Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

Bishop,

If Higgins is viewed as pure small forward, who would he be comparable too??

Thanks

Maybe Toby Greene a lot of people have suggested. Paul Chapman another which a few people I know like. I'm not big on player comparisons.

Bishop put yourself in the shoes of the club recruiter
You have #16 and you have to make a choice Ed Richards or Patrick Naish

Then 2nd question you have #17 Richmond
Bulldogs bid on Naish but Brander is still available do you take Naish or take Brander

I think #16 Dogs would be smart to take Richards. Naish might be their fall back if Richards gets taken.

I couldn't see them passing on Naish if Dogs pick at 16. If it came before Pick 12 or something they'd let it go - but not that close. Good chance Brander could still get through to their next pick. Don't think BL/GC would grab him. If Brander fails - Balta is another name they like and could take.

Dylan Moore??
I've liked what I've seen, seems very consistent with his performances right across the season.

Moore another "slow" small - runs a 3.14s 20m. Played a lot more inside mid than as a pure small forward. Brent Daniels probably the only small forward with elite speed, 2.95s at the combine. Ethan Penrith the only other small "forward" to crack the 3 second barrier at the combine.

Very small, but he can play. I like lachy fogarty a fair bit, closes the gap on tackles as fast as anyone I've ever seen. Has a touch of the luke dalhous anout him but with better skills i reckon.

Yep agree. I really like Lachie. Will be some value in the 2nd round somewhere. Tackles hard and does the 1%ers well. Pity he was sick all week at the Combine, as I reckon he would've done well.

pies won't take Nick Coffield he can only playback, Brander will go 6th he can play forward or back.

Pretty confidently can say I don't expect Pies to take Brander. If I had to bet, it's down to 3: Coffield, Bonar, Naughton for Pick 6. Even then I'd say it's more likely Bonar/Coffield than Naughton.

Feeling is they'll go hard at Tom Lynch next year or otherwise hit the draft where the talls are far superior to this year.

Reckon it'll be one of Constable or Murphy at the Swans selection. Maybe Hunter Clark another name to keep an eye on.

Think they take Bonar if he's there - they've interviewed Brayshaw a lot I'm told, so if he's there they probably take him. Hard selections cause it could fall a lot of ways in front of them. Pretty much any of the top 7-8 could fall in any order. Only players I don't expect to get to the Saints picks are LDU, Dow & Rayner.

I've got Stephenson closer to 10 than 1. I still liked him as a forward, as an outside mid I have some question marks. But long time I think he'll be right. I haven't seen any real timid moments. It's a lot easier to spot with the talls.
Is the Bonar Saints link based on what you’ve heard or more best available?

Hey mate what are your thoughts on the chances of freo or Collingwood going tall at 5&6 .. not looking so great at the moment ?

It's funny because none of the small forwards have "elite" speed, so there isn't really a small forward likely to feature in the first few rounds with speed: unlike past years (Rioli, Ainsworth etc).

Higgins the best for me, he has smarts/quick hands and a very good goal sense. Miers is similar - but the set shot technique on him is questionable...

Saw Higgins kick can't remember if it was 7 or 8 against Haileybury whilst he was in year 10. Thought to myself no matter what happens (obviously been very good at all levels he has played at since) at worst case he'd become a gun small forward. Think you're right

Some talk starting on the Brisbane board that we may be looking at Andrew Brayshaw at 1 and Oscar Allen at 15 or 18, depending who else is still on board those two later picks.

I've said for a long time on here that Fagan is a big fan of Brayshaw - but he doesn't make the call & only saw 2 of the best 5 play during finals when he focused on the 'draft'. All my sources still tell me that it's very unlikely they pick Brayshaw - between Dow/LDU.

I'll back my sources in high places over some other random posters on Big Footy.

If you were Collingwoods recruiter and had pick 6 who would you take if Rayner, LDU, Dow, Cerra, and Naughton are taken top 5?

Nick Coffield - best available for me. Very good player. Will be a top 10 pick.

Hey mate what are your thoughts on the chances of freo or Collingwood going tall at 5&6 .. not looking so great at the moment ?

Gut feel at the moment is neither go tall - the tallest Collingwood will go is 190cm with Coffield or Bonar I think.

Do you think Richmond did the right thing in the pick swap with Brisbane?
15 out for 20 & 25?

Don't think it makes such a difference, they were always going to match on Naish so whether that's at Pick 14 or Pick 16/19 now. Think they're happy to take picks this year in the 20s.

Hi Bishop, awesome work as always, what's your take on Brandon Starcevich (sorry if already asked before) ? Reckon he'll be available at Freos pick 42? Cheers.

A few WA posters that are solid sources of information are starting to change my mind on Starcevich, he could be off the boards from what I am hearing.

Hi Bishop, awesome work as always, what's your take on Brandon Starcevich (sorry if already asked before) ? Reckon he'll be available at Freos pick 42? Cheers.

Thought he was really impressive on Grand Final day. Not one that I have inside my top 40 names or so, but from what I hear he probably is taken in that 3rd round + range.

Do you think Richmond did the right thing in the pick swap with Brisbane?
15 out for 20 & 25?
It guarantees you three picks at a minimum. Holding picks 15 and 17 you were susceptible to an early bid on Naish and facing the prospect of "only" having two picks. If a bid doesn't come before pick 25, you get four new kids in to your club.

Hey Bishop....When are you going to update your final power-rankings, now that the final draft order is known?.....It's been almost 2 months since your last one.

Any mature age players in there such as Tim Kelly, Liam Ryan or Dom Barry?....I'd imagine that all 3 will get drafted.

It guarantees you three picks at a minimum. Holding picks 15 and 17 you were susceptible to an early bid on Naish and facing the prospect of "only" having two picks. If a bid doesn't come before pick 25, you get four new kids in to your club.

Won't happen....Naish's run, skill & clean ball-use & delivery makes him a clear top 20 pick.

Hey Bishop....When are you going to update your final power-rankings, now that the final draft order is known?.....It's been almost 2 months since your last one.

Any mature age players in there such as Tim Kelly, Liam Ryan or Dom Barry?....I'd imagine that all 3 will get drafted.

Sorry will get to it for Monday - been caught up doing a fair few things this week.

Won't happen....Naish's run, skill & clean ball-use & delivery makes him a clear top 20 pick.

Not sure what games of footy you've been watching - but his skill, decision making and ball use are poor.

How big of a mistake would it be if Freo went Cerra at pick 2? i.e they choose Cerra over LDU and Rayner.

No mistake at all. I think Cerra would've been the No.1 pick if he wasn't injured/had injuries this year.