Bitcoin & Bitcoin Mining

I've got a bit put on Golem. It basically does whatever ETH does but is currently under 30c US. Strapping in for the long ride.

I am now officially the owner of some Ripple. Exciting stuff. :D

Will hold off on investing the full amount I planned to until I see how the price goes the next few days.

Good luck and try not to worry about the day to day price movements. I'm in it for the long haul with Ripple!

Since buying Ripple, the cryptocurrency world has gone insane. Bitcoin going for a staggering 4,050 USD per coin.

Really wish I looked closer at NEO around July 30 when I was making plans to buy Ripple. Was at 7 dollars and now at 49 dollars with no signs of it slowing down.

Managed to buy one a few days back as a bit of a laugh and have already seen a 30 dollar gain on my investment.

Crazy stuff happening right now.

https://coinmarketcap.com/

Since buying Ripple, the cryptocurrency world has gone insane. Bitcoin going for a staggering 4,050 USD per coin.

Really wish I looked closer at NEO around July 30 when I was making plans to buy Ripple. Was at 7 dollars and now at 49 dollars with no signs of it slowing down.

Managed to buy one a few days back as a bit of a laugh and have already seen a 30 dollar gain on my investment.

Crazy stuff happening right now.

https://coinmarketcap.com/
How does this all work? Is there somewhere I could do some reading?

It's all a bit confusing.
https://www.reddit.com/r/CryptoCurrency/

is probably a good place to start.

Bitcointalk has some pretty serious discussions too about Bitcoin and heaps of alt currencies.

I've only really invested at Ripple this stage so I'm still a newbie too, but planning on doing a fair bit of research in the coming weeks about other currencies and tech.

It's all a bit confusing.
https://www.reddit.com/r/CryptoCurrency/

is probably a good place to start.

Bitcointalk has some pretty serious discussions too about Bitcoin and heaps of alt currencies.

I've only really invested at Ripple this stage so I'm still a newbie too, but planning on doing a fair bit of research in the coming weeks about other currencies and tech.
Ok thanks mate will have a read.

A few months back Ripple was supposed to be the next big thing, from what I can tell it doesn't seem to be jumping like Bitcoin is. Are people still bullish about its potential or is Bitcoin the better horse to be backing?

Ripple has jumped over 3000% this year, Bitcoin hasn't even come anywhere near that.

As I've stated a number of times for me having been in the crypto space for several years I think Bitcoin is overpriced and still can't see any purpose for it other than a store of value. It's horribly slow, limited transactions per second and there's other cryptos that do everything Bitcoin does much more efficiently and faster.

Inside the bitcoin-fuelled 'ICO' bubble writeup in The Age. An overly negative article against crypto in general but in the interests of presenting both sides of the argument it's there for a read.
I agree with a bit of the article. Definitely does seem to be a lot of people trying to make a quick buck judging by all the new coins that keep popping up.

Ripple has been doing decent this week, bit more worried long-term though than I was a a month ago.

I agree with a bit of the article. Definitely does seem to be a lot of people trying to make a quick buck judging by all the new coins that keep popping up.

Ripple has been doing decent this week, bit more worried long-term though than I was a a month ago.

Absolutely, plenty of scam coins and pointless IPOs about. Do you own research, don't invest more than you're prepared to lose etc.

Still very, very bullish on Ripple long term.

As I've stated a number of times for me having been in the crypto space for several years I think Bitcoin is overpriced

BTC has dropped from $4822 to $3372 in the 14 days since this post. Absolutely called it, and it's still overpriced, though I think the price will bottom out on this downward trend at about $3000.

There was just so much hype the past few months, the bubble was always going to pop.

Woe is me. I used to dabble in the original SR website, back when BTC were a couple of dollars each. Back then, if there was change from transaction, I would leave a half a coin here, a full coin there in online wallets. I even had I reckon 8 coins in my SR account when it was seized =( I've been doing some mad searching around the house on old hard drives and looking for USB sticks, I'm sure that I had some leftovers somewhere.

I do remember mining a heap of Dogecoin back when it first came out, can't remember where the hell they went.

I've got around $15k I've set aside for an initial dabble into crypto investment.

Any decent blogs, investors etc that people recommend, which are the best AUS sites etc to use currently.

Not looking at bitcoin more the smaller price, longer term investments; ripple, ark, golem, ethereum

Anyone looking atm?

Bitcoin & Bitcoin Mining