Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

Did someone seriously say something negative or critical of Liam Ryan in the presence of StCicatriz? :eek:

Just a moment while I get my seat please....

OK, now I'm ready, please continue!

Iiitttssssss tiiiimmmmmmeeeeee

HERE WE GO!

Im curious as to why you have the Dogs taking Naughton at #9 given the number of key defenders on the list as well as them bringing in Trengove via free agency.

I think that the FWD/MID position needs bolstering with Picken and Dickson getting older. I reckon if Bonar is still available at #9 he would be a perfect replacement for Stringer. If not Higgins would be my next choice.
I'd take Murphy over Higgins but I agree it's an area of need.

Hi bishop,

What can you tell us about Fogarty’s character and work ethic?

Also do we have any endurance testing results from him prior to injury? Starting to think the saints should pull the trigger if he makes it to us at 7/8

Hi bishop,

What can you tell us about Fogarty’s character and work ethic?

Also do we have any endurance testing results from him prior to injury? Starting to think the saints should pull the trigger if he makes it to us at 7/8

Not expecting Saints to pull the trigger from what I hear. I'm not a fan personally.

Think his character is pretty good, work ethic from a games point of view was pretty poor - especially watching him closely in games this year. Whether injured affected him yes or no, but kids play injured all the time and are still willing to defend and retreat to the D50 and exit D50 on transition.

Fogarty - 12.10 beep in the AFL Academy earlier in the year.

Not expecting Saints to pull the trigger from what I hear. I'm not a fan personally.

Think his character is pretty good, work ethic from a games point of view was pretty poor - especially watching him closely in games this year. Whether injured affected him yes or no, but kids play injured all the time and are still willing to defend and retreat to the D50 and exit D50 on transition.

Fogarty - 12.10 beep in the AFL Academy earlier in the year.
No worries thanks mate. So they are keen on Coffield, Brayshaw, Clarke and Bonar? I heard somewhere we really liked Naughton. You heard this?

Not too sure about the Naughton link. But yeah others. Think Brayshaw/Bonar most likely.
You always did get a Bonar over Brayshaw you menace.

What % chance would you give LDU sliding to fourth? Should I give up all hope? There's a small part of me that wants to believe that anything is possible.

Remember when Petracca was all but a certainty to go number 1? Things happen, especially as we are still 3 weeks away from draft night. There could very well be some late bolters that push certain players down the draft order. That being said LDU could also just as easily be the number 1 pick.

what do you think and rate of Connor Ballenden ? seems good talent FF ruck best position

I have Connor rated at 24 in my rankings. Had a poor year. Best position is FF out of the goalsquare, think he can provide some chop out in the ruck. But if he can improve his endurance/bring down his skinfolds, should be a decent footballer.

Hey Bishop. I'm starting to warm to Constable at pick 9 after some convincing on our board. He seems to split opinion, but I see you rate him highly, what do you see in him?

Constable is arguably the cleanest player by hands in the stoppages. His clearance work is first class and very regularly he is able to pick the ball up from ground level or by a handball receive and pass it off to a teammate effectively. He hardly ever fumbled in the U18 Champs, at times when a lot of kids did.

In close he probably opts to handball out of a stoppage rather than kick - but there's nothing wrong with that. His decision making is first class and he's a good right foot kick.

While he doesn't have the athletic traits, his footy IQ is great & he is just a "pure footballer"

Dogs have met with Constable a fair bit lately, so there is some mail there.

Brayshaw likely at 5?

Freo's picks hard to get a bearing on - think they go two of Dow/Cerra/Brayshaw/ + maybe Naughton, but some mail say no & say say yes.

Why can't someone upload the all star game from this year?!!!

Won't be happening, the AFL took the game down and won't be putting it online.

Probably about 10%. I think he's the no.1 pick - only way I could see is if BL: Dow, FREO: Cerra, CARL: Rayner, NTH: LDU

Hey Bish,

Currently torn between Clark and Constable for Carlton's #10...Interested to hear your thoughts on how they develop into the AFL.

How would you compare them? Will both become full-time mids? I know of Constable's poor testing pre-season, but is there any records on Clark?

Thanks as always mate.

Hey Bish,

Currently torn between Clark and Constable for Carlton's #10...Interested to hear your thoughts on how they develop into the AFL.

How would you compare them? Will both become full-time mids? I know of Constable's poor testing pre-season, but is there any records on Clark?

Thanks as always mate.

I think Constable will develop into the better players, whilst Clark's hands on the inside are very good - I just reckon Constable is more damaging with his footy IQ and kicking skills.

Think Constable most likely to be full-time inside mid, know a few people have ? marks on Clark playing inside mid against bigger bodies, but reckon he'll get there. I haven't got testing stuff on him - but I'll have a closer look in my folders on my laptop for data.

I think Constable will develop into the better players, whilst Clark's hands on the inside are very good - I just reckon Constable is more damaging with his footy IQ and kicking skills.

Think Constable most likely to be full-time inside mid, know a few people have ? marks on Clark playing inside mid against bigger bodies, but reckon he'll get there. I haven't got testing stuff on him - but I'll have a closer look in my folders on my laptop for data.
Cheers. Do you think a midfield brigade consisting of Cripps, Kennedy and Constable is too immobile and one-paced? That would be my only hesitation when picking him.

Cheers. Do you think a midfield brigade consisting of Cripps, Kennedy and Constable is too immobile and one-paced? That would be my only
hesitation when picking him.

If that’s your only hesitation, then the answer is clear.

Pick him if he is still available.

Cheers. Do you think a midfield brigade consisting of Cripps, Kennedy and Constable is too immobile and one-paced? That would be my only hesitation when picking him.

No I don't think so. You're not going to have 40 centre bounces where the three attend all 40 - lot of players run through the centre bounces etc.