Killarney Vale 12-13-85 defeated Maitland 9-11-65
Warners Bay 29-18-192 defeated Newcastle City 1-2-8

Under 18s
Warners Bay defeated Cardiff (FORFEIT)
Terrigal-Avoca 21-20-146 defeated Killarney Vale 2-7-19
Nelson Bay 24-20-164 defeated Lake Macquarie 1-3-9

Enjoy the rest of the week.

Borgy

Ladder in Premier Division (Rough estimate using sporting pulse ladder + today's scores)

Newcastle City - 22 points (222.49%)
Cardiff - 16 points (216.49%)
Terrigal-Avoca 16 points (183.79%)
Killarney Vale 14 points (139.74%)

Interesting stat - Warners Bay have conceded 1034 points in the first 6 games of the season at an average of 172 points conceded per game.

Ladder in Premier Division (Rough estimate using sporting pulse ladder + today's scores)

Newcastle City - 22 points (222.49%)
Cardiff - 16 points (216.49%)
Terrigal-Avoca 16 points (183.79%)
Killarney Vale 14 points (139.74%)

Interesting stat - Warners Bay have conceded 1034 points in the first 6 games of the season at an average of 172 points conceded per game.

league ladders are starting to look a little predictable ...

premier - top 4 finalised - position juggling for 12 rds
div 1 - top 3 finalised, 4th a lottery - position juggling for 12 rds
div 2 - top 4 finalised - position juggling for 12 rds
U18 - a non event 2 horse race

and how come singo are only on 8 points - 6 from 6 with avg winning margin of 95 pts :confused:

I have read with interest that the Board of the BDAFL are holding a special meeting to vote on the change the name of the competition to the Hunter/Central Coast.

I beg to ask why, when we have a brand which is well known and has been around for a considerable period of time, our league plays for the oldest contested trophy in Australian sport being the "Black Diamond Cup".

Couple this with the cost of changing letterheads and other stationery as well web pages etc. and to wipe away the meaning of past presented trophies and awards does not make sense.

I say to the Board, why don't you just deal with the big issues instead of trying to change what is already a recognised and successful branding.

You have far more important issues to deal with.

I have read with interest that the Board of the BDAFL are holding a special meeting to vote on the change the name of the competition to the Hunter/Central Coast.

I beg to ask why, when we have a brand which is well known and has been around for a considerable period of time, our league plays for the oldest contested trophy in Australian sport being the "Black Diamond Cup".

Couple this with the cost of changing letterheads and other stationery as well web pages etc. and to wipe away the meaning of past presented trophies and awards does not make sense.

I say to the Board, why don't you just deal with the big issues instead of trying to change what is already a recognised and successful branding.

I believe they are trying to go along the line of most other competitions across the state and align themselves to the region. Having said that it should be priority 2,000,000 for them!

Interesting to read in Inside Football today an article on the Tamworth Kangaroos. Was a pretty good read and interview with ex-City player Tim Cotter on the club winning a flag last year, battling in round one and the challenges a club faces in regional NSW. Good to see the Tamworth league getting some exposure.

Why does the BDAFL not try something similar to expose the competition to the country. I know the ladder is always in there but is there a way of someone writing an article about something like the move to divisionalisation or something to get the league more milage? Surely a board member could knock together 500 words and submit it to them. Promote the league! When it is all said and done it is one of the better NSW competitions so get it out there and let people know it exists!

An excellent post The Wanderer, my friend.

The old girl is one of items the League should be promoting and by naming the then newly formed League the Black Diamond after her, it was a stroke of genius.

There are far more important issues to fix then to make unneccessary changes. Adding to the cost you so kindly point out, there would be the cost to have a new logo drafted and drawn, the logos on the jumpers and shorts would have to change and the rebadging of any trophies.

Are clubs smart enough to vote no for this money wasting, time wasting exercise? Especially the Central Coast clubs who must feel second rate having their region placed second.

