Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Bishop

For all their national combine invites, Eastern's inability to defend a 50 point lead at half time shows exactly how poor their players are at the defensive side of the game, which surely must be a consideration for clubs in recruiting isn't it?

Fine to be able to kick freak goals, but if you can't chase, lock down, retain the footy, to stem an opposition team's momentum, you're starting a fair way behind most other draftees.
Why do you hate Eastern so much did Bewick run over your dog or something :p

No cerra and no north means midfield loses 50 disposals

It's probably more the fact they won't play a preliminary or grand final which will probably keep a ceiling on how high they could go.

However, if AFL clubs think TAC players aren't properly coached in defensive principles, this game is a classic case which would prove the theory.
A player in the TAC Cup should know how to tackle by now or be able to restrict the run of his opposition player. Yes zoning screens can help but unless you can get body on body (defensive pressure) that doesn't really work.

Sorry been a busy day at Vic Park & have had a few things on tonight. Let me know your thoughts if you watched on.

Hey Bishop. Just watching the Rays v Ranges game on the TAC website.

Really like the games of two big men. Jasper Rouget (Ranges) and Bailey Williams (Rays).

What can you tell me about these two guys and are they likely rookie listed possibilities? Both appear to have some tricks.

Rouget did a good job as a 2nd ruck today - is a overager (19 yr old). Wouldn't have thought there would be much interest draft wise.

Williams is a top 10 draftee for 2018 draft - elite leap in the ruck, very athletic. Absolute laugh he isn't in the AFL Academy level 1 - will be in Level 2 no doubt.

Hey Bishop, what are your thoughts on Brander's strengths and weaknesses?

It seems like very few people have him as the best player of the draft at this stage.

He isn't the best player in the draft - clubs don't see it that way either.

He's got a clean pick up from ground level and is a good set shot on goal - he thumps his kicks and kicks through the ball which I like, whether he's 20m or 50m out. He is mobile as a forward or back & reads the flight of the ball well. Makes multiple leads up forward.

No clear position at the moment makes it tough to judge him in a sense - but he is more than capable up forward or down back (personally I like him back) - due to his shape, his one-on-one defending could be better & at times in the U18 Champs whilst his numbers looked good, he often racked up stats from playing on at FB and kicking it long.

For all their national combine invites, Eastern's inability to defend a 50 point lead at half time shows exactly how poor their players are at the defensive side of the game, which surely must be a consideration for clubs in recruiting isn't it?

Fine to be able to kick freak goals, but if you can't chase, lock down, retain the footy, to stem an opposition team's momentum, you're starting a fair way behind most other draftees.

I agree with you Hedge. I think a few of them got ahead of themselves, a few recruiters I spoke to thought Ryley Stoddart in defence was one of the few players who busted their arse off to try and win the game - but some of their midfielders were woeful.

Didn't see the game but see Stephenson named best for eastern once again. He must have played well?

Played well when they were on top - more time up forward. I thought he was ok. I wouldn't had him as best on, but I can see why he was in the best. Bar Stoddart in defence & Garner up forward at times - most of their team were woeful after HT.

Why do you hate Eastern so much did Bewick run over your dog or something :p

He "dinged" my car and didn't leave a note. ;)

On a more serious note, I had hoped Eastern would push through as I wanted to see if they could live up to the hype on here about the talent on their list when pitted against full strength teams, and in cut throat finals.

Kudos to Dandenong for showing greater resilience and spirit yesterday.

Brisbane now has pick 12 would You expect Higgins to still be available he seems like the perfect pick for the Lions if available

Will be interesting - I think he'd be a good fit for them there. Maybe Dogs at 8 would be one that'll consider him - but for me I think he gets to Pick 12.

Wonder if his shoulder will get up for next week, I'm not so sure.

Eastern are still looking for Stephenson to return from the rooms at HT... ;)

For all his misgivings, Hunter Clark was huge in that last quarter and late in the third particular. LDU was huge all game, amazing performance for him.

Where would Sam Walsh go if he could be started this yr?

I'll do a combined top 20 later in the week just for you - but I'd have Lukosius and M.King 1 & 2.
It is hard, from the many opinions I read last year Stephenson, Fogarty, Ballanden, Brander all have "dropped" off on how they were projected from their junior years?

I'm not sure dropped off is correct, possibly not have taken another/next step in their development.

Stephenson pretty much on par with where I had him ranked this time last year, Fogarty/Ballenden have gone a fair bit backwards for me. Brander about even, but I would've liked him to play one position all year which might've helped.

I'm not sure dropped off is correct, possibly not have taken another/next step in their development.

And that is another factor on top of the above - I wouldn't had Dow inside my top 25 this time last year. Player do improve dramatically in their last year and pop up.

Lukosius, King, Rankine.... Daylight.......

The top two for me... Still got a few ? on Rankine. I wouldn't have him clear top 3 at the moment...

I'd have him inside the top 10 this year.

I feel like in terms of the pure midfielders, Walsh has had a more consistent season than any of the others At least up there with Dow.

What are your question marks on Rankine?

Lukosius, King, Rankine.... Daylight.......

I think Lukosius and King are top two clearly purely due to how good they are in a position of scarcity.

Rankine, Rozee, Walsh, Hill after them at this stage i reckon. Looking like a solid draft.

I think Lukosius and King are top two clearly purely due to how good they are in a position of scarcity.

Rankine, Rozee, Walsh, Hill after them at this stage i reckon. Looking like a solid draft.

Yeah I agree that is why I love Luksius and whoever gets him is going to be set for a forward.

Curnow and Lukosius in our forward line would be wonderful.

Over on the Lions board in our draft thread. Already the beginnings of a discussion about who might be the better midfielder, Walsh or Rankine, substance over flash.

Also many feel we got a bargain with Jacob Allison slipping in last years draft. Some wonder if this will impact on where Ballenden might be bid on. Allison was very highly rated in his bottom age year, didn't do much in his top age year and was moved around a bit during the season. This yea has played well in the NEAFL and stepped up to AFL late in the season and didn't look out of place. Also, Ben Keays won BOG in last nights NEAFL grand final.

And a side note on last night NEAFL grand final, Toby Pink (the kid who kicked that after the siren point to win the SA
Macca's Cup Grand Final last year) looks like he is developing well as a medium forward type, for Sydney. Had an impressive game.

bishop, Just your opinion on Darcy Fogarty

I see and like alot about his game and see some similarities with dusty (taking the game and tackler on and running out of a pack as well as going for the long pass to team mate and goal etc) But have some concerns about his pace , Just doesnt look like he is quick enough

Would you have any data on his 0-20 , repeat and tank

thanks