Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Bishop

Newman was listed at Dragons a month ago, then pulled out.
Won't play TAC despite the opportunity.
Highly unlikely to pursue draft nomination.

Murphy has played and will now play the balance of the season at Dragons. As for Sutherland - that is anyone's guess.

Yep cricket definitely ahead in the race for Newman, would've been good to see him slot in over the holidays but understand why he pulled out.

Out of curiosity, does anybody go to the ACC?

Clubs do watch certain players throughout the season at ACC, games involving St Joeys generally have a scout or two attend - Matt Ling a possible Top 10 is a St Joey's boy that would've been watched.

I saw the ACCC GF the other week between St Bernards and St Bedes & it wasn't flash. Herald Sun Shield semis normally watched by a handful of clubs.

Yep cricket definitely ahead in the race for Newman, would've been good to see him slot in over the holidays but understand why he pulled out.

Clubs do watch certain players throughout the season at ACC, games involving St Joeys generally have a scout or two attend - Matt Ling a possible Top 10 is a St Joey's boy that would've been watched.

I saw the ACCC GF the other week between St Bernards and St Bedes & it wasn't flash. Herald Sun Shield semis normally watched by a handful of clubs.
I thought there was a Whitefriars prospect too.

Yep Nick Coffield, same theory with Noah Balta & St Bernards. Just used Matty Ling as an example.

What are the odds of Sutherland choosing AFL? And is he good enough to make it if he chose cricket?

I reckon it's 70 footy: 30 cricket, but I get told different things every week from his mates and close people to the situation. Is he good enough to make it at cricket, speaking to a mate on the Bushrangers list it'll be hard as an all-round as he's just ok at both. But not a star.

I've watched 2 'public' school games this year - all of which have been Grand Finals and they have been absolutely worthless. Standard was worse than the worst APS or AGS schools going at it.

APS is ahead of AGS on standard, but public competitions are so far back.

At one of the two public school games there was 3 scouts watching - one club recruiter who I know well left at Half Time and suggested I did the same.

At the other public school game there was 1.

And we aren't talking about head recruiters, mostly the part-time blokes.

Haileybury are renown for giving out the most scholarships in the sporting scheme, and it's no surprise they will win the APS competition this season. Games of APS/AGSV footy are heavily attended and watched by every club.
That is kind of what I was expecting since most of the public school teams are made up from boys that didn't make it to a TAC side.

Can you give us a short run down on L.Fogarty and Petruccelle? Fogarty's kicking seems elite.

What schools made the Herald Sun Shield semis this year, when are they played and who do you expect to win?

Mackillop, St Bernards, EKC & St Pats - played in a few weeks. No idea who will win don't follow it at all.

Can you give me your thoughts on the Stingray's current crop and where the players are at i.e. Claravino, Clark, Davies-Uniacke, Darling, De Koning and anyone else that I've missed. Also who from the Stingrays are a chance to get drafted next year?

Plenty of good players at Stingrays

Clav: 35+ KPD, picks and chooses when he wants to mark the ball and has been so-so this year. More just a third tall/second tall shut down type for me.

Clark: 15-25, I like him as an inside midfielder but played a bit off HBF/OM which I don't reckon is his go. Kicking and decision making needs work.

Davies-Uniacke: 1-5, inside midfielder who has had a poor few weeks in the Under 18 Championships. Wins the footy and can use it reasonably well on either foot.

Darling: 40+ out for the season with ACL, interesting to see how clubs view him.

De Koning: Undrafted for me, clean below ground level but marking ability needs a bit of work. Problem is he has kicked all his goals in the past when it was a weak TAC Cup comp with no school kids etc

Sam Fletcher: 2018 draft, out for the season with a kidney issue I'm told

Bailey Williams: Looms as a first rounder in 2018 - if not a top 10 next year. Huge leap, great ruck and forward. Moves well for a tall.

Can you give us a short run down on L.Fogarty and Petruccelle? Fogarty's kicking seems elite.

L.Fogarty HFF/midfielder, 179cm so probably going to have to be a forward at the next level. Has tricks, smart footballer. Above average kick (not elite)

Petruccelle Inside midfielder, fastest player in the draft and uses it on multiple occasions when he gets a chance. Great leap and overhead mark. One skill he lacks is his kicking.

His main issue with his kicking is it lacks penetration massively. At AFL level, those loopy kicks will get picked off constantly.

Will get an update going soon after I take in the champs after an average day at Simonds. Fair to say only 1 game was decent draft quality wise this year and that was Vic Metro v Vic Country.

Don't be surprised to see a certain big name outside the top 10 - he's been woeful in the U18 Championships.

Plenty of good players at Stingrays

Clav: 35+ KPD, picks and chooses when he wants to mark the ball and has been so-so this year. More just a third tall/second tall shut down type for me.

Clark: 15-25, I like him as an inside midfielder but played a bit off HBF/OM which I don't reckon is his go. Kicking and decision making needs work.

Davies-Uniacke: 1-5, inside midfielder who has had a poor few weeks in the Under 18 Championships. Wins the footy and can use it reasonably well on either foot.

Darling: 40+ out for the season with ACL, interesting to see how clubs view him.

De Koning: Undrafted for me, clean below ground level but marking ability needs a bit of work. Problem is he has kicked all his goals in the past when it was a weak TAC Cup comp with no school kids etc

Sam Fletcher: 2018 draft, out for the season with a kidney issue I'm told

Bailey Williams: Looms as a first rounder in 2018 - if not a top 10 next year. Huge leap, great ruck and forward. Moves well for a tall.

L.Fogarty HFF/midfielder, 179cm so probably going to have to be a forward at the next level. Has tricks, smart footballer. Above average kick (not elite)

Was a real fan of Clavarino last year. Thought he was great at last years Champs.

Still think he can make a KPP at AFL level. Has a lot of good ingredients although he was disappointing a bit the last week when not being strong under the marking contest.

Zac Bailey looked a real player. Took on a more rated midfield and beat them with intensity and class.

Brander and Sutherland shown enough to be in my Top 5 easily. Big upsides, and have the attributes of perfect size, ability and competitiveness.

Was a real fan of Clavarino last year. Thought he was great at last years Champs.

Still think he can make a KPP at AFL level. Has a lot of good ingredients although he was disappointing a bit the last week when not being strong under the marking contest.

Zac Bailey looked a real player. Took on a more rated midfield and beat them with intensity and class.

Brander and Sutherland shown enough to be in my Top 5 easily. Big upsides, and have the attributes of perfect size, ability and competitiveness.

Bailey very good player - I have him just outside my top 30.

Brander and Sutherland inside my top 10.

Will get an update going soon after I take in the champs after an average day at Simonds. Fair to say only 1 game was decent draft quality wise this year and that was Vic Metro v Vic Country.

Don't be surprised to see a certain big name outside the top 10 - he's been woeful in the U18 Championships.
Fogarty or LOB?

What's your view on Brayshaw? I thought he was terrific in both the televised games. Clean, hardly missed a target, quick and evasive. Can he play midfield?

Efficiency numbers poor too. Short kicks were putrid today.
Although I agree 100% with the knock on his kicking, his biggest issue IMO is his game sense. Seems lost at this level. Heard the same from others, whom I really respect, who have watched him closely and believe he's been the same at TAC level.

What's your view on Brayshaw? I thought he was terrific in both the televised games. Clean, hardly missed a target, quick and evasive. Can he play midfield?

Does a bear crap in the woods?