Black Ducks Supporters Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Jackfrost

What is a massive positive is that we had significant contributions from the kids. Guys like Nuich, Riddoch, Daniels, Slater and Coniglio exceeded my expectations. Plenty to be excited about.

Rudi in particular could have a massive impact on our year. He oozes class, he's strongly built, powerful and aggressive. If he can take the next step, he could cause some carnage.

I've been watching and waiting for him to come on for a couple of years now. Really exciting to watch him play. Really pissed I missed the match, how the hell could I organise our cricket club's wind up for this day. Doh!

A very disappointing 1st half vs the Eagles Reserves on Saturday cost us dearly and some ill discipline with far too many 50m penalties given up. Finished the game well and lets hope we can take that sort of form into our next game.

Just read on Swans webpage of the sad passing of Steve Bazzo. Great bloke.

Vale Steve.

Well, I made a comment to an old stager at the colts this morning that this weather would tell us quickly who was prepared to put their head over the ball. In the league, there was no difference.
After an average first quarter, where Souths played the conditions very smartly and we didn't there were a few who lifted their rating at the contested ball. First mention must go to a bloke who I was canning during the first quarter, which someone defended him to me. They were right, Riggio lifted around the ball. Elari's attack on the contest is never questioned and he helped lift the Swans, along with Ugle, Riddoch, Nuich and Houghton. Davis's tackling was brilliant and a couple of Souths boys felt it. Simmo, Notte, Ames and Kirkup (before injury) were fantastic down back.
Ridley looked like he was a bit nervous as he seemed to try too hard.
Now, on to this bloke, who looks like he will be some player, Jason Daniels had a great game!
Faulkner and Rogers need to lift though, which is the only downer of the game.
Great game swannies! :thumbsu: Love beating Sowfs anytime (just like I do West Perf) :)

The challenge for our boys is to play with the same level of intensity as we did for most of yesterday. Make no mistake SF will be a finals side this season and we were able to close them down for most of the day now we have to bring the same to EF next week who we owe big time after last years 1st Semi!

One of the most disappointing footy games in my recent memory.

Well, I had a massive rant after the game and a couple of east freo supporters didn't like it, but it was the truth. If we couldn't beat that bunch of limp wristed fairies, well we couldn't beat the Midland U12 girls team. I mean 7 and 15 consistently shat themselves in contests, along with Lester-Smith, but that's expected of him. And then 4 consistently ducking the head and chirping at the umpires, along with 22, about how hard they were done in free kicks. And don't get me started on the inept umpires, but they didn't cost us the game.
Before I go any further, Faulkner, Riggio, Rogers and Slater should be dropped immediately. Don't care who for, but Riggio and Rogers need to be sent a message. Rogers attacking the contest like he's going to fondle it not destroy it and Riggio simply refusing to chase defensively. In the last Amesy was telling him to man up on a player and he sent Daniels to pick him up instead. Bullshit, pull your finger out and do your own dirty work. For a senior player, nowhere near good enough. I'll take too long to go through all the negatives.
2 positives I saw were Riddoch, showing the senior players how they should be playing the game, and Notte who was under siege at CHB and did an admirable job.
Daniels, Ridley and Wilson have shown enough that they will get better and certainly Daniels will be a good player. Just need to keep getting games into them.
All in all a very insipid display. Hopefully we pull our fingers out next week.

Not much more to add from me Swannies but I did get a laugh when those EF players were whinging to the umps about the free kicks when they had had double our tally to that stage o_O
A bit hard on Riggs as i reckon he has been pretty good so far this year, Rogers can lift a bit especially using that penetrating boot of his a bit more than the short dinky passes he has developed this season, Faulky has the kicking yips completely he must have turned it over at least a dozen times yesterday, Slater just didnt get involved at all until late in the game when the heat was out.
Rudy is really taking the game on which is great to see as I reckon he can be a key player in the comp, Davo, Riggs, Blighty tried hard, hopefully Kirky Ugle is ok & Cary looked proppy but all in all a pretty ordinary display but the good thing is with a young side there is still plenty of upside as opposed to the very experienced opposition we encountered.

Unlike you swannies to vent sour grapes mate.....I guess before the game most SD fans expected with all their young guns, Ames,Simmo et al up back and Timmy G, Ricky up front the 4pts were in the bag.....especially at home against an old, soft and decrepit EF side......mmmmmm sounds like things didn't go to plan hey mate?...... so we will let the sourness slide just this once......you should know better swannies!

...can't blame those EF boys for being soft swannies....especially after Cary's feral brain explosion resulting in Read getting a freebie carousel ride and ending Reads afternoon at the footy pretty early on in the piece......good of Ricky to apologise after the game tho....very considerate of him!

not too sure what you mean by "upside" SH?......haven't SD lost their last 3 games to EF.....2 of them pretty easily and the third one due to the kids running out of puff and choking in the last quarter of a final.....all the decent young guns(Daniels,Riddoch,Riddoch,Wilson) you have hope in, if as as good as you say they are, wont be at SD next year because of the AFL, so new inexperienced ones come in and take their place.....and guess what?.... back to square one we go with our upside theory.......hopefully they don't go to Peel or EP tho.......apparently its sacriledge ex SD players being forced against their will to play against their old club hey?....LOL

quite suprised the EF players whinging could be heard over all the high pitched moaning and bitching from all the SD fans mate......... but hey at least the umps are being consistent with their bias against the SDFC......because all any of us want is some consistency from the maggots in yellow hey?........well that's what I am told anyway!.........

