Black Ducks Supporters Thread

Well, West Perth this week at Basso.

Roberts, Spaanderman and Bowers have tribunal hearings this week and word on whether Naitanui players is apparently imminent. Roberts would be a huge loss, Spaanderman will be too if Naita doesn't come in given he is struggling so much with injury (If Naita is in, as horrible as it sounds he's not of much value) and Bowers is no great loss - Spencer should replace him.

Hopefully we'll receive Robinson, Pearce, Walters, Hansen, Pratt, Naitanui and Spencer back for this week. Davis broke his jaw or cheekbone last week for the Eagles and Hinkley's gone for the year.

So what would be our lineup? Assuming we are OK with injury and tribunal matters, I'd say we'll look something like this.

B Pearce Ames Twomey
HB Pratt Spencer Casserly
C L.Jetta Robinson Wolfenden
HF Colreavy Geappen Hunter
FF Hansen Notte Potente
F Naitanui Carr Roberts
I/C Simpson Lange Walters Spaanderman

I suspect the 22nd spot will be a battle between Graham Jetta and Simpson.

So what would be our lineup? Assuming we are OK with injury and tribunal matters, I'd say we'll look something like this.

B Pearce Ames Twomey
HB Pratt Spencer Casserly
C L.Jetta Robinson Wolfenden
HF Colreavy Geappen Hunter
FF Hansen Notte Potente
F Naitanui Carr Roberts
I/C Simpson Lange Walters Spaanderman

I suspect the 22nd spot will be a battle between Graham Jetta and Simpson.

I'd have J Embley in there ahead of, well half the team. At least he continues to try, unlike some of the passengers we've had in this team over the last 4-5 weeks. If Carr gets a berth in the finals, well I won't be held responsible for my actions.

No awards given after last weeks game shows you how pissed Dawson was, and rightly so. Wolfenden was one of 3 names mentioned that could hold their head high.

This, from Lewigie, made me smile. All Day!:)

Naitanui is cleared to play, and Davis is undergoing a fitness test to see if he can.

However, this from the WAFL board has just depressed me!:(

The first round of finals fixtures this Saturday, September 5, will see South Fremantle host Subiaco and West Perth head to Steel Blue Oval to take on Swan Districts, with the winner of the South Fremantle and Subiaco clash to progress to the grand final.

My sons football windup is 5pm Sat arvo, with their final game of the season. And my wife decided she needed a visit to the hills and so I have been left with the task of taking my son to a birthday party from 2 to 4, at goddam Joondalup, of all places.:mad: I am crying right now!:thumbsdown:

To see Naita, Pearce, Walters, Pratt, Hansen, Notte, Hunter et al destroy WP would have been lovely! I have some scheming to do.;)

On another positive note, after today's fantastic game, the decision to pick M Carr has been taken out of the hands of the selectors.

We will need to lift at least 10% to beat Subi next week and then probably another 10-15%, or more, to match Souths, if we get there.
But while there is life, there's hope!:thumbsu::)

Anyone know the status of Naitanui? I'd assume they wouldn't send him back on if it was serious even if he didn't stay on long.

Unfortunately though Swannies, It looks like Ben Colreavy will miss the finals as well. What a shame Graham Jetta is a few weeks away.

You'd suspect Embley and Simpson to come in.

The boys did a fantastic job considering Carr was gone early, Collers before half time and Naita just after half time. Keeping in mind also that Robbo essentially played at FF all game and was scratchy but will be better for the run.

You'd suspect Embley and Simpson to come in.

The boys did a fantastic job considering Carr was gone early, Collers before half time and Naita just after half time. Keeping in mind also that Robbo essentially played at FF all game and was scratchy but will be better for the run.

Agreed about Embley and Simpson. Embley to run with Fletcher, although Fleming did a good job yesterday, after I wanted him dropped.:eek:

Yep, Robinson is the biggest positive out of yesterday. We will need all the run we can get to get over Subi next week and Sowfs the week after.

On an unrelated note, how have had Gavin Statham umpiring us the last 4 or so weeks? The bloke is a deadset peanut. If we get him next week, I'm going to be busting some skulls...

I'm with you. My eyes just about popped out of my head when I saw that peanut and the young umpire with short, dark hair who shafted Pratt in the Perth match, officiating!:eek:

Bitterly disappointed at the second quarter effort by 16-20 of the team. Davis and Notte were the only 2 that tried to stem the tide and Amesy and Bowers were under extreme pressure and couldn't influence the game. Quite a few took short steps when it came to the contest, and they know who they are!

Ah well, at least I should enjoy the GF next weekend, without any pressure!:D

Very dissapointing performance yesterday could not have played worse if we tried. Could not believe how many of our players fell over at crucial times in contests that ultimately cost goals...& they were our more experienced players as well :mad: ...also why where Davis & Naitanui on the bench so much they were actually winning their respective positions??? If we had a dip & we had been beaten by Subi then it would feel a lot better than the pretty dismal effort that we put in & still only went down by 3 goals!!