Well said. Its about time more people stand up for what is logically, ethically and morally right about this subject. I think the apparent little thought given to cost aspect of any change will also prove severe.

The title of the league was well named and well accepted by those involved now, all those years ago, and I for one haven't heard a complaint about it since.

Besides the wonderful old trophy, I understand the name, Black Diamond is indicative of coal, a material common to both areas where the league has its footprint.

I have also heard that some suggest no-one knows where the 'Black Diamond FL' is. Well who cares, let them find out.

Also, let me ask this question, without running off to immediately Google these places. Off the top of your head, who knows where these football leagues are:

North Eastern FL
Balloon FL
Darwin F Assn
Hills FL
Mid West FL
Summerland FL (not real hard)
Leven F Assn
Old Scholars F Assn
Onshore Cup F Assn

I bet you didnt them all right. In fact, without help, I bet you got very few right. So, Black Diamond? Its unique, and thats whats good about it.

As the previous writer said, it has become an accepted and recognized local brand. Dont try and reinvent the wheel. Be proud of what you have got and what it has become.

And as for the suggested name, give me a break.

I also hope the clubs do not support this profoundly irrational decision.

Well said. Its about time more people stand up for what is logically, ethically and morally right about this subject. I think the apparent little thought given to cost aspect of any change will also prove severe.

The title of the league was well named and well accepted by those involved now, all those years ago, and I for one haven't heard a complaint about it since.

Besides the wonderful old trophy, I understand the name, Black Diamond is indicative of coal, a material common to both areas where the league has its footprint.

I have also heard that some suggest no-one knows where the 'Black Diamond FL' is. Well who cares, let them find out.

Also, let me ask this question, without running off to immediately Google these places. Off the top of your head, who knows where these football leagues are:

North Eastern FL
Balloon FL
Darwin F Assn
Hills FL
Mid West FL
Summerland FL (not real hard)
Leven F Assn
Old Scholars F Assn
Onshore Cup F Assn

I bet you didnt them all right. In fact, without help, I bet you got very few right. So, Black Diamond? Its unique, and thats whats good about it.

As the previous writer said, it has become an accepted and recognized local brand. Dont try and reinvent the wheel. Be proud of what you have got and what it has become.

And as for the suggested name, give me a break.

I also hope the clubs do not support this profoundly irrational decision.

Well said. I just hope the clubs get a say and it isnt brought in without consultation. Why is this even an issue when there are so many more important things to be done!

20829586.jpg

What could be more serious than the name of the competition at this time? Seriously? The whole thing is going swimmingly!

Gday Punters,

Any truth to the rumour that an umpire has been stood down for a few after his diaboloical performance over the weekend?

I'm told he put in a complaint blaming everyone from the ground manager to the tuckshop lady, as well as the parent of a regular poster, all of which was refuted by both competing clubs.

It appears that said parents remarks were bang on the money, as the ump has been banned from umpiring the club he has complained about for the rest of the season :eek:

While the rest of the league will welcome his absence, they will be disappointed about his return, with the law of averages suggesting he will frequent the other clubs more often upon his return.

After seeing his performances first hand however, i'd think his talents best suited to the Auskickers :thumbsd:

And No, I'm not talking about my mate Steady :D

Gday Punters,

Any truth to the rumour that an umpire has been stood down for a few after his diaboloical performance over the weekend?

I'm told he put in a complaint blaming everyone from the ground manager to the tuckshop lady, as well as the parent of a regular poster, all of which was refuted by both competing clubs.

It appears that said parents remarks were bang on the money, as the ump has been banned from umpiring the club he has complained about for the rest of the season :eek:

While the rest of the league will welcome his absence, they will be disappointed about his return, with the law of averages suggesting he will frequent the other clubs more often upon his return.

After seeing his performances first hand however, i'd think his talents best suited to the Auskickers :thumbsd:

This is a matter for the Board of the BDAFL to deal with immediately, by way of consultation with the umpires representative, however keep in mind that this will come after the major issue of the moment has been dealt with, that being a name change for the League, smart Boards and their members always put the big issues first.

