Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Bishop

Interesting prospect, thanks. Is it true that he tested at 2.89sec for the 20m sprint and if so, does it show when he plays, as that is seriously moving!?

Also, if you had two picks in the 7-10 range and had similar needs to us, would you be looking to trade up to 1, or a top 5 pick, happy to stay in the 7-10 range with two picks, or looking to perhaps trade one of the 7-10 picks and maybe a later pick (if needed) for a couple of teens picks, giving you one top 10 and two between say 14-18?

Correct ran 2.892 - you can see it when he plays. Has a burst especially in defence which gives him good closing speed.

I'm always a big fan of double dipping with two picks inside the first round - but for St Kilda personally I really think they need to bring something in. Lots of fans thought they'd play finals this year - but they clearly aren't good enough. Will bringing in a Rayner/Coffield/Stephenson type etc really make much difference in the premiership window which is coming? Maybe not - they need to get in an A grade player that's ready to play in my view. Josh Kelly is that name - but likely stays from what I hear.

* Long post alert, please ignore if not interested in reading about St Kilda's progress in response to Bish's post.

The thing with us this year is that to take the next step with our harder draw and play finals (after finishing 9th by percentage and two wins clear of the bottom 9 teams last year), we needed most of the older ones who performed well last year to have similar type years this year, for the young ones like Billings, Acres, Dunstan, Sinclair and co to step up to a new level and for the 4 additions (Carlisle, Steele, Stevens and Brown) to really add to our team, but only two of those 3 things happened.

The one that didn't was the first. The older ones who have generally led/carried the team in recent years collectively had significantly worse years this year, for various reasons (mostly injury).

Of the top 11 in our B&F last year, 7 of them had significantly worse years this year (incl 3 of the top 4, plus two others who played a combined 2 games) and an 8th had a worse year, and all 8 of them are 25yo or older, so when you have 8 of the top 11 in your B&F from the previous year- who are all 25yo+- having worse years, or not playing, it makes it a hell of a lot harder to improve enough to overcome a harder draw and much more fierce competition to play finals.

We have arguably improved in spite of all that though (same no of wins so far, higher %, 50 more scoring shots, wins interstate, etc) and most of that improvement has come from our 26yo and under group, so just as long as we add some really good talent to our list for next year, I'm not that fussed if it comes from the draft, or a trade/FA.

If we grab two of the top 10 talents in the draft this year and then land a big fish next year instead, for instance, then all it will cost us is 12 months, but in the long run our window will hopefully be open longer, and be wider from about 2-3 years from now.

There are pros and cons either way IMO. With Roo and Joey no longer any chance of being part of that window there's no mad rush IMO, as Steven is now the oldest one that I see as absolutely vital to our next push, and he's only 27yo.

Our next flag push will be mostly built around the likes of Billings, Ross, Steele, Gresham, Membrey, Bruce, Sinclair, Dunstan, Acres, Newnes, Webster, Longer (all 12 best 22 at present) and injuries permitting, McCartin, Goddard and Freeman, and they're all 24yo or younger, so I'm OK with being patient and continuing to build through the draft, if need be.

I wouldn't knock back Dusty through FA and costing no picks though! :p

Might wait for another fortnight- want to see some of the Country kids that I haven't seen since the Champs. If I was to update it now, there probably hasn't been a lot of changes for me. The only players I'd push up would be Nathan Murphy who I'd have pushing the top 20 and Ed Newman inside my 35.

Is Ed starting to push into first round calculations?

Not just yet - still waiting on a decision whether it's footy or cricket too. Have him pegged as a 2nd rounder at the moment. Great left foot kick, clearance work good on the inside. HBF/IM his go.

Bish
What would be your thoughts if Rayner was passed on by the two QLD teams and fell to Carlton's pick three?
Would you say Rayner is simply too good to pass up on, even if one of Dow/LDU/Cerra was available seeing as Carlton desperately needs a midfielder? thanks

I think both Brisbane teams will overlook him.

