Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

Bishop - love your work mate.
Is there any possibility the Saints take O'Brien with 7 or 8? Seems a reach based on your analysis but he seems to be exactly what we're after.

Hey bishop

Interested to know what you would do with Norths pick 4? It's obvious that it appears to be out of Cerra and Stephenson. 1 is has elite composure, 1 has elite speed an X factor. Equally, 1 has question marks over their pace and the other has question marks over their kicking.

Obviously norths midfield is seriously problematic, and an obvious lack of speed and composure.

Which of these two do you see with the highest ceiling? Who would you take at 4?

Not sure it's obvious - I still reckon Cerra could be off the board & they are far from certain picking Stephenson. They've shown interest in Fogarty with a few people linking him there as of late.

I'd take Cerra at 4 - better player for me. Stephenson has some kicking issues on the run & as an outside midfielder there's others I like over him. Cerra is a smooth mover who I reckon would've been No.1 if he played a full season.

Hey Bishop,

How big a talent gap is there between the mids/wings/small backs/small forwards available around pick 15/18 and the likes of Worpel and Gryan Miers?

I think that Pick 15/18 is hard as the best midfielders are probably off the board - especially the inside midfielders. Petruccelle might be the only inside mid available there > but even then it's maybe a touch too early. Outside mids like Ling/O'Brien/Stoddart etc are more 2nd round types - but the Lions could grab LOB at 15-18 type of thing.

Worpel won't be taken that early. He's a third rounder. Miers possibly a chance.

Hey Bishop who do you see is a great grab at pick 19?

Suns hold pick 19 - if Ed Richards is there they will take him, same with Nathan Murphy if either get through. (more unlikely for Murphy than Richards).

Jack Higgins at AFL level will be a pure small goal kicking forward IMO. Unless he grows a couple of inches he is probably too short to play midfield regularly.

He is 2cm taller than Neale.

Same height as Viney.

2cm shorter than Sam Mitchell.

If he's good enough, height won't be a problem. Shown he's good enough at u18 level, remains to be seen if he can do it at AFL level. But, i wouldn't rule out the possibility of him succeeding in the midfield exclusively because of his height.

Agree full with Hedge here.

Even looking at testing results, Neale was quicker/better leap/more agile than Higgins for example.

I don't expect him to play inside mid & neither do the clubs I've spoken to. Hence some concern over him not having elite speed as a small forward.

Other than Naish (i am assuming Richmomd will match a bid) who would you reccommend as a quality wing/outside mid (i believe thats what we are likely to be after with one of our second rounders). Is O'Brien that far ahead of the othed outside types on quality or is it more even than people suggest?

In unrelated matters where would you put Spargo pick wise-will his height drop him down the order or are recruiters still very keen?

I don't think O'Brien's that far ahead of others like Matt Ling & Ryley Stoddart for example. It's pretty even with those guys, they're all 2nd round prospects for a reason.

Spargo somewhere between 20-40, would expect closer to 40 than 20. But at 171.6cm it makes it interesting.

How confident are you with these picks a month out?

Pretty confident - but things will change. But it'll be similar names -- the hardest two clubs are WB & WCE for me.

Bishop - love your work mate.
Is there any possibility the Saints take O'Brien with 7 or 8? Seems a reach based on your analysis but he seems to be exactly what we're after.

No - they won't take him that early.

I don't think O'Brien's that far ahead of others like Matt Ling & Ryley Stoddart for example. It's pretty even with those guys, they're all 2nd round prospects for a reason.

Spargo somewhere between 20-40, would expect closer to 40 than 20. But at 171.6cm it makes it interesting.

Pretty confident - but things will change. But it'll be similar names -- the hardest two clubs are WB & WCE for me.

No - they won't take him that early.
Do you think Lochie O'Brien will be available at Norths pick 23? Would be a great fit for us if he gets through.

50/50 good chance. But maybe Brisbane at Pick 18 could grab him? Hard to say - but he'd be perfect. Think North are keen on Tim Kelly too - so if they want him they'd have to take him then.

Bishop who would you say is the best small forward prospect in this draft? Is it Higgins although we've seen him up the ground? Or is a guy like Miers, or anyone else? Cheers

It's funny because none of the small forwards have "elite" speed, so there isn't really a small forward likely to feature in the first few rounds with speed: unlike past years (Rioli, Ainsworth etc).

Higgins the best for me, he has smarts/quick hands and a very good goal sense. Miers is similar - but the set shot technique on him is questionable...

50/50 good chance. But maybe Brisbane at Pick 18 could grab him? Hard to say - but he'd be perfect. Think North are keen on Tim Kelly too - so if they want him they'd have to take him then.
Tim Kelly would be a fantastic pickup. Looking at 23, I'd be taking Kelly ahead of most who would be available around that point, with the exception of O'Brien and possibly Noah Balta as a Jarrad Waite replacement who imo has close to the biggest upside out of anyone. This draft in general looks very speculative from the late first round on though, and Kelly is guy who fills lots of our needs and could step into Swallow's role from round 1 next year.

