Blake's stats

• Thread starter Thread starter Gogeelong

Re: Blakes stats

RE; Byrnes.

7th on the tackle count suggests he does do his fair share of pressuring.

3rd on the goal kicking suggests he is pretty valuable up forward.

3rd on the goal assists suggests he is good at setting them up too.

7th on the inside 50's shows he is getting it up the ground and delivering it.

4th on marks inside 50 shows he is presenting well and team mates are honouring his leads.

these tired lines about his uselessness are not based on fact, but supposed 'observation' with no evidence to support them apart from the frenzied mob mentallity of big footy. As for his one sidedness, yep. But then, these days so is half the bloody AFL.

If you go back far enough you will find i was a Byrnes hater. I didn't think he deserved his spot in the 07 GF. But he has proven himself. People saying he doesn't play well for a whole game are also being silly as he is a forward pocket/flank. There is only so much you can do from that position if the ball isn't coming down. What we expect from small forwards is that they lay a few tackles, slot a few goals, thats it. They largely go unnoticed. That is their role, and Shagga does it well, if he didn't Bomber wouldn't keep selecting him.
This.

Couldn't agree more with you mate.

what's this I hear Walls say last night that Blake will continue to play in the VFL if he doesn't "play the Geelong way" ? Can anyone shed some light on this, please?

Whatever happens with Blake (whether he plays again with us or not) he has been a major contributor to our success. His hard work and durability allowed King the time to get his body right in 07 and Ottens for the last 3(?) years. Simply put, he has carried the load at the club during the period of our greatest success.

This, Thompson would have had a reason to say what he did, but Blake has been an important player to us over the last few years.

Blake has been very important for us, but in hindsight i just cant write off West yet. He has only played 11 games and he busts his balls for us. He has done more second and third efforts in 11 games then blake has probably done in his whole 96 games. SO go easy on West but dont write off Blake either cause snuffleupagus might come back

No one should write Blakey off. He's still well in the mix. We all should remember that both Otto and Tomahawk are injury prone. Blakey is still a better option than West and will be needed should either hit injury problems

I reckon it's a wake-up call for him. If he's got half a brain he'll heed it. My feeling is that Bomber wants him to run harder to contests; cover his opponent when he runs forward; and improve his 2nd and 3rd efforts.

That said, I would still prefer Tomahawk to partner Otto if his foot issues settle. Having a 6'6' mobile ruckman is a real plus IMO.

what's this I hear Walls say last night that Blake will continue to play in the VFL if he doesn't "play the Geelong way" ? Can anyone shed some light on this, please?
bomber made those comments

It would appear they are not happy with parts of his game, or even his attitude.

I didn't think he played that bad last week for him. Makes me wonder what has happened during the week at training. Maybe a little chat about what he needs to do was met with some attitude.

Maybe he is just shit and the coaches didn't want to say that so they made some bs about playing the geelong way.

well if that was true then he would have been dropped long before now. I think you are mixing up what you think of Blake rather than any known facts. In regards to facts all we know is an off the cuff comment by Bomber, what happened to cause that is just pure speculation.

No I don't think so. The "bad mood" reason is observed for when coaches get pressed on the same question repeatedly in a presser and answer it out of furstration, being more blunt than you'd expect in the process. It was a 'friendly' on ground chat with the TEN people, they didn't even press him on Blake, he volunteered the fact. So whatever is going on, one thing is that Bomber was deliberately trying to make a point, it wasn't his mood or anything. Even for those of us who don't understand it, we ought to give the coach the benefit of the doubt, for his record shows he knows what he's doing.

As for the lollies....some people just have weaknesses...me too with lollies ;)

You make some other decent points, the only real thing is Hawkins didn't ruck much tonight so it's hard to judge him in that role. He'll ruck more next week I'd say (when Pods returns for West) and we'll get a better line then...he'd want to be able to beat Leigh Brown if he's going to have an impact for us as a ruckman in the finals.