He'll be in the mix for their pick - but he isn't a pure midfielder. I still think the Blues need an inside midfielder and I'd be targeting LDU (let's say Cerra & Dow are off the board). I also think they'll consider Charlie Constable as a similar player to Patty Cripps on the inside.

I do rate Rayner at 1 - but I don't think he's too good to pass up. Considering BL & GC do in my example - Rayner still does have his weaknesses (as do every player) but if they want a full time midfielder he isn't the man, but if the Blues want an exciting Fwd-Mid in the Robbie Gray/Christian Petracca mould, he's the guy.

I think both Brisbane teams will overlook him.

He'll be in the mix for their pick - but he isn't a pure midfielder. I still think the Blues need an inside midfielder and I'd be targeting LDU (let's say Cerra & Dow are off the board). I also think they'll consider Charlie Constable as a similar player to Patty Cripps on the inside.

I do rate Rayner at 1 - but I don't think he's too good to pass up. Considering BL & GC do in my example - Rayner still does have his weaknesses (as do every player) but if they want a full time midfielder he isn't the man, but if the Blues want an exciting Fwd-Mid in the Robbie Gray/Christian Petracca mould, he's the guy.
There's only one Brisbane team!

If neither of the Qld teams (especially GCS) want to risk drafting Rayner, but rate him higher than the others, it wouldn't surprise me if they traded their pick and a later one for our picks 7 and 8, if we still have them.

They probably won't get someone as good at 7 as they would with 1/2, but they're very likely to get someone better at 8 than they would with say a pick in the early 20's, so they may like that option.

Gold Coast in particular have so many picks in the 20's that I imagine they'd be very keen to move one of them up into the top 10.

Bishop

Is there anywhere you can find if TAC players were reported for striking etc?
Looked to be a couple of Cannons players names put in the book by the umps yesterday, one in particular for striking Lloyd Meek.

Bishop

Looked to be a couple of Cannons players names put in the book by the umps yesterday, one in particular for striking Lloyd Meek.

I was at the game as well. Fair to say it was a good tussle. One player for Cannons reported only, not sure if any GWV players reported, guess that's a matter for the tribunal.

Thought Aiden Domic was the pick of the bunch for GWV. Wellings, Lloyd and Delaney solid contributors too. For Cannons, Riccardo, Caluzzi, Bytel, Landt and Taylor strong. Good game.

Bishop

Not sure they publicise them, they normally get circulated early in the week however.

I think it was Oscar Clavarino who will go in the book for a strike (or two) on Nathan Murphy in the third term on Saturday.

Most of the stuff gets thrown out so we'll see.

Thought Aiden Domic was the pick of the bunch for GWV. Wellings, Lloyd and Delaney solid contributors too. For Cannons, Riccardo, Caluzzi, Bytel, Landt and Taylor strong. Good game.

Brass monkey territory yesterday, bitterly cold and that wind. Brrrrrrr.

I thought Domic was easily the best for the Rebels too, Wellings had more of it but Domic more damaging with his speed and run and carry, Flynn Appleby again great in defence and has added more run to his game lately as well as his shut down roles, could be a smoky for the draft.

For the Cannons toss up between Benacki and Bytel for best with Caluzzi also very good. Even though Balta kicked 3 goals didn't really impress yesterday.
Rhylee West also showed flashes of top end talent.

Not sure they publicise them, they normally get circulated early in the week however.

I think it was Oscar Clavarino who will go in the book for a strike (or two) on Nathan Murphy in the third term on Saturday.

Most of the stuff gets thrown out so we'll see.
Pretty blatant the strike on Lloyd Meek.

Brass monkey territory yesterday, bitterly cold and that wind. Brrrrrrr.

I thought Domic was easily the best for the Rebels too, Wellings had more of it but Domic more damaging with his speed and run and carry, Flynn Appleby again great in defence and has added more run to his game lately as well as his shut down roles, could be a smoky for the draft.

For the Cannons toss up between Benacki and Bytel for best with Caluzzi also very good. Even though Balta kicked 3 goals didn't really impress yesterday.
Rhylee West also showed flashes of top end talent.