Again the peripheral damage to the league is also to be considered, clubs battle hard enough to stay afloat and win matches it is easy for them to lose confidence in the administrators if issues are not dealt with, also the people that watch the games and patronise the canteens etc. will not come if this is sub standard umpiring is allowed to continue.

Name change? Why? I bet the clubs won't get a say and the clubs will have to foot some of the bill for this to happen...as Dietz said I think there are more pressing issues that need to be addressed. Like the 18s, juniors to seniors pathway and costs to clubs...

On another note I don't know who did the premier league draw but gee wiz kv are playing Cardiff twice in three weeks and then play them again in another 3 weeks...the draw for the for grades/divs should be written around the premier div not to accommodate 1st and 2nd div

You are correct miksmif, clubs do not need additional costs or to see their elected board squander money, to have the letterheads designed cost money and the casting of the premiership medals was extremely expensive not to mention all of the other bits that hang off the name, to throw all of this away and start again is not too smart I reckon.

Leave it alone it isn't broke and does not need fixing.

Gday Punters,

I was in Newcastle last Saturday and decided to attend the Warners Bay vs Cardiff match as well. It was the first time I had been to Warners Bay and I must say that they certainly have a vocal bunch of supporters.

Having said that, the performance of the umpire in question was undoubtedly the worst performance I have seen by any umpire in 45 years of watching football. The umpire had absolutely no feel for the game, left numerous players confused with his adjudicating, and appeared as though he was being judged by the amount of 50 metre penalties he handed out. Both sides were the beneficiaries of some bewildering decisions, and it appeared that he had a holier than thou attitude towards the players. I can assure you I did not go to watch this man umpire, but to go and watch a game of football. I would not subject Auskickers to this umpire as I have little doubt they would never return to the game!

Cardiff were much too strong for the Bulldogs who appear to have a vastly different playing list to the last few times I had seen them in action. Cardiff certainly moved the ball very well during the second quarter and kicked an amazing amount of goals which totally ended any chance Warners Bay had in the match.

I would also like to echo the sentiments of previous posters regarding the lack of information on the league website. For someone who is not involved at any club, but just enjoys the game and wants to follow the local competition, there is very little displayed now as opposed to two or three years ago. I believe that somebody has approached the board about taking the website over but is still awaiting a response. It used to be such a valuable resource for me, however now I only check the site once a week as there is no news displayed anymore.

Finally I would hope they do not change the name of the Black Diamond AFL. It is a unique name, the trophy has a special historical significance, and it has developed its own identity in the region. One hopes that the people responsible for this suggestion see the merit in keeping it as is.

Hi All,

I haven't logged on for a while, but it seems the BDAFL have nothing better to do than play with a league that is so poorly resourced to start off with. Heard stories of how clubs have shifted games so they don't have to open their canteen because it is just not feasible for one game, side still getting flogged, and well now let's change all teams guernseys and gear as if that won't cost.

Sorry things have got to change. The real questions have to be:
1. Has the comp improved?
2. Has the number of players actually increased?
3. What support has been given to teams that have been split?
4. I understand that clubs have to be split whilst they are away, but why is the number of splits uneven. Surely the fair option would have been for all teams to play home together and split when they are away.

But in stead, from the sounds of it we have one question in front of the clubs.
1. Do we change the name of the league?

Yep, this is a league well worth supporting.

I'm only going to really comment once about umpiring, because I was a former umpire in this league.

Unfortunately you are only going to get an umpiring standard in any competition which is a direct product of the people that umpire in the comp. Out of the current group, the only footy these people have umpired (mostly) is in Newcastle / Central Coast, which let's be honest, is not that great a standard. All this "feel for the game" rubbish is not relevant in this league because from experience, half the players don't have a "feel for the game" in Seniors anyway. Football is not the first sport here, so as a result, standards all around are going to be lower than normal.