Luke Miles has been promoted to the Saints main list, so I'm getting on him for my fantasy team, expect him to take the back pocket and I am looking forward to seeing some high leaping, quick accelerating passages of play. God I miss him at Basso Oval!:(

Ryan Davis looks to have jumped ship from the Eagles in search of more playing opportunities. I can't blame him but he was an important player for us, so it leaves a fairly big hole in the midfield rotations.

Congrats to Josh Roberts for winning his second Swan medal!:thumbsu:

A bloke from work told me the other day that apparently the garlics are flashing the cash to Wolfy. Have you heard anything along those lines Swannies?

^^ Haven't heard that billyboy, but I haven't been around the club. Going to try and get there prior to Christmas (I know, not long to go....:eek:)

On another note, has everyone started receiving their pr0n at home? The Swans membership booklet for 2010, I am of course, referring to? Very svelte black and white publication, but a sexy shade of black! I had to be alone for a while!:p

Looks like there are a few leaving the nest. Justin Simpson has gone to Geelong, rumours of a number of others (no names given) leaving, one being young Della-vedova, who won the reserves B&F. Have to get down to training in Jan and see who's there, eh?

On another note, has everyone started receiving their pr0n at home? The Swans membership booklet for 2010, I am of course, referring to? Very svelte black and white publication, but a sexy shade of black! I had to be alone for a while!:p

WTF??

On another note, I don' think us Claremont supporters get a membership booklet.

Damm you posh swans

Looks like there are a few leaving the nest. Justin Simpson has gone to Geelong, rumours of a number of others (no names given) leaving, one being young Della-vedova, who won the reserves B&F. Have to get down to training in Jan and see who's there, eh?

There is talk on footygoss that the McKinlay boys are leaving also.

Our depth will well and truly be tested.

I don't think Della is a huge loss - he doesn't really look a league footballer, but it still affects squad depth.

David McKinlay and Simpson were best 22, albeit in the lower portion.

Then Carr has retired (again), Lange is gone, Lewis Jetta was drafted by Sydney and I don't expect Graham to necessarily stay. Mike McKinlay also spent time in the seniors.

Granted we have recruited Tom Roach and have Andrew Krakouer returning who are very handy.

I like Neil Martin and Clint Garlett as kids who could push into the league team. Parry I'm not a fan of, the kid is soft as butter.

Hopefully Ipaviz can return.

Any word on whether Davis is staying or going?

Looking at a best 22 for next year... (assuming the above happens and Davis leaves)

B: Casserly Ames Ipaviz
HB: Pearce Spencer Bowers
C: Wolfenden Robinson Walters
HF: Potente Geappen Roach
F: Hansen Notte Krakouer
R: Spaanderman Twomey Roberts
INT: Hinkley Colreavy Pratt Lammie

EMG: Fleming Martin J.Robinson Garlett Embley

I don't expect Naitanui to play many games.

Any thoughts anyone?

Any truth to the rumour about Garth returning? I sure hope he's been doing some running if true :p

There is talk on footygoss that the McKinlay boys are leaving also.

Our depth will well and truly be tested.

I don't think Della is a huge loss - he doesn't really look a league footballer, but it still affects squad depth.

David McKinlay and Simpson were best 22, albeit in the lower portion.

Then Carr has retired (again), Lange is gone, Lewis Jetta was drafted by Sydney and I don't expect Graham to necessarily stay. Mike McKinlay also spent time in the seniors.

Granted we have recruited Tom Roach and have Andrew Krakouer returning who are very handy.

I like Neil Martin and Clint Garlett as kids who could push into the league team. Parry I'm not a fan of, the kid is soft as butter.

Hopefully Ipaviz can return.

Any word on whether Davis is staying or going?

Looking at a best 22 for next year... (assuming the above happens and Davis leaves)

B: Casserly Ames Ipaviz
HB: Pearce Spencer Bowers
C: Wolfenden Robinson Embley
HF: Potente Geappen Walters
F: Hansen Notte Krakouer
R: Spaanderman Twomey Roberts
INT: Hinkley Colreavy Pratt Lammie

EMG: Fleming Martin J.Robinson Garlett

I don't expect Naitanui to play many games.

Any thoughts anyone?

Any truth to the rumour about Garth returning? I sure hope he's been doing some running if true :p

What no Roach in your best 22?....the fella has played some good footy in a comp such as the VFL which would have to be a touch stronger than what the WAFL can muster....stick him on a HFF at least!

No point including the AFL boys either.....anything could happen to them in regards to availabilty.....yes common sense suggests Hansen and Notte will play more WAFL than AFL, but I reckon Pearce and Walters would be more of a chance to play AFL in 2010.....the key is will SD have all 4 available at the same time....if they do than I can see Hansen, Notte and Walters being SD top 3 goal kickers next year.

Black Ducks Supporters Thread