Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

He has all the tools. Power, speed, agility, size. Clean hands, very good hands in close & tackles likes it nobodies business.

Watching him dig the ball out of congestion & getting his hands free to dish it off reminded me of Bont. He showed he has a good turn of speed kicking that goal as well.

If he goes outside the top 10 he's a bargain (which at this stage he likely does).
I thought his disposal was sloppy, I agree with the rest but he had an element of uncoordinated that probably comes from being out for a while and having grown during that time.

Bishop you hearing any rumours about who Crows are keen on (top or bottom end of draft)? Hoping we’re looking for mids and a KPD inside the first two rounds

I'm sure I don't need to explain the issues with the disposal efficiency stat to you Bishop.
Do you have a stat sheet for the game?

Bonar had 5 kicks - 2 effective, 3 ineffective
15 handballs - 13 effective, 2 ineffective

Had 11 contested possessions and five clearances. Mostly chose to go by hand from the stoppages and around the ground. I watched the game live, didn't have any issue with his performance. Thought it was his best for the season.

Bishop you hearing any rumours about who Crows are keen on (top or bottom end of draft)? Hoping we’re looking for mids and a KPD inside the first two rounds

Honestly, haven't heard a lot out of the Crows. I've seen just under 80 games, haven't seen a lot of the Crows guys (Ogilvie etc) this year to be brutally honest (bar the obvious Champs games etc) -- but to be fair, that could just mean they're at the other ground I'm at!

Know their current picks will be different to their picks in a few weeks time, so I'll see what I can find out after that.

Had 11 contested possessions and five clearances. Mostly chose to go by hand from the stoppages and around the ground. I watched the game live, didn't have any issue with his performance. Thought it was his best for the season.

Hi Bishop. I missed the all-stars game. What did you make of it? Were there any standouts?

Where are you expecting him to go mate? Could be the bargain of the draft I reckon.

Honestly, haven't heard a lot out of the Crows. I've seen just under 80 games, haven't seen a lot of the Crows guys (Ogilvie etc) this year to be brutally honest (bar the obvious Champs games etc) -- but to be fair, that could just mean they're at the other ground I'm at!

Know their current picks will be different to their picks in a few weeks time, so I'll see what I can find out after that.
there have been special circumstances this year

Hi Bishop. I missed the all-stars game. What did you make of it? Were there any standouts?

Thought Bonar, O'Brien,Ainsworth and Starcevich were 4 of the players who played 'better' than they have in other games this season.

I don't read a lot into the Exhibition games - very little defensive effort/structures. Some boys have had consistency playing in recent weeks, whereas some haven't played since early Sept/late August. Not to mention 4 of the best 5 kids not playing -- I'm not overly huge on Stephenson - but he was another who was good.

Some kids carrying injuries, some kids played last Sunday - so struggled to get up too.

Where are you expecting him to go mate? Could be the bargain of the draft I reckon.

Bonar 10-15 for me, but he's one that wouldn't surprise me to see inside the top 10. But reckon late 1st.

Have they just been standing guard at D.Fogarty's house all year and when he comes out the door just chant "Hold, Hold,Hold - not long to go now Darcy".

And then moving over to Edwards' house.

Bishop, when you do your phantom draft is it too much to ask you to do one for where you would take them and one where you think they will actually go based on what you've heard?

So a Power Rankings with clubs included?

My ranking of the players is in the 2nd post, phantom draft is in post 3.

I can add (BR) if that really helps in the next Phantom Draft - which I'll update post trade week.

Questions on a couple of kids that will go later in the draft for you Bishop:

Jack Roughsedge - been impressed with return given he wasn't expected to play any footy at all this year. Obviously still has plenty of work to do on his fitness, but do you see him getting picked up towards the back end of the draft??? What do you see as his strengths & weaknesses???

Andrew McPherson - probably one of the forgotten kids after missing the U18 Carnival with a quad. I like his speed, discipline and ball use. Do you see him as being a good fit for the Blues and where do you think he'll go.???

Questions on a couple of kids that will go later in the draft for you Bishop:

Jack Roughsedge - been impressed with return given he wasn't expected to play any footy at all this year. Obviously still has plenty of work to do on his fitness, but do you see him getting picked up towards the back end of the draft??? What do you see as his strengths & weaknesses???

Andrew McPherson - probably one of the forgotten kids after missing the U18 Carnival with a quad. I like his speed, discipline and ball use. Do you see him as being a good fit for the Blues and where do you think he'll go.???

I was a big fan of Roughsedge in 2015 & 2016 - I would've drafted him last year, but due to knee injury there was no way someone would take him in the draft & then for him not to play all season. Has recovered quicker than many at the Chargers expected. I reckon he's a good rookie option. He is a good ball winner and wins the contested football in the midfield. Disposal is pretty good. The injuries will be the big question mark - but I think he's over them at the moment.

McPherson I've been a big fan of since last year. I think it was the SA v WA game at Football Park which really caught my eye. Had him in the mix as a first rounder earlier in the year, but his constant injuries probably means he slips closer to a 3rd rounder. Good ball user, makes good decisions. Hard to judge him off limited viewing this year too - but I like what he brings. Can play anywhere from small defender to inside midfielder. Know Blues are keen on adding another HBF - but think it's more in a sense wanting a LF running defender in a Kade Simpson mould. They've got Pick 37, ideally they'd like Stoddart to be there - but gut feel is he's gone by then. McPherson would be a decent addition - as would Adam Saad if they went down that route in the terms of trade.

Any Collingwood rumours going around on who might be selected at 6, 36 and beyond? I'm really liking Coffield at our first selection personally.

Coffield the most likely at 6, maybe throw in Nathan Murphy. Know they'd like Ed Richards at 36 - but he's gone by then I think. Later picks are a raffle, clubs don't give much away with those.

Hey bishop
Are there any stats available for the all star game

AFL Draft Central have stats on their website.