Having said that, if an umpire pays multiple 50m penalties in a match it means one of the following:

1. There is a lot of ill discipline in the game.
2. Players don't understand the law related to the 5m encroachment area / abuse of umpires (the most common 50m penalty)
3. The umpire in question takes the law of abuse too harshly (most likely option)
4. The umpire doesn't correctly apply the laws in relation to abuse.

I put in brackets the third option as not only does this highlight the poor nature of the BDAFL in it being a sport where frustration comes out occasionally, but also where umpiring and umpires in general need to have a thick skin (I promoted this from day dot coming from a tough league in Melbourne.)

In saying all of this however, the onus is on the playing groups, the coaches and the league to ensure that:

1. Players understand the rules of the game (demonstrative abuse i.e. abuse directed at or towards an umpire - is punishable by a 50m penalty and in our by-laws in the BDAFL - an automatic report / send off [I know what it is like to be sent off for it too, even though my case was withdrawn :)]
2. The league instruct the umpire's group to EXACTLY what constitutes abuse and what does not. It is after all a man's game and we get frustrated at times.

As for a poor standard of umpiring, yes the standard is quite varied as there is a huge discreptancy in the experience and ability of the umpiring group, but at th eend of the day it could be argued that even at senior level, that the standard and ability of the players drops significantly outside the team's best 6-8 players.

At the end of the day, players have to play the game to the best of their ability and the umpires need to facilitate that by adjudicating the rules to the best of their ability, keeping their cool in heated situations and basically keeping "out of the way". Out of the way means letting the players be the focal point, playing the game and not being the deciding factor.

Can the umpiring group improve? Of course they can, but let me tell you from experience here, the players could improve by just as large an amount. The standard of playing and umpiring is always going to be lower than normal here in the BDAFL / AFL hunter Coast / Whatever the hell league we call it, but everybody should respect one another for the job they are trying to do.

I'm only going to really comment once about umpiring, because I was a former umpire in this league.

Unfortunately you are only going to get an umpiring standard in any competition which is a direct product of the people that umpire in the comp. Out of the current group, the only footy these people have umpired (mostly) is in Newcastle / Central Coast, which let's be honest, is not that great a standard. All this "feel for the game" rubbish is not relevant in this league because from experience, half the players don't have a "feel for the game" in Seniors anyway. Football is not the first sport here, so as a result, standards all around are going to be lower than normal.

Having said that, if an umpire pays multiple 50m penalties in a match it means one of the following:

2. Players don't understand the law related to the 5m encroachment area / abuse of umpires (the most common 50m penalty)
3. The umpire in question takes the law of abuse too harshly (most likely option)

I put in brackets the third option as not only does this highlight the poor nature of the BDAFL in it being a sport where frustration comes out occasionally, but also where umpiring and umpires in general need to have a thick skin (I promoted this from day dot coming from a tough league in Melbourne.)

In saying all of this however, the onus is on the playing groups, the coaches and the league to ensure that:

1. Players understand the rules of the game (demonstrative abuse i.e. abuse directed at or towards an umpire - is punishable by a 50m penalty and in our by-laws in the BDAFL - an automatic report / send off [I know what it is like to be sent off for it too, even though my case was withdrawn :)]
2. The league instruct the umpire's group to EXACTLY what constitutes abuse and what does not. It is after all a man's game and we get frustrated at times.

As for a poor standard of umpiring, yes the standard is quite varied as there is a huge discreptancy in the experience and ability of the umpiring group, but at th eend of the day it could be argued that even at senior level, that the standard and ability of the players drops significantly outside the team's best 6-8 players.

At the end of the day, players have to play the game to the best of their ability and the umpires need to facilitate that by adjudicating the rules to the best of their ability, keeping their cool in heated situations and basically keeping "out of the way". Out of the way means letting the players be the focal point, playing the game and not being the deciding factor.

Can the umpiring group improve? Of course they can, but let me tell you from experience here, the players could improve by just as large an amount. The standard of playing and umpiring is always going to be lower than normal here in the BDAFL / AFL hunter Coast / Whatever the hell league we call it, but everybody should respect one another for the job they are trying to do.

