Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Bishop

Brad Bernacki is going bananas in the TAC Cup

Draft range on the kid? Got him at 177cm. On the same bus ability wise with the likes of Moore (vic m), Bailey (allies), Giro (sa) if you ask me.

Being Overlooked for Metro, probably been the best thing for him. Playing like a man possessed.

Draft range on the kid? Got him at 177cm. On the same bus ability wise with the likes of Moore (vic m), Bailey (allies), Giro (sa) if you ask me.

Being Overlooked for Metro, probably been the best thing for him. Playing like a man possessed.

Saw him last week and was very impressive ... 3-4 boys in that game a good chance

Bernacki was in the second in take of the Vic Metro squad, played in one of the trial games but didn't step up to the next level. Caluzzi stiff to miss out IMO

Are you planning an update for your rankings soon mate and whats your thoughts on Coffield after a couple of vfl games and the recent metro games

im looking foward to seeing him spend more time in the midfield but seems to be played down back mostly

Really like the way he moves and thinks and always looks like he has that extra second similar to pendles

Do you see him becoming a mid after 3-4 years at AFL or a mackie type

Couple of questions pls Bishop and/or anyone else who has seen a bunch of them.

What is Stephenson's field kicking usually like, as while he had a great game overall yesterday, he did 4 or 5 pretty poor kicks (mostly getting to their target on the bounce, from as little as 15m away, or missing them altogether) and is O'Brien "too outside"?

I've heard in the past that those who get I think it was less than 30% contested ball in the juniors are the most unlikely to make it in the AFL, so where does LOB sit as far as that sort of thing goes?

Gday bish I was at Etihad today and can I just say Fogarty not a top5 in my eyes he had 0 touches until 1 minute to go in the half and just looked like a headless chook. I've never bought the hype on him, he's never proven to play midfield so why is his stocks so high ?

Bishop ... Metro look very slick... good group of mids and their forwards superior. Has Woollers form demand him being an emg.? Or was it just sharing it around because Sutherland is in the side now? How will this affect his draft position..id be hoping he slips to geelong.
The system has a flaws in a way..id have thought we should be trying to have the best , most draftable kids playing... Vic C.. Vic M..they are all Victorians..and a kid like Wooller , he might be VicC best forward. Yes McCartin had better hands.. but really did not have an impact did he?

So Wooller... top 20? I know you have him later..perhaps I should ask Knightmare he has him inside 20..

Gday bish I was at Etihad today and can I just say Fogarty not a top5 in my eyes he had 0 touches until 1 minute to go in the half and just looked like a headless chook. I've never bought the hype on him, he's never proven to play midfield so why is his stocks so high ?
He was very obviously hampered by a knee injury.

Bishop ... Metro look very slick... good group of mids and their forwards superior. Has Woollers form demand him being an emg.? Or was it just sharing it around because Sutherland is in the side now? How will this affect his draft position..id be hoping he slips to geelong.
The system has a flaws in a way..id have thought we should be trying to have the best , most draftable kids playing... Vic C.. Vic M..they are all Victorians..and a kid like Wooller , he might be VicC best forward. Yes McCartin had better hands.. but really did not have an impact did he?

So Wooller... top 20? I know you have him later..perhaps I should ask Knightmare he has him inside 20..
Was just thinking this and Country are screaming out for a good key forward even Daniel Johnston from Murray would have been good but he is with the Allies and can't get a game for them. Garoni should have played aswell or even Barzen. Wooler I think should have played anyway he is a clear top 20 talent IMO and his game last weekend was more than worthy for his selection.

Saw him last week and was very impressive ... 3-4 boys in that game a good chance

Bernacki was in the second in take of the Vic Metro squad, played in one of the trial games but didn't step up to the next level. Caluzzi stiff to miss out IMO

On Bernacki - possibly rookie but I think he could well be overlooked. What is he elite at? As one recruiter put to me during the week any player under 180cm has to be really a small forward, as they won't play Inside Mid at AFL level --- Now of course there are exceptions Jack Higgins/Lachie Fogarty two such as examples from this years draft, but you can't give any club an excuse at that height to be overlooked. Dylan Moore has smarts at sub 180cm, I'd take him inside the top 30.

Bernacki doesn't have elite speed, his endurance needs work and his kicking isn't great - That's three excuses for me to go, yeah nah not for me at 177cm.