Lochie O'Brien has been discussed on the Swans board as a potential for pick 14 but one of the posters pointed out that even for an outside player his contested possessions is extremely low, as in he seems incapable of it, or close to it. Would this be an accurate reflection because even for outside players it is important they can win contests when they need to?

Hey Bishop, having watched a bit of u18 footy this year I have a theory that the key defenders are where the top value in this draft lies. I see Naughton, Balta (I think he'll be a defender at the next level), Clavarino and Petty all having really solid AFL careers. Wondering what you make of the above group in comparison to the rest of the crop?

Bishop, thoughts on Tyler Brown?

The Pies will get him, but are they paying a third round pick for him or will clubs be nice and let him drift?

I reckon around the 60s mark he gets a bid. Come on in the latter half of the year, after a slow start. Has smarts - different player to Callum.

Lochie O'Brien has been discussed on the Swans board as a potential for pick 14 but one of the posters pointed out that even for an outside player his contested possessions is extremely low, as in he seems incapable of it, or close to it. Would this be an accurate reflection because even for outside players it is important they can win contests when they need to?

Yep definitely - his hard ball get numbers in the TAC Cup are pretty high however - so he can win the one-on-one contests. From everything I hear, Swans won't be considering O'Brien at 14.

Hey Bishop, having watched a bit of u18 footy this year I have a theory that the key defenders are where the top value in this draft lies. I see Naughton, Balta (I think he'll be a defender at the next level), Clavarino and Petty all having really solid AFL careers. Wondering what you make of the above group in comparison to the rest of the crop?

I think Naughton & Petty will have solid careers. Balta could be boom or bust in my view. I think he's a defender too at the next level, has a lot of developing to do - but one I think can make it.

Clavarino I have concerns over, at times he's timid/soft - and he drops a lot of marks. One List Manager said at the start of the year they wouldn't draft him. So it's definitely a concern.

I think with every draft there is also tall defenders taken all the way through the draft & this year it's nothing different. Only Naughton seems to be the only tall defender (bar maybe Brander) taken inside the top 20.

Cheers bishop. Makes sense regarding Claverino, I respect the fact you call a spade a spade regarding timidness. On the same note do you have a concern over stephenson? I still think he should be a top 10 pick, but have seen him be less than committed at times.

Bishop,

If Higgins is viewed as pure small forward, who would he be comparable too??

Thanks

Bishop put yourself in the shoes of the club recruiter
You have #16 and you have to make a choice Ed Richards or Patrick Naish

Then 2nd question you have #17 Richmond
Bulldogs bid on Naish but Brander is still available do you take Naish or take Brander

It's funny because none of the small forwards have "elite" speed, so there isn't really a small forward likely to feature in the first few rounds with speed: unlike past years (Rioli, Ainsworth etc).

Higgins the best for me, he has smarts/quick hands and a very good goal sense. Miers is similar - but the set shot technique on him is questionable...
Dylan Moore??
I've liked what I've seen, seems very consistent with his performances right across the season.

Dylan Moore??
I've liked what I've seen, seems very consistent with his performances right across the season.
Very small, but he can play. I like lachy fogarty a fair bit, closes the gap on tackles as fast as anyone I've ever seen. Has a touch of the luke dalhous anout him but with better skills i reckon.

Not sure it's obvious - I still reckon Cerra could be off the board & they are far from certain picking Stephenson. They've shown interest in Fogarty with a few people linking him there as of late.

I'd take Cerra at 4 - better player for me. Stephenson has some kicking issues on the run & as an outside midfielder there's others I like over him. Cerra is a smooth mover who I reckon would've been No.1 if he played a full season.

I think that Pick 15/18 is hard as the best midfielders are probably off the board - especially the inside midfielders. Petruccelle might be the only inside mid available there > but even then it's maybe a touch too early. Outside mids like Ling/O'Brien/Stoddart etc are more 2nd round types - but the Lions could grab LOB at 15-18 type of thing.

Worpel won't be taken that early. He's a third rounder. Miers possibly a chance.

Suns hold pick 19 - if Ed Richards is there they will take him, same with Nathan Murphy if either get through. (more unlikely for Murphy than Richards).
They love the outside.

Thanks a lot. May I ask what you have heard though? Are the Swans interested in a specific type of player?

Reckon it'll be one of Constable or Murphy at the Swans selection. Maybe Hunter Clark another name to keep an eye on.

Bishop who have you heard the saints are after?

Think they take Bonar if he's there - they've interviewed Brayshaw a lot I'm told, so if he's there they probably take him. Hard selections cause it could fall a lot of ways in front of them. Pretty much any of the top 7-8 could fall in any order. Only players I don't expect to get to the Saints picks are LDU, Dow & Rayner.

Cheers bishop. Makes sense regarding Claverino, I respect the fact you call a spade a spade regarding timidness. On the same note do you have a concern over stephenson? I still think he should be a top 10 pick, but have seen him be less than committed at times.

I've got Stephenson closer to 10 than 1. I still liked him as a forward, as an outside mid I have some question marks. But long time I think he'll be right. I haven't seen any real timid moments. It's a lot easier to spot with the talls.