Borgsta, I was attempting not to implicate the whole umpiring fraternity in my post. I believe the umpires in the league in the games that I have watched do a very good job and certainly make less mistakes than the players do. This one individual was a law unto himself however and I was absolutely astounded with him, hence my comments yesterday.

In regards to feel for the game, one would think that this is essential. Even the most poorly skilled player could determine as to whether the game is contested with alot of stoppages, or whether the game is open and fast with players looking to move the ball quickly. In a game on the weekend that was more open than not, you would not think there would be many free kicks blown and the play allowed to flow. As opposed to a hard-fought battle which would more than likely draw more free kicks which will be prevelant with more contact and also see umpires pulling out free kicks to clear some of the congestion around the ball. If this is wrong please correct me, but that is an observation I have made from watching football for a long long time.

My observation was that there did not appear any respect at all from the umpire to the playing group and vice versa, which lead to the crowd getting involved which is always a poor look in local football.

Thank you for your clarification on the rules and your insight into the umpiring in the region. I am not criticizing the umpiring group, just expressing my bewilderment at the performance of one umpire

Yes we all know Borg you umpired in a "strong" Melbourne League and have a loud and proud history of umpiring in this league and more of a feel for the game as you came from down South.

all this makes no sense however.

I dont see how the standard of the league has anything to do with an umpires performance in any way shape or form. You are there to enforce the "rules" of the game. Just because some back pocket plodder cant take a chest mark or kick the ball over a sheep station doesnt mean the umpire has a disability to make rational calls on the play.

Yes we all know Borg you umpired in a "strong" Melbourne League and have a loud and proud history of umpiring in this league and more of a feel for the game as you came from down South.

all this makes no sense however.

I dont see how the standard of the league has anything to do with an umpires performance in any way shape or form. You are there to enforce the "rules" of the game. Just because some back pocket plodder cant take a chest mark or kick the ball over a sheep station doesnt mean the umpire has a disability to make rational calls on the play.

Let me try to make it make sense for you savage.

The standard of the league and umpiring performance are closely related. Poor playing standard creates more errors which in turn creates more decisions an umpire has to adjudicate on. Therefore there will be more errors made in games.

The free kicks you can not tolerate are head highs missed, behind play incidents and free kicks where no respect has been shown by the umpire and then a player abuses them then they are sent off as appears to be the case that weaglesman brought up.

The fact there are only 10 umpires to choose from every week for 9 spots makes dropping umpires almost a non-option doesn't it? Imagine having 24 players to choose from and the other two replacements weren't up to scratch?

If you have the answer to getting umpiring numbers up, I'm sure Adam Lowe or Peter Hampshire at the BDAFL would love to hear it :)

As a great running coach once said to me "you can only piss with the dick you've got"

Hope it makes sense mate.

Let me try to make it make sense for you savage.

The standard of the league and umpiring performance are closely related. Poor playing standard creates more errors which in turn creates more decisions an umpire has to adjudicate on. Therefore there will be more errors made in games.

The free kicks you can not tolerate are head highs missed, behind play incidents and free kicks where no respect has been shown by the umpire and then a player abuses them then they are sent off as appears to be the case that weaglesman brought up.

The fact there are only 10 umpires to choose from every week for 9 spots makes dropping umpires almost a non-option doesn't it? Imagine having 24 players to choose from and the other two replacements weren't up to scratch?

If you have the answer to getting umpiring numbers up, I'm sure Adam Lowe or Peter Hampshire at the BDAFL would love to hear it :)

As a great running coach once said to me "you can only piss with the dick you've got"

Hope it makes sense mate.

I would have thought the lack of numbers would be the real reason for the quality of umpires. The standard of the league has nothing to do with an umpires ability to adjudicate on the game. Its like saying I used to referee bong smoking competitions in Jamaica and I then moved to Salt Lake City and refereed bong making competitions and the standard of incorrect bong making decisions was substandard because the areas bong makers werent as adept at making bongs as the jamaicans. The reality is I should make the correct Bong decisions regardless of the areas standards of play.