Bytel all class will easily go top 10 in next year's draft. Can't agree with you on Bernacki, no defensive side whatsoever IMO. Calluzzi looked his best all season. Landt not as Clean as usual but all smarts and massive defensive upside, great 100m chase down on the wing. Taylor ripe for next year

Bishop

On Hunter Clark do you see him still being around at Adelaide's pick hopefully very late 1st Round? ;)

Really impressed with his game here the other week, showed an excellent blend of inside/outside ball winning and run.....think there's every chance he could turn into one of the better players in this draft.

Is Charlie Thompson starting to push up draft boards now? 5 goals among 43 possessions against Bendigo and he's been performing consistently well all year. I can't quite believe that he didn't even make the state combine - he really doesn't appear to have too many weaknesses to his game. Major contributor to Carey's success this year at school level too.

Bishop

On Hunter Clark do you see him still being around at Adelaide's pick hopefully very late 1st Round? ;)

Really impressed with his game here the other week, showed an excellent blend of inside/outside ball winning and run.....think there's every chance he could turn into one of the better players in this draft.

What is for sure is that Inside Midfielder is his go, as I'd hoped for most of the year. Not an outside player nor a back pocket, because of his poor decision making/kicking.

Much better as a tough inside midfielder, who wins the ball in the contest and can get the ball inside 50. Has good clean hands in close.

I have him outside my top 10 - but reckon he's gone before the Crows Pick at 18 :D

Is Charlie Thompson starting to push up draft boards now? 5 goals among 43 possessions against Bendigo and he's been performing consistently well all year. I can't quite believe that he didn't even make the state combine - he really doesn't appear to have too many weaknesses to his game. Major contributor to Carey's success this year at school level too.

Have seen Thompson play about 10 times this year, hard to read anything into the Bendigo game on Saturday because they were woeful. Only a couple of clubs have shown interest but he's one of those players at the 180cm ish size that probably don't have a lot of X-Factor and are quite vanilla.

He is slow - and when clubs these days are looking for speed (especially out of a stoppage) - he isn't the man for that. I wouldn't be against taking him as a rookie, but gut feel says he's overlooked. But we'll see - finals can make and break players & that's the best time to perform.

What is for sure is that Inside Midfielder is his go, as I'd hoped for most of the year. Not an outside player nor a back pocket, because of his poor decision making/kicking.

Much better as a tough inside midfielder, who wins the ball in the contest and can get the ball inside 50. Has good clean hands in close.

I have him outside my top 10 - but reckon he's gone before the Crows Pick at 18 :D

Have seen Thompson play about 10 times this year, hard to read anything into the Bendigo game on Saturday because they were woeful. Only a couple of clubs have shown interest but he's one of those players at the 180cm ish size that probably don't have a lot of X-Factor and are quite vanilla.

He is slow - and when clubs these days are looking for speed (especially out of a stoppage) - he isn't the man for that. I wouldn't be against taking him as a rookie, but gut feel says he's overlooked. But we'll see - finals can make and break players & that's the best time to perform.

Mate I still struggle to come to terms with him not being on the radar...a 5 goal 43 possession game is a brilliant output. The Pioneers were genuinely disorganised and just have no structure or plan. A side with Brander, O'Brien, Schumacher, Daniels, Caldwell, Davis, B Henderson, D Henderson and Farrell should always be competitive. Higgins is a jet!

Bytel all class will easily go top 10 in next year's draft. Can't agree with you on Bernacki, no defensive side whatsoever IMO. Calluzzi looked his best all season. Landt not as Clean as usual but all smarts and massive defensive upside, great 100m chase down on the wing. Taylor ripe for next year

Love to hear more about Landt in the coming weeks, watched him show some positive signs in the championships and then went missing for the rest of the under 18's.

Thought he could be a sneaky rookie option.

Love to hear more about Landt in the coming weeks, watched him show some positive signs in the championships and then went missing for the rest of the under 18's.

Thought he could be a sneaky rookie option.

Saw him at Shepley oval round 5 and he was the complete package has had good games against Northern at Rams and again against Oakleigh a couple of weeks ago. Get onto some footage, definite potential.