Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

Hi Bishop. Apologies if these questions have already been asked but I have a couple of Collingwood questions.

Firstly, do you have any thoughts or inside goss on who Collingwood will take with Pick 6? Last week Cal Twomey seemed to think that we would take one of Rayner/LDU/Dow/Cerra/Brayshaw if one of them slipped to 6 or Naughton, and I’ve also seen us linked to Murphy, Coffield and Fogarty.

Secondly, is there any mail on where Tyler Brown will be bid on if at all?

Swans are apparently interested in Jordan Houlahan (though by the sounds of it we would need to use pick 14 to get him, as he won't be there by pick 32). What is he like as a player as I never heard of him until a few hours ago?

Watched him a few times this year for a club. Has freakish abilities in the air and on the ground. Is very much a daniel menzel type for mine. Although not as good as Dan was pre-knees but then again I was so high on him that it will always be a tough comparison for mine. He has very very little forward pressure as a downside. Basically when he doesn't have it he is not interested so he will have to learn that especially if he heads to the swans. Was disappointed with his combine results re- jumping and honestly think he could have gone close to breaking the record if he was on form. Has brilliant hands and is one of the smoothest kicks for goal I have seen. Just a really natural goal kicker and if a club thinks they can teach/encourage/force him to add defensive pressure could be a seriously quality player in the future. One thing is for sure he will have one hell of a highlight reel if he makes it at the level!

Pretty stupid opinion here. Completely false and far from the truth.

The fact that one interstate team is all but locked in to taking him should he get through to said pick - means that there's no concern about him going outside Vic.

I understand that this is your thread but outrageously arrogant comment from you Bishop. The fact that a club could get it wrong and be deceived by a kid who feels the need to tell a club what they want to hear, either is a concept you cannot understand or you think clubs are infallible. Whatever the case, to put blind faith in the knowledge of clubs, and dismiss someone who may well be closer to the family and the kid than 3 interviews can ever make you, is at best dismissive and at worst just rude and arrogant.

If the draft was on production Jack Higgins would be pick 1 and Cassidy Parish and Charlie Thompson would be top 30 instead of looking like Rookie picks.
I didn't say it was only on production, but it definitely is taken into account. If he had the same production as a LDU or Dow then he'd be a top 10 pick but he doesn't and that's why he isn't.

I understand that this is your thread but outrageously arrogant comment from you Bishop. The fact that a club could get it wrong and be deceived by a kid who feels the need to tell a club what they want to hear, either is a concept you cannot understand or you think clubs are infallible. Whatever the case, to put blind faith in the knowledge of clubs, and dismiss someone who may well be closer to the family and the kid than 3 interviews can ever make you, is at best dismissive and at worst just rude and arrogant.

I can guarantee you as a fact that I'm closer to the situation than said "family friend" who came on here to spread sh!t.

Plenty of kids tell clubs they don't want to go interstate - but I can tell you that in this particular case, Murphy isn't one of them.

Hi Bishop, what are your thoughts on Gordon Narrier? I've really liked what I've seen of him, reckon he'd be a great fit at one of North's later selections with his mix of explosive pace and skill. Shown he can match it against senior bodies as well despite being very skinny, with 17 games at WAFL level.

EDIT- Aiden Domic is another who I like the look of but haven't heard much talk about.

I know Murphy too, as well as Bishop. I concur with Bishop’s sentiments and, whilst they could appear arrogant IF Bishop didn’t have the requisite “inside information”, the fact is he does and they are spot on. Nathan chose football over cricket and he isn’t fussed if he is drafted interstate or otherwise. He is a well balanced young man and takes everything in his stride.

I can guarantee you as a fact that I'm closer to the situation than said "family friend" who came on here to spread sh!t.

Plenty of kids tell clubs they don't want to go interstate - but I can tell you that in this particular case, Murphy isn't one of them.

So just so I can follow. Your argument is that a kid is unable to misdirect a club about his true feelings because other kids are happy to be more honest? Clubs don't ever get it wrong? Or is there an alternative argument that I am missing? Short of being his mother, brother, father or one of the kid's closest friends I am not sure how you can guarantee being closer to a kid than someone else.

I know Murphy too, as well as Bishop. I concur with Bishop’s sentiments and, whilst they could appear arrogant IF Bishop didn’t have the requisite “inside information”, the fact is he does and they are spot on. Nathan chose football over cricket and he isn’t fussed if he is drafted interstate or otherwise. He is a well balanced young man and takes everything in his stride.

Do you still believe Saints will grab him at 7/8?

I work with kids in a similar capacity to how you two obviously do and no matter how well I know some of them ( and some I have a very close relationship with) and have my "inside knowledge as you lablel it" I would never presume to know more than someone else who claims to be close to their family. I just think on this forum no matter how well connected you think you are, be it list manager, recruiter, player manager ect, it is presumptuous to claim you know more than someone else who you don't know at all apart from their big footy name.

Would love to hear some names Bish so I can pass them onto Ambrogio, Conole and co.;)

I work with kids in a similar capacity to how you two obviously do and no matter how well I know some of them ( and some I have a very close relationship with) and have my "inside knowledge as you lablel it" I would never presume to know more than someone else who claims to be close to their family. I just think on this forum no matter how well connected you think you are, be it list manager, recruiter, player manager ect, it is presumptuous to claim you know more than someone else who you don't know at all apart from their big footy name.