On that game - it was Calder's bottom agers that stood out for me & out of those playing from Bendigo Schumacher the only one I feel will get a gig at the next level.

Are you planning an update for your rankings soon mate and whats your thoughts on Coffield after a couple of vfl games and the recent metro games

im looking foward to seeing him spend more time in the midfield but seems to be played down back mostly

Really like the way he moves and thinks and always looks like he has that extra second similar to pendles

Do you see him becoming a mid after 3-4 years at AFL or a mackie type

Will update rankings after the last game - Coffield isn't the same one who has played a couple of VFL games - I believe that's his brother but I'll check with Nick at some point.

I really like Coffield across half back, long term midfielder for me at 190cm. I've said all along he reminds me on McCluggage/Pendles, just their composure in traffic and looking like they have a few seconds to think about what they are going to do. I had him at #15 coming into the Champs, and for me now he's pushing for top 10.

He can either play that General Defender (Andrew Mackie role) or push into the midfield - but that may just be a club decision. He has the craft with either.

Couple of questions pls Bishop and/or anyone else who has seen a bunch of them.

What is Stephenson's field kicking usually like, as while he had a great game overall yesterday, he did 4 or 5 pretty poor kicks (mostly getting to their target on the bounce, from as little as 15m away, or missing them altogether) and is O'Brien "too outside"?

I've heard in the past that those who get I think it was less than 30% contested ball in the juniors are the most unlikely to make it in the AFL, so where does LOB sit as far as that sort of thing goes?

Stephenson is kicking at 46% in the TAC Cup, Champs 50%. Sometimes he can shank them on the run, but as you say with some of his kicks they don't hit the target but are still graded as 'effective' as they get to the man sometimes on the bounce etc. He's just an ok kick - it's not his strength but he does hit most he shoots at goal.

O'Brien I couldn't give you an accurate CP/UP % as he's only played a few games where his stats have been recorded, due to playing school footy. Yes he's mostly outside - put it this way his 18 disposals v Metro (0 were contested, 18 uncontested) --- Every team needs an outside distributor, I see him playing in the back pock/half back but should turn into an AFL wingman.

Wooller is a third tall - Shouldn't be considered for first round and maybe even 2nd round. Compare him with Stephenson/Rayner who can be third talls with their marking skills etc they are much better talents for a reason (coupled with their midfield work). Wooller I doubt becomes a midfielder at the next level and while it's handy that he goes through there occasionally in the TAC Cup, it won't be his spot.

I don't read too much into TAC Cup form - Especially in futures round and against Gippsland one of the weakest teams in the competition.

They obviously can't go too top heavy in a Champs game and so I wasn't surprised Wooller missed out. He'll play this week, probably Xerri goes out. Sutherland is a far better prospect anyway.

Usually the most draftable players are playing and from the forward group online Xerri and McLean I could see going later than Wooller so they picked their best team - needing those two to ruck.

Was just thinking this and Country are screaming out for a good key forward even Daniel Johnston from Murray would have been good but he is with the Allies and can't get a game for them. Garoni should have played aswell or even Barzen. Wooler I think should have played anyway he is a clear top 20 talent IMO and his game last weekend was more than worthy for his selection.

Daniel Johnston undrafted for me and not surprised Allies have overlooked him for their first three games. Garoni and Barzen I agree, both very very good prospects for next year.

Wooller as above - one head recruiter taught me a few years ago, when they get to a game and are watching talls to always write down who they are playing on. Just because Player X boots five goals, doesn't mean he played that well playing on a 190cm tall for example.

I'm with you on that to a degree, a few people laughed yesterday when I spoke to people about the fact some people think he could well be the No.1 pick. Ridiculous. Still have him in the top 10 conversation, but he ain't going to be a midfield when he is lazy and lacks the endurance. I'd like to see him play a bit more across half back as he's played some good games there.

He was very obviously hampered by a knee injury.

Whether he's injured or not, body language can play a big part in things and if he is really injured he's doing himself harm by playing. But plenty of players have pushed through games before, Hamish Brayshaw played a TAC Cup Grand Final with a broken foot - so if you really want to bust your guts and try hard, rather than picking and choosing with moments - he could've well done more than 4 disposals and 3 tackles.

I'm with you on that to a degree, a few people laughed yesterday when I spoke to people about the fact some people think he could well be the No.1 pick. Ridiculous. Still have him in the top 10 conversation, but he ain't going to be a midfield when he is lazy and lacks the endurance. I'd like to see him play a bit more across half back as he's played some good games there.

