Black Ducks Supporters Thread

Yep, they must include passers by in the crowd figure matthecat. No road trip Spearhead as I've only just realised it's Sunday morning and I have goal umpiring at junior footy. :(

It was the highest crowd of the round by some way in actual fact fellas, the attendance figures do include the Colts games were obviously a lot of parents, friends etc leave straight afterwards ...interestingly the EF vs SF clash had the lowest crowd at 1400 tho it was around 1000 for the League game so much for the Fremantle Derby being the biggest clash in the WAFL! o_O

A good comeback in the 3rd qtr but a poor 1st half cost us against Fremantle Dockers B. Good to see our Colts have a good win whilst our Reserves gave Peel's League team a flogging. The sooner this alignment shit ends the better as it has turned our great 130yo WAFL into a complete and utter farce! :mad:

Another week another late last qtr fade out after we had hit the lead. Season pretty much done now Colts & Ressies will at least play finals footy!
This year will be the first season since I can ever remember where I will have no interest whatsoever in the League finals and will not be attending as a neutral with 2 aligned teams plus poorly supported clubs in $ubi & Claremont involved well done WAFC you have completely stuffed this 130yo comp up if tragics like myself have no interest ..rent a crowd will be needed for the GF!

I was ready to write off the season, facing subi today, and with cricket registrations, I couldn't attend. Look what those mighty black ducks do! Torture me!

Spearhead, I'm waiting for the write up. :)

Tough day at the office swannies with the hurricane blowing to the Guildford end, intermittent showers all day and a hail storm just before half time turning the members wing into a quagmire but kicking early goals with it proved decisive in the end. All the boys had a red hot crack which shows up in the tackle count were we laid 108 for the day including 20 by Davo alone in a fantastic display of tough contested footy.
Make no bones about it $ubi are a very very good footy side who just kept coming back at us all game and they missed a couple late after getting to within a kick at the 20 min mark although we blew some chances early in the last qtr as well after getting 2 quick goals to start the term into the breeze.
The final siren took forever to blow much like that EPEagles game a few weeks back at Basso which had a lot to do with Broady (who is having a magnificent season) being stretchered off, hopefully he is ok for next week vs WP at Joondalup before finally blowing at the 35 min mark much to the relief of the players who were holding out strongly against a surging $ubi and us braving the conditions in the outer! :straining::cool::):thumbsu:

Cut and paste the wash ups from the Claremont, Fremantle Reserves, EP, WP, SF games from earlier in the season ..in short slow start, come back to hit the front, stay in the contest until fading late. Cant deny the boys try hard but we just lack composure at the important times in games. Season done for the League now with Claremont beating the biggest flops of the season in EF. We take Claremont on at home to finish the season officially next week the only team we have not beaten all year!

To add to what you have said Spearhead, we are carrying too many passengers, and it is the experienced players letting us down, IMO. Time needs to be called on a couple, will they make that call?

Probably last game of the season given we need to win and then have games go our way in the last round (bye for us).
Weather should have blown over by bounce-down and with no Eagles or Dockers hopefully a big crowd turns up.

Well, for 3 and 1/2 quarters it was an absolutely depressing game. The muppets were in their finest form and I don't blame them for games, normally, but it looked like they were conspiring against us yesterday, until something turned midway through that last.
Broad - what a game. Unbelievable, we have probably just seen him get drafted on his form this year and on that game. Outstanding. Can't believe it's the same kid who would not stand under a high ball last year, massive kudos to himself and the coaches for getting him to where he is now.
Blakely in the ruck is such a competitor, fighting out of his division all the time. The number 69 is turning into a decent defender, chasing and putting in all the time yesterday. Notte was his usual reliable, dependable self. Simmo bobbed up when he was needed and must be in some discomfort still.
Rudi I thought was also very, very good yesterday. He is hammer and velvet isn't he? Showed some sublime skills and then would bowl a few over. Love him, just need his fitness to go up a level or 2.
All in all, that last 15 minutes made the day and whole season worthwhile. No, not getting ahead of myself for next week. If we don't make finals we only have ourselves to blame, but we will have beaten all top 5 sides, competed well most of the season and have quite a bit of depth to look forward to.