You are there to enforce the "rules" of the game. Just because some back pocket plodder cant take a chest mark or kick the ball over a sheep station doesnt mean the umpire has a disability to make rational calls on the play.

Ok, I am friends with a number of the umpires so maybe I am biased BUT I saw the umpire cop abuse for exactly that - enforcing the rules of the game.
For example,
1) he penalised Cardiff for their runner being interfering with the play. Now I am 100% sure it was unintentional, but if he was any closer he could have taken the mark right in front. The ball went just over his head (ok slight exageration, but he was clearly under the flight and had been called to remove himself from the area 30 seconds earlier.) Cardiff were complaining about that one
2) He called the WB player for stepping outside the goal square on a kickout - the Warners Bay crowd were yelling and screaming, but I have a photo of his front foot just about to be planted on the line so unless he managed to kick it without planting his left foot, it was the correct call.

3) After giving a free to Cardiff (cant remember what for, probably a high shot), one or more of the Doggies gave him an earful so he marched them 50 metres - well what did they expect ? The rules say if you abuse an ump you get a 50 against you (and you may get worse)

Did he make mistakes - yep no doubt, did he make any MORE mistakes than 90% of the WB players, I think that would be a huge call.

And as I heard one WB player scream at his own players after they gave away ANOTHER 50 metre for abusing the Ump, "So he made a F...ing mistake, big F...ing deal, get over it and dont give another 50"

When I go to a professional football match, with professional players and umps (well technically the AFL Umps arent professional either), I expect the players and umpires to perform at that level. I dont have a problem telling either the player or the umpire they are mugs when they stuff up (of course being anonomous amongst 30000 other spectators helps), but I dont abuse players or umps in the BDAFL (or whatever it is called this week)

Now I noticed there was an extra official on the ground that day (never quite worked out if he was an extra boundary or field), and I assume it was a youngster gaining experience. After the level of abuse by the players and crowd, how do you reckon he feels about umpiring now ? Good luck attracting more umpires to the game.

Ok, I am friends with a number of the umpires so maybe I am biased BUT I saw the umpire cop abuse for exactly that - enforcing the rules of the game.
For example,
1) he penalised Cardiff for their runner being interfering with the play. Now I am 100% sure it was unintentional, but if he was any closer he could have taken the mark right in front. The ball went just over his head (ok slight exageration, but he was clearly under the flight and had been called to remove himself from the area 30 seconds earlier.) Cardiff were complaining about that one
2) He called the WB player for stepping outside the goal square on a kickout - the Warners Bay crowd were yelling and screaming, but I have a photo of his front foot just about to be planted on the line so unless he managed to kick it without planting his left foot, it was the correct call.

3) After giving a free to Cardiff (cant remember what for, probably a high shot), one or more of the Doggies gave him an earful so he marched them 50 metres - well what did they expect ? The rules say if you abuse an ump you get a 50 against you (and you may get worse)

Did he make mistakes - yep no doubt, did he make any MORE mistakes than 90% of the WB players, I think that would be a huge call.

And as I heard one WB player scream at his own players after they gave away ANOTHER 50 metre for abusing the Ump, "So he made a F...ing mistake, big F...ing deal, get over it and dont give another 50"

When I go to a professional football match, with professional players and umps (well technically the AFL Umps arent professional either), I expect the players and umpires to perform at that level. I dont have a problem telling either the player or the umpire they are mugs when they stuff up (of course being anonomous amongst 30000 other spectators helps), but I dont abuse players or umps in the BDAFL (or whatever it is called this week)

Now I noticed there was an extra official on the ground that day (never quite worked out if he was an extra boundary or field), and I assume it was a youngster gaining experience. After the level of abuse by the players and crowd, how do you reckon he feels about umpiring now ? Good luck attracting more umpires to the game.

Agree 100% with your observations.

More a behavioural issue rather than the standard of play here in the Hunter.