Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

Lids2richo Post: #1899: "Family friends with Nath Murphy and his folks. Reckon it would be hard for him leaving his family and if he does go interstate have a feeling he'll be back in Melbourne in a few years if he can make it."

-- Tell me where something I've said isn't on the money. He's happy to go anywhere - interstate etc. There's no "flight" risk. As I said & as HedgeFund says - we're more in the "know" than this apparent family friend who insinuated he wouldn't be fine leaving Melbourne and would want to come home in a few years.

End of story - think it's irrelevant. He'll end up Pick 6-9 me thinks.

Anyone drafted interstate is a flight risk to some extent. FWIW i wasn't disagreeing with you re Murphy at all just the broader concept that any player wouldn't be a flight risk because they told every club at interview that they were happy to go interstate. Players can and do lie in those interviews and given how clubs often treat players contract wise i don't blame them for doing that to clubs.

I also think he will probably go top 10 anyway.

Hi Bishop, you mentioned Brisbane were one of the clubs interested in Hammish brayshaw, do you think this could be because they are considering Andy with pick 1.. and want to draft the brothers together to minimise homesickness issues.

Oldest Brayshaw brother (doesn’t play footy) also lives in Brisbane.

Hey mate, thanks for all you hard work you've given a heap of insight and it's much appreciated.
Was wondering your thoughts on Mitch Podhajski as a late/rookie chance? I know not a heap is ever made of it but was FB in the tac team of the year and I liked his work at the championships

Bishop, I'm starting to see some phantom drafts with Jack Higgins pushing towards the end of the first round.

If he is still on the board at pick 17, do we grab him, then go tall with our next pick?

Bishop, I'm starting to see some phantom drafts with Jack Higgins pushing towards the end of the first round.

If he is still on the board at pick 17, do we grab him, then go tall with our next pick?
At 17 I think we should just take the best avaliable.
Pick for needs at 20 & 25 but it all depends on who is there i suppose

Unlikely to get there to Pick 15 - but I don't expect Richmond to take him. He doesn't fit their mould of small forwards - doesn't have "elite speed" and pressure numbers.

Hi Bishop,

Assuming that all of Naughton, Taylor, Petty, Balta are gone by 46 - which KPD's would be next in line? Would prefer a lockdown to an interceptor if given the choice.

Hi Bishop,

Assuming that all of Naughton, Taylor, Petty, Balta are gone by 46 - which KPD's would be next in line? Would prefer a lockdown to an interceptor if given the choice.
Butts, who Port are supposedly keen on.

Hey bishop. Who do you think is most likely for st kilda after Murphy? Stephenson or brayshaw if available? Clark also seems likely and is more a chance of being available I would say

Hard one to say - of course depends on who goes before them... Cards could fall a few different ways. I'd expect them to take one of Murphy/Bonar - the other being Brayshaw/Stephenson/Coffield/Clark.

Cmon Bish, got any more eagles goss, apart from Allen?

Also, what’s your view of Shipley?

Yes. Have long said in here, well before anyone else - that Chris Fagan is a big fan of Brayshaw. That'll count for something.
You wouldn't expect Chris Fagan to have much of a say on who we take on draft night would you?

Conole, Ambrogio and co would have been watching these guys for years, I wouldn't think Fagan would have seen too much of the draftees especially live.

Fagan would be more giving advice on what style of player we need, surely not a specific player. He's the type that delegates and shows trust in the expertise of who's job it actually is.

Yes. Have long said in here, well before anyone else - that Chris Fagan is a big fan of Brayshaw. That'll count for something.
Got to see both Brayshaw and LDU at Simonds... that would have been handy viewing for him.

Cmon Bish, got any more eagles goss, apart from Allen?

Also, what’s your view of Shipley?

Not a lot for the Eagles. They're very much into Noah Balta & they'll consider him with their picks in the 20s. Otherwise Liam Ryan/Tim Kelly seem two others there.

I'm not huge on Shipley. Don't have him inside my top 50.

You wouldn't expect Chris Fagan to have much of a say on who we take on draft night would you?

Conole, Ambrogio and co would have been watching these guys for years, I wouldn't think Fagan would have seen too much of the draftees especially live.

Fagan would be more giving advice on what style of player we need, surely not a specific player. He's the type that delegates and shows trust in the expertise of who's job it actually is.

He'll have his input - from what I'm told he's one of the coaches who keeps on top of it. Of course Conole + co have the final say, but there's definitely cases where the coach will be involved in the decision.

Speed is a big issue for Hugh. I've always said with KPF you either take them in the top 25 - or you don't touch them. I wouldn't touch Hugh. Speed will be hard for him to improve, while trying to drop some "puppy fat" and work on his endurance + having to build up some muscle.
Is that true?

“I did pretty well in the vertical leap and agility for my height [195cm]. I was quick compared to the other talls.

“I was hoping to be a bit quicker in the sprint but it was still pretty good for my size.”
http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...e/news-story/1ed535c3e6e70d23323d7e77f852b023

Not a lot for the Eagles. They're very much into Noah Balta & they'll consider him with their picks in the 20s. Otherwise Liam Ryan/Tim Kelly seem two others there.

I'm not huge on Shipley. Don't have him inside my top 50.

He'll have his input - from what I'm told he's one of the coaches who keeps on top of it. Of course Conole + co have the final say, but there's definitely cases where the coach will be involved in the decision.

What are you hearing on the rumour Shipley has been invited to the draft?