- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
Really like the look of nick coffield. Looks like a star reckon he would be around ST kildas pick?

Lack of pace??Where do you see Dylan Moore going bishop? He seems like he can do everything on a footy field but his size and maybe lack of pace may hurt him
Where do you see Dylan Moore going bishop? He seems like he can do everything on a footy field but his size and maybe lack of pace may hurt him
Lack of pace??
Looks very nippy to me the few times I've seen him.
Really like the look of nick coffield. Looks like a star reckon he would be around ST kildas pick?
Bishop, you've probably already answered this but, who do you think the Tigers are interested with in their first picks. Do you expect them to go with key position players or best available?
I think he's in the 20-35 bracket for me, agree RE the lack of speed. One of the very few sub 180cm players in the draft pool not to run a sub 3 second 20m sprint (elite category)
See above - one of the few sub 180cm players to not run a sub 3s 20m sprint. I know that's a straight line, but even throughout the U18 Champs and at school footy he doesn't have the zip as some others.
I really like Coffield - think he'll be in consideration for Pick 1 if I were Brisbane. Depends on where St Kilda get, I think he could be top 5 - but might be top 10 at the end of the season, just depends. So he'd be one they'll watch no doubt.
Balta, Naughton, Hayes are three talls in the range - reckon they would have those 3 right up there. The other pick I'd like to look at some speed/class in the defensive half, so a Matt Ling type would be ideal.
First round picks should always be 'best available' - if you start reaching for a tall for example well before they should be selected it is fraught with danger. Obviously if you have 5 ruckman on your list and the best available might be a ruck, over another mid - they might lean towards the mid.
With later picks you can probably have a crack at needs.
Hope he's still there at our 2nd pick which we should probably still have unless someone puts in a bid on Edwards way earlier than is being predicted.
Talk of Charlie Cameron wanting to head home for compassionate reasons are getting stronger so maybe the pick we would receive for him could get it done??
On the Brisbane draft boards a few people suspect Richmond may bid on Ballenden (which we all hope is after our Port pick). Think that is a possibility?Balta, Naughton, Hayes are three talls in the range - reckon they would have those 3 right up there. The other pick I'd like to look at some speed/class in the defensive half, so a Matt Ling type would be ideal.
On the Brisbane draft boards a few people suspect Richmond may bid on Ballenden (which we all hope is after our Port pick). Think that is a possibility?
Is there a possibility Lions don't match Stephen Conoel could rate someone higher Lions have not always taking academy talentPossibly - they've done it before! Bids usually come later than they are 'rated' / expected, but think Richmond's two picks there he'd be in that range (depending on where they finish)
It's definitely a possibility - you couldn't rule any club out. Everyone knows they'll match it.
If someone bids top 7-8 I reckon they wont match, 9-15 probably, anything past 15 I think it's a certainty.Is there a possibility Lions don't match Stephen Conoel could rate someone higher Lions have not always taking academy talent
hi Bishop Y can't I see your player by player notes post?notes
Is there a possibility Lions don't match Stephen Conoel could rate someone higher Lions have not always taking academy talent
If someone bids top 7-8 I reckon they wont match, 9-15 probably, anything past 15 I think it's a certainty.
hi Bishop Y can't I see your player by player notes post?
Bishop your boy Stoddart played a ripper today and I was suprised to see how well he did playing forward. It's nice to see he has a bag of tricks and he isn't your usual back flanker. Could have easily kicked 3
What role do you see him playing at AFL level. His disposal numbers so far don't match up with the best half backs at AFL level but he has a lot more weapons than those players in terms of his speed and ability to go forwardWatching the replay at the moment. Kid can play - been strong on him all year.
What role do you see him playing at AFL level. His disposal numbers so far don't match up with the best half backs at AFL level but he has a lot more weapons than those players in terms of his speed and ability to go forward
Yep being stuck down in the back pocket doesn't seem to allow boys to show what they can really do.That's a knock from a few people that he doesn't win a lot of the ball - but Eastern don't possess the ball hugely. Got stuck in a back pocket for Vic Metro which didn't help either.
Think he can evolve into a Kade Simpson type. Probably isn't one that'll slot in immediately to AFL level, but I project him to be a very good player.
Yep being stuck down in the back pocket doesn't seem to allow boys to show what they can really do.
When I watched him live in Perth, he looked great and I had him rated highly, then every other game of his was slightly quiet. Interesting to see how he performs in the back half of the season.Watching the replay at the moment. Kid can play - been strong on him all year.
Bishop do you get the feel there is a decent amount of talent in the top 10 as the year goes on? If saints ended up with 2 of the following cerra, Dow, Fogarty, Stephenson, brander, coffield, LOB. I'd be pretty stoked to bring in 2 of these blokes to our club?
Who do you think are the one trick pony's that couldn't play in other positions?Yes and no - depends. You can still show off your agility/ability to defend/skill execution -- but you can't be expected to win 20+ disposals. Stoddart's played on the wing throughout the year so isn't a one trick pony like some other back pockets in the comp.
But you look at the VM team, hard to see him pushing someone off the wing (eg: Stephenson type)
Who do you think are the one trick pony's that couldn't play in other positions?