Great day at the best venue & atmosphere in the WAFL by so far it isnt funny :) ..brilliant vibe with the boys singing the song in the can bar with our thousands of supporters after the game. The Colts & Reserves both had crushing wins against Claremont (not often any side can say that vs the College mob) and will rest up for the finals in a fortnight whilst the League side once again put our supporters through every emotion from torture to ecstasy. All 22 boys had a red hot crack against the umpires pets before Davo sealed it late not long after the maggots had denied him a goal from a "supposed throw" fair dinkum :rolleyes:
We now wait on the result of the WP vs C game next week to see if the League side play finals footy ..hmm what does that lunatic in the stand at Joondalup screech out incessantly ......Caaaaaarrrrrrnnnn Weeeeesssssstttttt! :confused:

Hey fellas, how does everyone think we will fair next season, with the loss of broady and davo from the firsts but adding Crowley I reckon we can except about the same position as this year as well as pushing into the finals.

Looks like Jetta and Newman may be back as well.

I'm pretty optimistic with the game time we've been getting into the kids. There's some serious talent on our list that is ready to break out IMO like Riddoch and Nelson.

Any of you Swans boys no what's happened to Ozfooty? Has the sites administrator had a meltdown over recent criticism?

Too many dh's making unsubstantiated claims with legal ramifications has probably made George pull the pin unfortunately by the looks.

That's a damn shame if true SH. I like so many others who used the ozfooty site had a common interest in sharing information about their respective WAFL clubs. I can barely find anyone who even knows what the WAFL comp is these days never mind talk about the comings of my own club.

Why cant we as users just keep it simple and focus on the footy rather than getting involved with the management and administration of these sites?

George brought it all upon himself IMO. It became a pro SD forum with George pedling everything SD. Some defended him saying it's his forum he can do what he likes but I think it's a conflict of interest. A footy forum should be for everyone to express an opinion even if the site administrator doesn't agree with it. Gremar posted a message George sent which showed Georges attitude was it's my forum I'll do what I want.

Yes I do get the conflict docker. I think if your going to establish and promote the use of a public forum you do need to take an impartial view on how the site is used. Saying that however there does need to be control because as we saw with wafl online when the ferals take over you can loose control. I do know George reached out to users of the site for assistance in its management last year not knowing the result but I can assure you if it meant keeping the site operational many would be willing to assist including myself.

Hi all, I've just signed up for this website after being a regular on Ozfooty. Like everyone else I am a bit shell shocked about the sudden nature of the closure. There did seem to be the emergence of some people with a specific agenda about the Bassendean redevelopment using the opportunity to come on the forum which was primarily about football. These people ( Johnny come latelys?) had only just signed up and were making serious allegations which appeared to have no evidence to back them up and had the potential to lead the posters and owners of the site into legal issues. Whether or not this triggered the close down I'm not sure but it would be nice for the regulars to find out what happened.

Hi Mike, yes Johnny come lately's can make trouble when their purpose is just to target one individual and contribute nothing else to any other worthwhile football discussion. But George was often pedling all matters Swan Districts and made it known he was involved in the club in some capacity. Nothing wrong with that per say but when you are the owner of a forum and administrator you are setting yourself up as a target, especially when you get involved in the politics of your club.

I took note of a post by a poster named odds-on who disputed Georges previous post. Nothing sinister or personal or abusive in it. I took a screen shot if you want to see it. I did so because I suspected George wouldn't like the fact someone disputed what he wrote.

Later that nite the site was down saying due to maintenance and would be back up again shortly. Now it says it will no longer be running. George is a little selfish if you ask me. He is putting himself before the goodwill of hundreds of news thirsty WAFL followers.

You couldn't fault GC passion for the WAFL that's for sure........just think his passion for the SDFC was greater for what he was trying to achieve and clouded his ability to be emotionally impartial.....touch wood the banter can move over here, where moderation is more controlled and less emotional....
Ozfooty.net is back online for the next three months and will continue beyond that if a buyer can be found.

Black Ducks Supporters Thread