Black Ducks Supporters Thread

Was wondering did Dylan Smith get hurt? Noticed he had one disposal. Also for any colt followers can someone give me a mini report on Gregory Humphries? Intrigued by the kid but obviously I'm scouting the stat line. Thanks

Hi TJ, Dylan may well have been injured during the game as we had a few sore boys at the end of the game but it was not a day for big guys with rain, hail, a gale force wind blowing, surface under water down the members side etc.
Greg is definitely an exciting young talent capable of spectacular high marks & goals but probably has a few areas to work on the defensive side of his game, has been playing deep forward most of the Colts season.

Thanks for the reply. Attended some WAFL games when I was near Midland last year. The Swans grew on me. Wore my scarf in the winter months here. Hopefully the boy's can turn it around. Thanks again.
It is a great club going through a rough trot this season due to a run of bad luck I havent witnessed before in my 36 years of following SD & the WAFL. Hopefully we can turn it all around very soon but keep on supporting the Mighty Black Ducks TJ.

admire your optimism Spearhead, SD fans are definitely doing it tough this year, but hey things can turn pretty quick in sport.....it was only a short time ago EF were in the middle of a double figure losing streak, now they appear united under Wiley's tutelage...... is Harding they way forward though mate?....lots of youngsters getting game time, but SD have gone backwards since that 2014 1st semi loss to EF.....ladder wise at least. Yeah injuries haven't helped SD, but TBH WP with lesser depth, have overcome their injury list, with better results than SD so far.....

I have to say swannies I have never seen a more dispirited, poor skilled, zero work ethic than the current one running around in Black & White another truly awful display on show again today. The cricket season cant come around quick enough for mine.

I was fortunate enough to have my y10 team Spearhead, who show about as much spirit (hope none are reading this) playing at the same time in the swan valley, so couldn't get to the showgrounds. :(
Yep, I'm with you, can't wait for the cricket season, which is not fare away on Fox. June 6, bring it on. :thumbsu:

Gee swannies just when you think we could not possibly get any worse along comes todays "effort"!!
Afraid to admit that today was the worst half of footy I have ever witnessed from a SD side in fact maybe even a WAFL side.

Gee swannies just when you think we could not possibly get any worse along comes todays "effort"!!
Afraid to admit that today was the worst half of footy I have ever witnessed from a SD side in fact maybe even a WAFL side.
You know what Spearhead ? I got a migraine from that game. :(

Well we finally had a second win for the season :):thumbsu: and our 2nd qtr was one of the best played by any team this year but for most parts of the rest of the game our play was reminiscent of the 10 losses so far. Quite obviously a few boys played their best games for the year including Cary, Faulkner, Burnham, Banfield, Notte, Yukich, Wilson, Riddoch, Watson... actually most of the team and hopefully we can build on that for the rest of the remaining year starting with the top side in $ubi next week!
Also was great to see young Jake Nuich make his comeback in the Reserves yesterday and he played quite well and would be a chance for a League recall.

As usual Spearhead, I was on junior sport duty so didn't make the trek to Mandurah. Didn't think I would be missing much, but boy was I wrong.... :$

Look forward to a mini smashing :rainbow: from Subi next week, but I will be back there as I don't have junior sport next weekend. :thumbsu:

Just started to on Sunday Spearhead . The hail got me on the way out to the car..... Bloody hell I haven't seen weather like that for a while.

Yeah, but only a few Spearhead.
As we discussed, I reckon Yukich has. I also think Jesse Turner, Grescos and Erceg have improved.
For the amount of opportunities some of them have had I would expect more of them to have improved.

How about the established players? Who has been able to maintain form? I haven't been to a great deal of games this season, I don't fancy sitting on the hill with my toddler-aged kids in the seemingly endless awful weather (yes, I'm a fairweather fan these days), but from what I've seen, there haven't been many.

Notte, Simpson, Riggio, Faulkner (as frustrating as he is), and perhaps Jetta, are about it. Am I being too harsh on Howie? You could probably throw in Banfield only because he's been rubbish since he returned.

Depressing reading: http://www.wafl.com.au/clubs/view/8/swan-districts/totalGames/DESC

In fairness to Banners Underdog he has been pretty good over the last 4-6 weeks after another injury interrupted start to the season.
Those others you named in Riggio, Notte, Simpson, Faulkner & Jetta (when he's played) have tried hard but just not enough support. Howie has looked good at times especially when moved forward but has been thrown around a lot to fix holes.
The improvement has been noted in Turner, Yukich, Erceg, Grescos, Watson (until injured) but nowhere near enough players whilst Logue up from the Colts has showed a lot of his teammates up in fitness, skill, strength, desire, application etc

Finally the end of what has been a trying and somewhat terrible season at Bassendean.
2 wins and 18 losses from 20 games is not a pretty sight but even worse was the standard of football produced by the League side over the year.
Kicked our lowest score in club history 2.6.18 not just once but twice during the year and in 12 games we didnt even score 10 goals.
Horrendous to say the least and in the current WAFL climate enough to turn fans away in droves which is going to take an incredible amount of work by both the football department and the playing group in getting back to the level required and expected by Swans members, sponsors, supporters.
Probably the most damning observation was the lack of improvement in 90% of the senior squad from the start of the season to the end, taking out the likes of Riggio, Notte, Simpson, Ames etc who have always given their all over a long period.
A combination of poor skills both by hand and foot, poor decision making, poor work rate, poor work ethic, poor fitness & strength, little commitment to do the 1%ers like laying strong tackles that stick, blocking and shepherding for a team mate in a better position to take and use the football....you could write a novel on the list of mistakes made by the football side during 2016.
47 players used over the year 15 of which were first year players of which approx 80% (the best in the WAFL) were home grown local SD talent was one positive in a very dark year as was the improvement of Turner, Grescos, Yukich.
Good luck to the Colts boys during the Finals hopefully playing the likes of Logue, Clarke, Cipro, Stewart, Fullgrabbe, Armstrong, Yorkshire, O'Kane, Barr etc up in the Senior sides will hold them in good stead in the week(s) to come but time will tell if that is actually the case.
Nothing short of a dramatic improvement is needed for 2017 otherwise SD & also the WAFL for that matter will be in dire straits by the year 2020!

Black Ducks Supporters Thread