Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

Hey Bishop, how strong is the Hayes to Freo rumour? They really that keen?

I don't think it's that strong, surprised that is got a run in the newspaper. Considering they took Darcy a tall last year well earlier than many expected - not sure they reach for a tall.

I thought for a long time Brander was their man at Pick 5 - but think that he could slide into the teens. Some clubs still view Hayes as a top 5 player - but I'm not sure those clubs would take a punt on him with a top 10. Some feel he's a KPF first, ruck second too.

I reckon Brayshaw is the man in their sights at Pick 5 - but I haven't heard anything 100% solid enough. Freo trading down too wouldn't be a surprise for me either.

I don't think it's that strong, surprised that is got a run in the newspaper. Considering they took Darcy a tall last year well earlier than many expected - not sure they reach for a tall.

I thought for a long time Brander was their man at Pick 5 - but think that he could slide into the teens. Some clubs still view Hayes as a top 5 player - but I'm not sure those clubs would take a punt on him with a top 10. Some feel he's a KPF first, ruck second too.

I reckon Brayshaw is the man in their sights at Pick 5 - but I haven't heard anything 100% solid enough. Freo trading down too wouldn't be a surprise for me either.
Cheers Bishop. Personally I'd be surprised if any talls go top ten. That's why I was suspicious of the rumour.

Hey Bishop just wondering how you rate Hugh Dixon from Tassie and do you believe that Darcy Fogarty could play as a KPF or is he only really a 3rd tall option?

Dixon 3rd round + - More of a late/rookie chance IMO. Can mark and kick the football, but his athletic stuff needs some work. Combine results for him might have some bearing on where he sits. For me though - unless the KPF is an elite top 25, they very rarely make it and I like to steer clear of those players.

Fogarty won't be a KPF at the next level, 3rd tall. Think Aaron Francis type.

Hey Bishop, how strong is the Hayes to Freo rumour? They really that keen?
The only one to peddle the rumour is Hagdorn who is historically poor on Fremantle information.
He was the first to call Wilson and Matera to Freo this year but that's almost certainly a result of his links to their manager Colin Young rather than Fremantle.
I made this post on the Fremantle board
I don't think there could be a convincing argument made for drafting Hayes

His forward craft isn't worth drafting him for (at least in the top 40)
The current game doesn't have room for 2 ruckmen
Will be behind Darcy until he's the better ruckman, which could be never
Vic metro boy who won't get games, will be stolen at the nearest available time
If we were going to spend a top draft pick on a ruck we would have done it last year on English
If we were going to draft a ruckman this year it'd be round 4 onwards

It's not even a convincing smoke screen so I doubt Haggers was fed this info by someone at the club for misdirection

Hi Bishop

If Hayes, Brander, Balta and Allen are still there at 15 who would you choose?

I'd take Hayes. The more pure tall for me. Ruck/KPF is something Richmond could do with developing. Brander CHB, Balta few ? marks where he best plays, Allen more of a 2nd-3rd tall.

Any guesses who's chatting to Ross in this photo? Ross is 183cm and they seem to be similar in height.
My best guess was Worpel but I'm not convinced
423826_ea586ce6e19f1fc042e5dd03f48a5ea6.jpeg
Dlaof1F.png

Is Paddy Dow a chance to slide to NMFC's pick 4? would be ideal.

I reckon Dow is the No.1 pick - but yes there is some chance he could be there at Pick 4. Can't see him getting past that though. He's a 1-4 range.

Conole mentioned Rayner LDU and Brayshaw as all chances for pick 1 so most likely Brisbane are looking at inside midfielders but you have us linked to Dow is he a gut feeling or are you hearing something

Lions (in particular Fagan) likes Brayshaw, but can't see him being the No.1 - still think Dow will be their man. He the most pure inside midfielder out of all of them in that group.

Any guesses who's chatting to Ross in this photo? Ross is 183cm and they seem to be similar in height.
My best guess was Worpel but I'm not convinced
423826_ea586ce6e19f1fc042e5dd03f48a5ea6.jpeg
Dlaof1F.png

Looks like Charlie Ballard or Harry Petty. Hard to tell without a better look to be honest, Brayshaw & Wooller the ones sitting down too I think.

Bishop what is your take on players testing privately at clubs that are not at the combines...just find it interesting.

There's a fair few I know of doing it - think from what someone showed me earlier in the year, 8 kids got taken last year in the national/rookie draft (or maybe it was just national) without getting a combine (national or state) invite.

Few guys have jumped on the scene later than others, few clubs try to keep kids under wraps so they don't nominate them for various combines and choose to just do private testing with the kid. Maybe someone caught the eye in the last two months of the season, that they didn't nominate.

Essendon for example have a large contingent doing testing in about a fortnight's time - every club approach it differently.

All in all, if they're still on clubs boards - they will want testing data on the players even if they're number 70 on their list of 70 prospects. They won't go in blind for some kids.

There's a fair few I know of doing it - think from what someone showed me earlier in the year, 8 kids got taken last year in the national/rookie draft (or maybe it was just national) without getting a combine (national or state) invite.

Few guys have jumped on the scene later than others, few clubs try to keep kids under wraps so they don't nominate them for various combines and choose to just do private testing with the kid. Maybe someone caught the eye in the last two months of the season, that they didn't nominate.

Essendon for example have a large contingent doing testing in about a fortnight's time - every club approach it differently.

All in all, if they're still on clubs boards - they will want testing data on the players even if they're number 70 on their list of 70 prospects. They won't go in blind for some kids.

Thanks mate..so how many would say Essendon have?

Hey Bishop,
Interested in oscar Allen as tigers need a young kpf. How has he gone post championships and how do you rate his athleticism, marking, leads and kicking?
I reckon if his height is the only concern to play kpf then he would be worth tigers first pick.

Francis has been plagued by other factors - homesickness, not a great training attitude etc. Think Fogarty will be alright but he certainly isn't a midfielder.
I just don't have an idea about where Fogarty will play at AFL level. I am thinking about a poor mans Darling?

If I was after a midfielder, there are a heap of names before him, if I want a forward, there are a few names ahead of him.
Yet we have people on BF and even Twomey saying he is high up in the ratings.