Give it up mate. People read this thread for Bishops opinion solely. He gave it succinctly and that's that.

Bishop

Do you see Jordan Butts getting drafted?
I liked what I saw @ the Championships given he's so young and has quite a bit of body development yet to come, I'd love to pick him up for the Crows late ND or rookie draft. Should he go undrafted given his age would you think he'd get another crack at TAC next year?

Bishop

Do you see Jordan Butts getting drafted?
I liked what I saw @ the Championships given he's so young and has quite a bit of body development yet to come, I'd love to pick him up for the Crows late ND or rookie draft. Should he go undrafted given his age would you think he'd get another crack at TAC next year?

I think he might get rookied - I remember watching him at Ikon Park last year in a game for the Bushies and he caught my eye.

If he's born a few hours later he'd be next years draft - I reckon he might find a home, he has plenty of scope for development - but I didn't think his champs and 2nd half of the year were that flash. I don't mind him in defence but he'll need plenty of time.

G'day.......what are your thoughts on Payne making it thru to the rookie list. Have you heard of any clubs interested in him. I am told 4 clubs must nominate u to get to the combine.

I think Payne will get a bid in the 3rd/4th round - not sure what club, but Lions will watch from what I'm told

Hi Bishop. Apologies if these questions have already been asked but I have a couple of Collingwood questions.

Firstly, do you have any thoughts or inside goss on who Collingwood will take with Pick 6? Last week Cal Twomey seemed to think that we would take one of Rayner/LDU/Dow/Cerra/Brayshaw if one of them slipped to 6 or Naughton, and I’ve also seen us linked to Murphy, Coffield and Fogarty.

Secondly, is there any mail on where Tyler Brown will be bid on if at all?

Gut feel is it's one of Naughton/Bonar/Murphy/Coffield - what order of preference, I'm not sure. Lot of feeling is it could be Murphy - they were the first to interview him back in July.

Think Brown will get a bid in the third or fourth round. He has some tricks and did some good things in school footy.

Hey bishop, do you think Hamish Bradshaw will get a go this year? Hoping suns grab him with a late pick or rookie

I know there's some interest as of late with Brisbane and Sydney two clubs I've heard. I've always said I thought he'd be a very good state league player, whether he gets to the AFL level - I'm not entirely sure.

Hi Bishop, what are your thoughts on Gordon Narrier? I've really liked what I've seen of him, reckon he'd be a great fit at one of North's later selections with his mix of explosive pace and skill. Shown he can match it against senior bodies as well despite being very skinny, with 17 games at WAFL level.

EDIT- Aiden Domic is another who I like the look of but haven't heard much talk about.

I thought Narrier was ok in the U18 Champs. I reckon his defensive stuff and endurance can be better. But there's no doubting he has speed and agility. Maybe rookie pick for me, but not one I'd take.

Domic I'm not a huge fan of. I think he could be a late pick/rookie - but isn't one I'd select. Lacks a bit of speed for me and I don't think his contested ball is as good as some make it out to be. His skills aren't superb either - there's other players I like that play a similar role for a late pick.

Anyone showing interest in Derek Smith, Bisho?

Not from what I hear. Expecting a rookie selection.

What are your thoughts on L O'Brien? Started the year as a top 10 pick but had a interrupted year with injuries.

I quite like him for Carltons pick 10

I wouldn't take him with Pick 10 - think he needs to win a little bit more of his own ball. Bit outside for my liking. But has some great traits in speed and endurance.

Hey Bishop, hoping you can help me out. Some one posted a short clip of Matthew Ling a couple of days a go, and for the life of my I can not find it here or on youtube. It's not his highlight clip.

It looks like the video was shot from high up in the stands, and shows ling running at full speed in to the middle of crowded midfield, collecting the ball at full speed and weaving his way out the other side, taking the ball diagonally across the field to 50, then kicking the ball inside 50.

To be fair Bishop he didn't say Murphy had told a club he didn't want to go interstate, he just said Murphy doesn't want to go interstate and would probably return eventually. It is plausible that Murphy (or a lot of players really) would prefer not to go interstate but don't tell clubs as they don't want to harm their chances of getting drafted.

Hey Bishop, hoping you can help me out. Some one posted a short clip of Matthew Ling a couple of days a go, and for the life of my I can not find it here or on youtube. It's not his highlight clip.

It looks like the video was shot from high up in the stands, and shows ling running at full speed in to the middle of crowded midfield, collecting the ball at full speed and weaving his way out the other side, taking the ball diagonally across the field to 50, then kicking the ball inside 50.

To be fair Bishop he didn't say Murphy had told a club he didn't want to go interstate, he just said Murphy doesn't want to go interstate and would probably return eventually. It is plausible that Murphy (or a lot of players really) would prefer not to go interstate but don't tell clubs as they don't want to harm their chances of getting drafted.

Lids2richo Post: #1899: "Family friends with Nath Murphy and his folks. Reckon it would be hard for him leaving his family and if he does go interstate have a feeling he'll be back in Melbourne in a few years if he can make it."

-- Tell me where something I've said isn't on the money. He's happy to go anywhere - interstate etc. There's no "flight" risk. As I said & as HedgeFund says - we're more in the "know" than this apparent family friend who insinuated he wouldn't be fine leaving Melbourne and would want to come home in a few years.

End of story - think it's irrelevant. He'll end up Pick 6-9 me thinks.