will have an update going in the next week. Feel free to fire any questions to me, bit chilly down the highway today :p

Theoretically, Essendon trade pick 1 for 3 and 9 to Gold Coast, who would you take? Whoever's left of Brodie/SPS/McCluggage or a Marshall type?

Bit warmer than Etihad on Friday though ;). How would you order these outside mids: Oliver Florent, Josh Williams & Taylin Duman?

Theoretically, Essendon trade pick 1 for 3 and 9 to Gold Coast, who would you take? Whoever's left of Brodie/SPS/McCluggage or a Marshall type?

All depends on how things play out. Theoretically Gold Coast take Brodie with Pick 1, Lions take McCluggage. Essendon I think would take Marshall at #3, I get the feeling they could overlook SPS. Not sure if it's a go home factor at all, but I don't reckon Marshall gets to Pick 9. They take Marshall the key forward then can really use Pick 9 well. Do they take the running HBF McGrath if he's still available, maybe look at Jack Scrimshaw who uses the ball nicely out of defence and can play tall/small. I think Ainsworth will be a good fit for some clubs, but I can see him falling into the 2nd round.

I know he has been injured but SPS over the last two weeks didn't impress me as much as I expected from glimpses what I saw in the academy games/In 2015.

Bit warmer than Etihad on Friday though ;). How would you order these outside mids: Oliver Florent, Josh Williams & Taylin Duman?

Tell you what, Friday was one of the coldest U18 days I've sat through.

I'd order them in the order you have. I really rate Florent, there is just something there that I really like. Moves really well off HFF & into the midfield.

Josh Williams is one of the fastest in the draft pool, was better in Div II than he was Div I but still liked some of the things he does. Should be the Suns' third academy pick.

Taylin Duman did some good things, but I do question where he fits in at AFL level. Have seen a fair bit of him for Chargers in the last two seasons, 193cm/75kg. I reckon he probably has to put on weight and play tall at AFL level somewhere, but certainly takes the game on out of the back half.

Bishop, how would you compare Taranto's game at the same stage to DeGoey's.

And did DeGoey have discernible more upside than Taranto? DeGoey going at 5.

I'm struggling where to place Taranto. Currently i have him at 16 on my Board but am pretty unsure if that is too high or too low.

Both St Kevin's College boys in Melbourne. De Goey missed a fair chunk of football earlier in the season and only really started working into form come June. Taranto has played all year and been solid at school football and Sandy Dragons.

I reckon Taranto has spent more time forward than De Goey did and resulted in kicking more goals than De Goey did in the 2014 champs. I reckon De Goey has a better upside marginally. Taranto's basketball background helps him move around in stoppages and he moves well around the ground.

Jack Roughsedge??

Opinion?

Draftable?

Yeah really like him. Saw his 39 disposal game the other week for Chargers, he's one I like last year when I saw him as a bottom ager. Made the Metro squad and played really well in their final trial I've been told- BUT has another injury.

I think rookie and I'm hopeful he comes back this season with some more good games.

Should be up by early July- Will be a pain to work out with all the academy bids o_O

I would not mind getting three or four people together to place the academy kids, take the average of all the results and that will allow everyone to use this as an indicative guide for all future mock drafts.

Chris, Knightmare, Foj1, yourself...

Then we could work out the points system and create a new draft order.

To me that sounds like the best method and allows someone to have a rough guide and if they really want, they can create their own academy order.

Interesting Phantom top 3-4 seem to be the same as everyone as with the likes of Brodie, SPS and Bowes..
Can I ask your thoughts as to why the Larke Medalist isn't inside the top 20? Draft should be based on form, not past seasons. Graham was by far the best performing player at this year championship. Inside Mid, lots of teams need inside mids and he is tackling machine. I would probably pick him inside the top 15. The likes of Port Power and Adelaide, will pick him if available i believe with their first pick. Thoughts?