Unlike you swannies to vent sour grapes mate.....I guess before the game most SD fans expected with all their young guns, Ames,Simmo et al up back and Timmy G, Ricky up front the 4pts were in the bag.....especially at home against an old, soft and decrepit EF side......mmmmmm sounds like things didn't go to plan hey mate?...... so we will let the sourness slide just this once......you should know better swannies!
No sour grapes in there mate, if you watched the game you would see what I saw, we were pathetic, absolutely pathetic. I don't blame umpires either Freezin, consistency I would love, but watching the East Perf v Peel game, I saw exactly the same, so no consistency there. We simply played very poorly, that's why I am baking the Swans players. ;)
Didn't necessarily expect to win either Freez, but I expect a better showing in terms of attack on the contest. That's what disappointed me the most, was the way we were insipid.

Swannies, if I saw what you SD boys see everything would be in Black & White....LOL....my sour grapes comment was in response to your "limp wristed faries" & "Midland U/12 girls" EF remarks......considering folk I have spoken to said EF attacked each contest in numbers, unlike SD, were direct and more puproseful than SD......seems to me you are directing your limp wristed faries comments at the wrong team mate! Yeah EF may not be the most robust/hard as nails team going around in the WAFL.....but that game indicated neither are SD......

anyway it's been and gone....touch wood EF can continue on in the same vein as last week and SD can rediscover their intensity and bounce back for a win over the Anzac long weekend....going to be tight for those 2 -5 spots I reckon......Subi look pretty secure in top spot.....WCE with their injuries will stretch EP depth, whilst Peel will need Freo to stay fit and healthy to keep their season ticking over.....

Nah Freezin, I see most things in true colour. I have been baking the Swans players more than east freo. EF didn't impress me as much as I thought they would, as I picked them, sowfs and subi to be the top 3 non aligned clubs. They were weaker at the contest than sowfs or subi. However, don't get upset because what Easts did really well, which I expected, is run and run and run and be disciplined in their running patterns. Swans played dumb footy, easts smart footy. We committed too many players to the contest and left McNamara (2) out the front all game, that is why I was naming Slater and Riggio, who were on him much of the game. I saw it unfold in front of me many times where you could see the ball was going to get to him and they simply refused to man up. We also play like this against West Perth a lot, let them spit out the front. Lack of discipline is what it is on our part.
Oh, and the comment about Midland U12 girls was directed at the Swans team. ;)

Was at the game at the arena yesterday boys, bad luck ;), snatched victory from the jaws of defeat and SD viccy verca

olee, :D

Mind you the Black Ducks have the best WAFL fans by a mile.

Nope, I was carting wood for the in-laws. Did you go Spearhead? What can you tell me? I figured it was better for me not to know anything about this game before I go to the Peel game on Sat. :)

Worked with them for 15 years thorne89, there's a lot wrong.... :p

Touch wood Swannies all the good work SD put into Connor Blakely doesn't come back to haunt them this Sat v Peel mate!

Well, I was saved from embarrassing myself by not saying he'd cut us up etc Freezin. :oops: Because that was what I was thinking.
Was incredibly pleased by how they played today, absolutely ruthless and relentless.
Firstly, I have to put my hand up and say I haven't thought a whole lot of what Riggio, Davis and Rogers have done this year. Riggio for a bit longer. Well, today they were our three best and I have to admit when I have been off the money. Outstanding today and Riggio was very ill and couldn't attend the after match function.
The best were Davis, Rogers, Daniels and Riddoch and someone else I've forgotten, no, not Riggio.
Notte took another speccie today and was fantastic down back and McKay was fantastic for a second/3rd gamer, as was Whitsed for a debutant. Couldn't fault any of them. :thumbsu:

Nope, I was carting wood for the in-laws. Did you go Spearhead? What can you tell me? I figured it was better for me not to know anything about this game before I go to the Peel game on Sat. :)
Yeah mate I have erased that WP game (including the Colts game) from my memory especially the last 10 minutes although the carry on from a few WP supporters to the boys coming off the ground should be remembered for our next clash!
If only we could attack the footy & the opposition like we did for 4 qtrs yesterday every week I honestly think we could trouble all sides but we have trouble consistently producing that effort required. Good win by the Colts (more than a dozen regulars out for State & School commitments) & Reserves with the numbers being unavailable across the club hopefully we can get most of our long injury listed boys back in the near future.

Anyone go down to Mt Barker to see the game yesterday?
The inconsistent performances continue by the looks not only from week to week but from qtr to qtr.
And this piss poor performances in the country continue as well, what's that now 2 wins and a draw from 20 odd country games ffs! :mad:

The State game bye might have come at a good time as we were pretty damn ordinary as a team yesterday other than the defensive back 6, Davo, Doc & Rogie.

Well, that was a tough game to watch yesterday. Spearhead, your comments above just about sum up yesterday as well.
Getting Jukes back was good. Other than that, there was little to no defensive pressure in the F50 so the ball was rebounded by Perth so easily most of the day. Ricky couldn't mark a ball lace out on his chest at present. Swoop, well he looks disinterested for 80% of the game, was good in patches but they were few and far between. Davo and Notte seemed a little flat from the state game, I am presuming. The bloke trying hardest for us was the bloke we got from Perth. At least he looks very funny when he's having a go, arms and legs everywhere. Overall the team was pretty flat, I thought.
Was surprised to see Kirkup lining up in reserves earlier but the league game almost reflected the Ressies game, who lead by 30 at half time and then went to sleep and lost by 4. Played in fits and starts is probably an apt description.