All I'll say on Fogarty, is I think people need to forget what they heard about him being #1. I'm the most biased SA fan here, and I came into the season with him in the 5-10 range. So I don't think he's 'dropping', I think he's settling into what was always his range.

I wouldn't call him lazy though.

All I'll say on Fogarty, is I think people need to forget what they heard about him being #1. I'm the most biased SA fan here, and I came into the season with him in the 5-10 range. So I don't think he's 'dropping', I think he's settling into what was always his range.

I wouldn't call him lazy though.

You did not come into the season with him being in the 5-10 range, just look at your own rankings board. Actually I think you recently updated your board and still have him at 3 after a few championship games, so if you did have him in the 5-10 range beforehand, you've managed to think he has boosted his stocks.

You could always read my thread, maybe the second post where I say exactly that. And don't have him in my very first top 5. Or don't?

True, I could, my mistake.
I just assumed this list was your most up to date rankings. I guess it is the 1st of July and you may reflect him being in the 5-10 range in your July rankings.

While my thread will still have a South Australian focus, I might as well open it up to include my whole draft rankings too.

June Rankings

1. Jaidyn Stephenson (189cm, 76kg from Eastern Ranges)
2. Luke Davies-Uniacke (187cm, 85kg from Dandenong Stingrays)
3. Darcy Fogarty (192cm, 88kg from Glenelg)

True, I could, my mistake.
I just assumed this list was your most up to date rankings. I guess it is the 1st of July and you may reflect him being in the 5-10 range in your July rankings.

He'll be around #5. Having said that though, it's as much a reflection on this draft. There are few players I think are better, even in his slump.

Yeah the draft is a strange one, not a heap of players that are screaming pick me. Hoping for a good back half to the TAC, WAFL and SANFL...

I think this draft is being underrated a bit.

It's certainly not a deep draft like last year but the top 10-15 is quite good imo.

I think this draft is being underrated a bit.

It's certainly not a deep draft like last year but the top 10-15 is quite good imo.
I've seen some stuff that I reckon is absolutely ridiculous written about it. Someone on our board on here suggested yesterday that whoever goes pick 3 this year will be the equivalent of pick 15-17 last year!

Given that 3 of the top 6 last year were 180cm or less and the one who most expected to go pick 1 up until just before the draft ended up slipping all the way back to 3, I wouldn't assume that last year's top 3 or 4 will end up any better at all than this year's.

I've seen some stuff that I reckon is absolutely ridiculous written about it. Someone on our board on here suggested yesterday that whoever goes pick 3 this year will be the equivalent of pick 15-17 last year!

Given that 3 of the top 6 last year were 180cm or less and the one who most expected to go pick 1 up until just before the draft ended up slipping all the way back to 3, I wouldn't assume that last year's top 3 or 4 will end up any better at all than this year's.

yeh I agree.

Rayner, LDU, Fogarty vs McGrath, Taranto and McCluggage
Would be an interesting 3 v 3. It's to early to compare. Last years top 3 have all impacted at AFL level at some stage this year and they have all played numerous games in their first years. You just have to wait till next year to compare them. Far to early to call, Champs haven't even finished yet.

On Bernacki - possibly rookie but I think he could well be overlooked. What is he elite at? As one recruiter put to me during the week any player under 180cm has to be really a small forward, as they won't play Inside Mid at AFL level --- Now of course there are exceptions Jack Higgins/Lachie Fogarty two such as examples from this years draft, but you can't give any club an excuse at that height to be overlooked. Dylan Moore has smarts at sub 180cm, I'd take him inside the top 30.

Bernacki doesn't have elite speed, his endurance needs work and his kicking isn't great - That's three excuses for me to go, yeah nah not for me at 177cm.

On that game - it was Calder's bottom agers that stood out for me & out of those playing from Bendigo Schumacher the only one I feel will get a gig at the next level.

Felt he was very ordinary in that game but one of the 3-4 I was talking about.

Rayner, LDU, Fogarty vs McGrath, Taranto and McCluggage
Would be an interesting 3 v 3. It's to early to compare. Last years top 3 have all impacted at AFL level at some stage this year and they have all played numerous games in their first years. You just have to wait till next year to compare them. Far to early to call, Champs haven't even finished yet.
Plus Stephenson vs Ainsworth at 4 even

All I have heard is it drops off after 30 never that they are all crap just depth