eth-dog
Tier 1 WW Player
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Essendon
- Other Teams
- Coburg Lions, All Boston sides
Nic NatThat was on the cards. When's the last time a ruckman went top 3? Kreuzer?

Nic Nat
How about Grundy? I thought he was a clear top 3 pick and he slipped, sometimes strange things happen. Still shocked to this day that Collingwood who needed a ruck, getting one of the best looking jnr rucks I've seen.
Wasn't there rumours regarding Grundy's "honesty" at the time? Basically questioned his role where he fitted in, the direction of the club etc.? Obviously wouldn't faze everyone but could rub some up the wrong way.
The 2016 draft disagrees with you.I think there may be a correlation between:
1. teams who have the high picks usually (save for trades where you pass on a very high pick for two, say late top ten picks) finishing at/near the bottom of the ladder and feeling they need a "quick fix";
2. The largely agreed view that the vast majority of talls need more time to blossom than the hard running mids.
So if you get the high pick and need the quick fix, you invariably pick the big/fast midfield kids who can come straight in (McGrath, Powell-Pepper, Taranto, McCluggage) rather than the longer term ruck/KPP player (Marshall, Battle, English) who may need 2 or 3 seasons to develop size in order to have genuine impact.
The 2016 draft disagrees with you.
oops meant 2015. my badPlease explain....
Bishop you legend. Article on the AFL website had a few names in the SANFL as possible mature age recruits.
Jack Stephens from Sturt was mentioned. What are your thoughts there?
That was on the cards. When's the last time a ruckman went top 3? Kreuzer?
Matthew Leuenberger was nearly a top 3 pick he went at pick 4.
Look at how that turned outMatthew Leuenberger was nearly a top 3 pick he went at pick 4.
Great work Bishop...are you going to extend it out to a full draft?Rankings have been updated
Unfortunately Will Sutherland has gone the cricket pathway over football - but all the best to him. I have now removed him from my rankings - I would've had him contending for the No.1 pick.
Was he that good to be your number 1? What would he have to do that would knock of the top 4?Rankings have been updated
Unfortunately Will Sutherland has gone the cricket pathway over football - but all the best to him. I have now removed him from my rankings - I would've had him contending for the No.1 pick.
Great work Bishop...are you going to extend it out to a full draft?
Was he that good to be your number 1? What would he have to do that would knock of the top 4?
Maybe closer to the draft - at the moment I have about 55-60 names I'd be certain I'd be drafting (national + rookie) - but I won't just add names for the sake of it. Similar to clubs, I cut players off my list If I wouldn't consider drafting them.
I always had him in contention for the No.1 pick (but ranked him closer to 5 than 1) - reckon his form in the 2nd half of the year at Oakleigh Chargers if he had've got down the footy path through finals might've pushed him there for me. Was clearly the best tall in it.
Thanks mate..I have found the phantom draft on the other reasonably accurate..your thoughts? It gets difficult after about 40 Imo
Not for me - plenty of players who are on there who I don't reckon will even get drafted.
Plenty of guys well above too where they are likely to be drafted - but it's always a hard theory when some people have seen 50 games, whereas others have seen just a handful (eg: just the Champs) so basing off such a small sample size.
yep its an interesting one I suppose...the next 5 weeks will make or break a few now
Next few rounds of TAC Cup will be back to its 'average' standard with school footy starting back up again. Players leaving their run this late might be well scratched off clubs boards I would've thought.