Blake has served the club well, and I personally wouldn't have dropped him, but I can see the rationale behind it. People like you forget that for what we lose without Blake as a tap ruckman, we gain in so many other areas by the change, so it might be a net nil all draw if not a win. If that is, IF, Otto's body is up to shouldering 70 + %, which is what I worry about. Time will tell.

Byrnes tried tonight, but made some real errors, particularly with handballs, and didn't put in heaps of defensive pressure. I think he may well be the other one to miss out.

Pure Ownage - "bad mood" was tongue in cheek. What Bomber did was calculated but I'm not sure it was the right thing to do unless the message was for people other than Blake ie., Manager? :confused: Just speculating but anything that needed to be said to Blake himself should have been said at training during the week or in meetings afterwards.

RE West - a few people really love him him but has he ever performed better possessions wise than Blake?

For the record, I too want to see Blake tackle more and put his body in the bottom of the pack more. I actually think his running to position to present an option for a handball is quite good and when he's in space he always seems to deliver the ball spot on by foot. There was a game a few months back where Blake was second in contested possessions only to Ablett and Blake was well ahead of whoever came 3rd. I want to see more games like that from Blake and I daresay if he produces a few of those (and keeps kicking goals in the VFL) then the club will consider him.

Anyway, I stand by my concerns over Ottens and Hawkins as a ruck pair. What if Collingwood bring back Fraser next week to partner Jolly? Would you seriously feel comfortable with Ottens in his present form (only fair) and Hawkins' lack of experience, ruck nous and fitness? I wouldn't. And even if Collingwood just play Leigh Brown in the ruck he has done far more of it than Hawkins.

RE Lollies - a real weakness for Strawberry Creams and Snakes. :thumbsu:

well if that was true then he would have been dropped long before now. I think you are mixing up what you think of Blake rather than any known facts. In regards to facts all we know is an off the cuff comment by Bomber, what happened to cause that is just pure speculation.

Disagree with that. Blake wouldnt have been dropped earlier as Ottens was injured, and we wouldnt go in without Ottens and Blake, especially as Hawkins wasnt playing in the ruck till half way through the year.

Is West better then Blake?...... not sure

Blake's better in the ruck contests, while West has a better work ethic around the ground.

If only we could combine Blake's ruck work with West's work ethic, we'd have a star on our hands. But then again, we had a guy like that last year, but let him go. :o

What has happened to Dawson Simpson, I thought he showed potential when he played.

not sure whats happened to big Dawson but,maybe not a good idea having a cooked otto and a raw Dawson playing together.l like westy and he's more mobile around the ground,but if he's so god dam mobile why cant he get more of the pill?dawson will bye pass west in 12 or so months.

Disagree with that. Blake wouldnt have been dropped earlier as Ottens was injured, and we wouldnt go in without Ottens and Blake, especially as Hawkins wasnt playing in the ruck till half way through the year.

Fair point, but the way I see it, Blake has been poor at stuff like tackles etc, not just this year, but his whole career, so if that's the reason for his being dropped then it's very strange he's never been dropped before. Sure we wouldn't have done it while Otto was out, but I would have thought we would have done it last year, or at the start of this year, if that was the reason.

What has happened to Dawson Simpson, I thought he showed potential when he played.

Dawson was good in the senior games he played, but since he went back to the twos he hasn't done much, in fact over the last 6 weeks Westy has clearly outperformed Dawson in the games they've played together, which is why he got the call up. The coaches are just rewarding good form.

In Bomber's pre match interview on TEN, he said in regards to the outs that Pods was just being rested because he was sore, but that Blake needed to go back to the VFL "and decide if he wants to play our way or not". It was a fairly clear message and hence all the discussion in this thread.

Is West better then Blake?...... not sure
Overall, no. Blake is very good at link play and better at setting up our clearances, not a good contested mark,and an average kick at goal.
West tries harder around the ground, but is not really skilled in any area. I think Bomber wanted to show Mummy what he was missing out on last night by not playing Blake, and it worked. Will be a long time before Mummy enjoys premiership success, and had he stayed, one of West/ Blake would be the ones missing out on that chance this year.
Probably the right time to drop him this week, but if we play finals against teams with good competitive rucks, like Saints, Pies and Dogs, we'll need Ottens fit, and Blake, IMO. Hawkins could be useful against Hawks, and I recall the Blake/Hawkins combination playing really well against Pies.

