Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

Haven't watched many video packages of Jack Petruccelle, but the short one on afl.com today looks impressive with his speed.

He was saying that he has a best 20 meter sprint of 2.67 seconds from his basketball days, it got me wondering do you know what the fastest ever officially recorded sprint time at the combines, TAC cup testing etc is Bishop ?

Haven't watched many video packages of Jack Petruccelle, but the short one on afl.com today looks impressive with his speed.

He was saying that he has a best 20 meter sprint of 2.67 seconds from his basketball days, it got me wondering do you know what the fastest ever officially recorded sprint time at the combines, TAC cup testing etc is Bishop ?

Fastest ones I have on record:
Seb Purcell - TAC Cup testing 2011: 2.73s
Luke Miles - WA State Combine 2007: 2.73s

Family friends with Nath Murphy and his folks. Reckon it would be hard for him leaving his family and if he does go interstate have a feeling he'll be back in Melbourne in a few years if he can make it. Don't really rate him a top 20 player like a lot of people do though which hurts to say

Pretty stupid opinion here. Completely false and far from the truth.

The fact that one interstate team is all but locked in to taking him should he get through to said pick - means that there's no concern about him going outside Vic.

Wouldn't be the first time an interstate team has picked a player who is a potential flight risk and tried to turn them around though.

Hey Bish, Who's Lloyd Meek and why is he 105+kg country Victorian ruckman noone is talking about that Fremantle will pick?
His highlights on the draft machine are intriguing, any notes would be appreciated.

Michael O'Loughlin didn't want to go to Sydney and look how that turned out.

Very different world now than it was in the 90's as it was much harder for young players to go home back then. These days it is quite easy for them to go home, and they will usually get what they want as well. If O'Loughlin knew that he could just request a trade to South Australia after a year or two, he probably wouldn't have even bothered trying to adjust to life in Sydney.

I think there is to a degree, but if the Lions were Hawthorn for example - I reckon they'd take him as the No.1 pick. Homesickness in the back of their mind & they want a pure mid.

Higgins likely gone - but not 100%.

Maybe a Gippsland Power lad such as Matthew McGannon or Cal Porter.
I know our scouts have spent plenty of time watching Gippy games...

Swans are apparently interested in Jordan Houlahan (though by the sounds of it we would need to use pick 14 to get him, as he won't be there by pick 32). What is he like as a player as I never heard of him until a few hours ago?

Medium forward, very good vertical leap. Can hit the scoreboard and boot goals.

Hey Bish, Who's Lloyd Meek and why is he 105+kg country Victorian ruckman noone is talking about that Fremantle will pick?
His highlights on the draft machine are intriguing, any notes would be appreciated.
Played for the GWV Rebels this year as a 19yr old after going undrafted last yr. Spent a lot more time on his forward craft this yr to compliment his ruck work. Very well built guy who has the body size to play in his first season if needed. Great character and has always been happy for a chat when I've seen him around. Suspect he'll go late in ND/rookie.

Sydney? GWS?

Us?

at least you don't have us getting O'Brien. not going to happen. murphy is also a stretch. constable is on the money.

Played for the GWV Rebels this year as a 19yr old after going undrafted last yr. Spent a lot more time on his forward craft this yr to compliment his ruck work. Very well built guy who has the body size to play in his first season if needed. Great character and has always been happy for a chat when I've seen him around. Suspect he'll go late in ND/rookie.

His ruck smarts are as good as anyone's in the crop. His hands at ground level are deceivingly good for a big man and he's a strong contested mark. For me it's his goal kicking which lets him down at times and is obviously not the most mobile, but I like how he's worked on his game and improved this year.

his below average production in a poor quality league?
If the draft was on production Jack Higgins would be pick 1 and Cassidy Parish and Charlie Thompson would be top 30 instead of looking like Rookie picks.

His workrate as a midfielder is poor especially his defensive running. Contested footy is also a question mark. I think you are drafting a talented Luke Ryan style defender the jury is out whether he can play midfield at AFL level for mine.
Too many people get obsessed with turning players into midfielders

If coffield turns out to be a combo of Brodie Smith ( athletically) / Andrew Mackie (skill set) and plays 250 off the half back line inc All Australian then who cares if he can play mid or not

That's a top 10 pick every day of the week

G'day.......what are your thoughts on Payne making it thru to the rookie list. Have you heard of any clubs interested in him. I am told 4 clubs must nominate u to get to the combine.