Autopsy Blue beat Cats by 18 points.

The season is looking shaky now. Stewart is clearly nothing like the player we know. Needs to get his body right. A midfield that relies too heavily on too few. And a bottom 4-6 who are just bog ordinary.
While I am fired up I'm going to offer some roasts that I will immediately track back on when they start playing well.

-MOC is a liability offensively.

-Neale is basically Henry Playfair in disguise.

-Stengle seems checked out.

-Ollie Henry completely out of form offensively and gives nothing defensively.

-Mullin must be a real good bloke or something.

I think Atkins is tackled as often as he tackles. There is no stat for that but he is HTB more than any player I have seen.
That's because he's prepared to do the hard stuff and not give up the ball without a fight guts footballer.

I thought that Knevitt had turned the corner at the end of 2024. He started dominating at VFL level. He was talked up as a regular AFl player for 2025. It hasn't happened. OHenry's career is at the crossroads. He might only end up as a good VFL player. He doesn't have the tank or the desire needed for AFL. This is why Mannagh has been so impressive. He has all the attributes, desire, gut running, attack on the ball that others will never have.
Mannagh wasn't playing AFL at the age of Knevitt or OHenry....Maybe we should give them more time too?

One thing I can't comprehend from yesterday was the pivotal one on one contest between Weitering and Dangerfield. It was a massive moment in the game.

I think I'm right in saying it ended up with Weitering getting a free for holding the ball against Dangerfield. I'm guessing the umpires had an impeded view but the vision clearly showed Dangerfield getting a handball away, and then being taken high by Weitering.

The one up the other end was Mullin's run down tackle on McKay. I reckon it was as close to a perfectly executed tackle as you'd see, and the side on vision clearly showed him roll McKay in the tackle. Again, I reckon the umpires view was impeded and from behind the umpire just took a calculated guess and paid in the back. If Mullin gets that free at half back when all the Carlton players had pushed forward it could easily have seen a turnover goal in our favour.

Both were huge moments.

So kind. Impeded - by one eye, but a flat out error/mistake/stuff up.
Scott needed a straight jacket in the box.

It has nothing to do with his brother, he was close to best on ground in round one. He is not a number one ruck but can play as an extra midfielder and second ruck as Blicavs has done for years.
He's had one good game after seven rounds. Unlike his brother, he is a bit soft and doesn't have that competitive edge to really mix it in the ruck/midfield.

This week has a bit of that feel to it - Cats like to debut a player in a big game.

Miers more than likely back so Wiltshire drops out I think. He'll also likely be without those white shorts as the stain remover will be hard pressed to remove the brown tinge. There's a few things for the match committee to consider.

-- Our ruck situation. Do they squeeze one more out of Rhys
-- Our backline. If both Henry and Kolo are back we might manage the ruck situation by putting Blicavs up against Collingwood's Cameron and a chopout from SDK
-- Our forwards. I think Neale is very close to getting a VFL spell. SDK changing between ruck and forward?
-- Midfield setup. Might depend on Knevitt's availability. And also whether they want Clohesy back in / or try out Stevens.
JJ, re the brown tinge, do you mean Miers or Wiltshire?

He's had one good game after seven rounds. Unlike his brother, he is a bit soft and doesn't have that competitive edge to really mix it in the ruck/midfield.
I can remember when Blitz was only getting games because he was a good car washer.Give it time big bloke can take time.

I thought that was cause he had good running patterns

I should be mandatory he gives the finger discretely each week then we could play find the finger post game a bit like Jeff Hook or the old news paper picture find the footy.

Didn't he do one at training, I'm sure I saw it on the news.

I wanna see how high the fines go :p

44 to 24 free kicks in the last two weeks. What is going on? We are getting slaughtered by the whistle.
Can't criticise the AFL without consequences. The real problem is we are getting pinged inconsistently and not getting rewarded consistently. It must be very frustrating for the players, let alone us unbiased supporters.

I keep reading that we got smashed in the clearances. This isn’t so. At half time we were down by 19 points and it was -7 in clearances (-8 in stoppages and +1 centre) and at the end it was -6 clearances losing by 18 points.

We. Were. Beaten. On. The. Outside.

-75 uncontested
-48 marks

I think the midfield battle story isn’t told completely by stats either and needs an eyeball test applied.

Who if our midfielders outside of baz played an A game?? And he has some real shanked kicks and was largely ineffective for chunks of the game.

We largely struggled as a midfield collective to have any real meaningful impact around the stoppages and clearances. Most of our disposals were rushed kicks forward from these situations that were picked off by Carlton.
We are a very undamagibg team around the ball.

Holmes was largely non impactful, as was Atkins, Clark, bowes. Which is why I feel like we tried to run Stengle thru there for a few minutes to see if we could have a player with some speed and zip make more of an impact around congestion

We lack some serious A grade talent in there.

Didn't he do one at training, I'm sure I saw it on the news.

I wanna see how high the fines go :p
It was after training when he was walking with Scott - flipped an underhand bird to 7 News

Loved it

The geelong hatred even when we lose a game is intense… dilusional

Apparently Scotty is a huge sook apparently complaining we lost due to the six day break… what on earth do Carlton fans listen to??

Scott was asked about this and he said he believes it didn’t impact the result…

And apparently we are making excuses saying we played poorly.. well we did play poorly…

What on earth is he supposed to say?? Get in there and talk about how special Carlton is for 13 minutes? Instead of talking about geelongs performance.

Instead of trump derangement syndrome, it’s geelong derangement syndrome all across the league

Carlton fans going nuts on social media over Danger not getting cited for breaking Silvagni's hand with his pec.

He lost a Brownlow for a textbook tackle on Kreuzer several years ago - what more do they want?

Haven't kept an eye on it but it seems players usually miss one game

Granted Miers was at the pretty severe end of the scale so wouldn't be surprised if they were cautious

That belt he got was terrible

Yes as a supporter you would love to have him playing against Collingwood , however common sense says there is no way he should play , given how hard that hit was

Carlton fans going nuts on social media over Danger not getting cited for breaking Silvagni's hand with his pec.

He lost a Brownlow for a textbook tackle on Kreuzer several years ago - what more do they want?
I thought he broke Silvagni's hand with a savage look.

The geelong hatred even when we lose a game is intense… dilusional

Apparently Scotty is a huge sook apparently complaining we lost due to the six day break… what on earth do Carlton fans listen to??

Scott was asked about this and he said he believes it didn’t impact the result…

And apparently we are making excuses saying we played poorly.. well we did play poorly…

What on earth is he supposed to say?? Get in there and talk about how special Carlton is for 13 minutes? Instead of talking about geelongs performance.

Instead of trump derangement syndrome, it’s geelong derangement syndrome all across the league

Nuffies on every board but I like how you gave trump a small t.

Autopsy Blue beat Cats by 18 points.