What has happened to reverse Bomber's support of Blake, unquestionably and publicly, to now saying he has to make sure he plays the team way? Is it something at training recently, because nothing obviously occurred last week against Lions that reflected poorer play? Is it just his way of dealing with the dilemma of everyone being available?

I clearly recall in 07, Blake had played his best game, kicked 2 goals against Tigers, and it was looking like King would never get back in. So Blake was rested the next week or 2, and was furious because he wasn't needing rest. Then he got back in and had a poor game against Pies in the prelim and the rest is history. Point is his momentum and confidence were sapped.

He has served us really well and consistently when Ottens is out injured, frequently, and now with all available, is being squeezed out. Bomber can't really come out and say that but it SEEMS to be his way of dealing with it, and that's his prerogative, but a little misleading, unless thereis something we don't know.

That is a crap comment, and your opinion, though obviously not unique around here.

Pure Ownage - "bad mood" was tongue in cheek. What Bomber did was calculated but I'm not sure it was the right thing to do unless the message was for people other than Blake ie., Manager? :confused: Just speculating but anything that needed to be said to Blake himself should have been said at training during the week or in meetings afterwards.

RE West - a few people really love him him but has he ever performed better possessions wise than Blake?

For the record, I too want to see Blake tackle more and put his body in the bottom of the pack more. I actually think his running to position to present an option for a handball is quite good and when he's in space he always seems to deliver the ball spot on by foot. There was a game a few months back where Blake was second in contested possessions only to Ablett and Blake was well ahead of whoever came 3rd. I want to see more games like that from Blake and I daresay if he produces a few of those (and keeps kicking goals in the VFL) then the club will consider him.

Anyway, I stand by my concerns over Ottens and Hawkins as a ruck pair. What if Collingwood bring back Fraser next week to partner Jolly? Would you seriously feel comfortable with Ottens in his present form (only fair) and Hawkins' lack of experience, ruck nous and fitness? I wouldn't. And even if Collingwood just play Leigh Brown in the ruck he has done far more of it than Hawkins.

RE Lollies - a real weakness for Strawberry Creams and Snakes. :thumbsu:
Agree, and hope you are right . Maybe it's going to promote really healthy competitiveness for spots instead of jobs for certain.

Much more importantly than an "off the cuff" comment is the decision to drop him. Both the comment and the relegation were considered IMHO. Also, as others have suggested, the relegation may well have come earlier had there not been mitigating circumstances. If he doesn't heed the direct warning he's only got himself to blame if he doesn't play finals footy.

So what is the direct warning, and what has he not done this year that he did last year? Mixed messages.

Bomber made it clear when Mummy was deciding whether to leave or not, that he believed that Mummy would be a lock in by mid year. I think they have given Blake every chance, but it is not acceptable to be just a tap ruckman, as you can't afford that luxury.

it would be good if the mummy got home sick.

So what is the direct warning, and what has he not done this year that he did last year? Mixed messages.

Read a couple of my earlier posts for my opinions on that. Only the Match Committee would know precisely what team orientated things he's not doing this year and how often and over what period they've been on his case over them. But Bomber's comment and the fact that he's been dropped should be sufficient evidence I would have thought that there have been warnings. You appear not to be following the thread very well, 'V'

Fine points Ammo , but pls explain why only 3, I repeat 3 weeks ago, Bomber publicly declared his support for Blakey and that he was very happy with his work ethic, his endurance and his ruck work. I follow your points clearly, but those deficiencies have been in existence forever, and this year, most seem to agree, there has been improvement in some aspects of those deficiencies. Therein lies the mystery of his dropping to me and others. Have you read all my diatribe? Any worthy points at all?

We all understand team balance, and Hawkins is now available, the question is Bomber's pointed comments in contrast to his praise only weeks ago.