Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

No, I wasn't saying where he is from had anything to do with his draft position, more his unfashionable style.

At the moment he is a premiership player who starred on grand final day. His career is already a success, no matter what comes next.
He'll be very similar to the next Joel Selwood - In that he came into a premiership winning team as a 1st year player. He'll be the heart beat of that midfield in years to come once Cotchin gets a bit older. He cracks in and does a team role, and while not silky smooth like say a Kelly / Wells type, sometimes a heart and soul type player is more valuable for the team cause.

Hey Bishop, do you see anything weird about Collingwood delisting all their KPD depth, when it's pretty scant to begin with? Any chance they're going to draft a KPD with 6, or are they just playing funny buggers?
Edit: KPD not LOT.
Keeffe was playing mainly KPF for the year in the VFL and was woeful, and Schade while looked ok at the start of the year was horrid when he went back to VFL. While yes we have delisted some depth they won’t be hard to replace. Whether or not that’s at pick 6 it’s hard to say. From what we can gather so far we like Fog, Coffield and Cerra but Hine usually takes someone who’s rated 10-20 by most. So could look to boost our stocks later in the draft.

Hey Bishop, do you see anything weird about Collingwood delisting all their KPD depth, when it's pretty scant to begin with? Any chance they're going to draft a KPD with 6, or are they just playing funny buggers?
Picks 6 & 36 for Schache and pick 12.

Bish, we've gotta take Brander if he's there at 15. Reckon he will be? Steal of the century if so. (Or at least since Rance.)

I wouldn't say it's the steal of the century - certainly a lot of people I've spoken to think it's a chance that he'll be there at 15. Depends how picks fall in the rest of trade week of course.

Hey Bishop, which clubs might take Hayes and where do you think?

I couldn't see anyone in the top 10 taking Hayes - think Collingwood consider it, but not sure they will do it. I reckon Richmond at 15 seems like a good fit for a club requiring a ruckman. Again - we'll wait for the final picks come trade week. Maybe the Crows with one of their multiple 1st rounders. Hayes' running needs a lot of work though.

Hey Bishop

Do you think Liam Ryan will be picked up?

Will be interested to see his Yo-Yo test from today. Think of the WA clubs could take him - but I haven't heard anything to suggest he's a definite.

I don't expect them to go tall with Pick 6 at the moment. They delisted blokes who played mostly in the VFL - including Mitch McCarthy who was a true tall utility.

Morning Bishop

We've heard from various sources that Port is interested in Jackson Ross, Liam Ryan and Bailey Banfield. Any other whispers you have heard on prospects the port recruiters have their eye on?

I confirmed the Ross one about a month or so ago. I haven't heard anything solid on the last two though. Of course a few whispers going round - but nothing concrete at the moment. Just because they speak to them at the combine doesn't exactly mean a lot in terms of drafting. Will have a few more solid things closer to the draft.

Naughton and Balta both hit that pick nicely.

Balta won't be going at Pick 6.

Understood, but McKenzie & Schofield are nearing the end of their prime and aside from McGovern & Barrass - what's coming through?
How many key defenders does a club need?

The fact that McGovern and Barrass are already there suggests WC's first-rounder would be better used elsewhere.

If you can nail a 10+ year key defender who won't go home because home is in WA, you'd do that wouldn't you?
No. Not with the first pick when there are more pressing needs.

Should WC only draft kids from WA?

I don't expect them to go tall with Pick 6 at the moment. They delisted blokes who played mostly in the VFL - including Mitch McCarthy who was a true tall utility.

I confirmed the Ross one about a month or so ago. I haven't heard anything solid on the last two though. Of course a few whispers going round - but nothing concrete at the moment. Just because they speak to them at the combine doesn't exactly mean a lot in terms of drafting. Will have a few more solid things closer to the draft.

Balta won't be going at Pick 6.
No worries Bishop - i remembered you had good goss on Ross, thought I'd ask if you had heard anything more.

I guess after Rockliff, Motlop and maybe Watts too, i was getting greedy :p

I was originally going to say Schache and pick 18 for Collingwood's picks 6 & 36. Which would value Schache at pick 12, but very much doubt Collingwood go for that.
Brisbane are getting robbed with that.

Stringer +#20 for #6 should be the trade for collingwood

The top 6 kids are where you will find quality this year not in the 20's

Hi Bishop, what do you see the chances of anyone other than LDU/Rayner/Dow going top 3 being at this point? As a North man I'd love to see one of those guys still available at 4, reckon they are by far the best fits for our list going forward out of this draft.

Is Angus hicks from the Bushies a chance..very small but impressed when I watched him during season.Won the Bushies B&F

Unlikely. I wouldn't expect it.

Hi Bishop, what do you see the chances of anyone other than LDU/Rayner/Dow going top 3 being at this point? As a North man I'd love to see one of those guys still available at 4, reckon they are by far the best fits for our list going forward out of this draft.

I can't see any of them getting through to Pick 4. Stephenson the most likely at Norf.

I think BL are either LDU/Dow, GC Rayner & Blues take the other left out of LDU/Dow.

Parish for sure. Probably Worpel gonski

Hedge, i seem to rank Charlie Constable higher than yourself. Which is strange with your devotion to everything Sandy;)

I've got him firmly in the 6-12 range and reckon he will be snaffled there by a Club looking for a playmaker. Where does he sit for you now, and do you still think Murphy goes before him? I just get the feeling you're a tad cool on him and can't help but wonder why.

Hedge, i seem to rank Charlie Constable higher than yourself. Which is strange with your devotion to everything Sandy;)

I've got him firmly in the 6-12 range and reckon he will be snaffled there by a Club looking for a playmaker. Where does he sit for you now, and do you still think Murphy goes before him? I just get the feeling you're a tad cool on him and can't help but wonder why.

If Chook comes in at #12 in my phantom draft, then we are largely on the same level aren't we?

Murphy will get the benefit of the silly (but true) notion that players who haven't been regularly part of a TAC program - with 3 sessions a week over the course of 10 months - have greater "upside".

If I was in the school yard, I'd pick Constable ahead of Murphy for my scratch match team, but we all know AFL recruiting is well removed from such school yard shenanigans.

I wish I'd seen the Murphy that you seem to love, I wonder if I've missed those elite elements that make certain people rave about him.

Probably makes it tough for you in WA. No doubt Hedge and myself have seen him 10+ times. Gives some advantage over other watchers...

I wish I'd seen the Murphy that you seem to love, I wonder if I've missed those elite elements that make certain people rave about him.

Apparently the people that rave about him are the ones that really count on 24/11 i.e. the club recruiters.

I wouldn't be surprised if one of the two top 10 picks currently held by a club located Bayside (if still in their hands at 2.01pm on Tuesday) get used on him.

Doesn't mean I think they should, but they may very well do so.