Bluemour Discussion Thread IX

Simpson/Daisy 2019

Daisy impressed me yesterday. Worked both ways. If he gets a deal for 2019 he deserves it but I still think it's important that others play ahead of him. Having him the 2's teaching the youngsters and putting pressure on others for selection is a positive. Credit where it's due

Simpson is the type that could hold his form for another year or so. Star

To add to this also. Just got to work. Bloke sitting here beside me is a 40yr Saints member, who went into rooms after HAW game. Spoke with a club official about their team. Old mate here says - we could do with another mobile forward. Official says - we’d love Lukosius but won’t get anywhere near him. Old mate says - Blues? Official says - (something like)

“No, Blues will be trading out of 1 and also their priority pick which will also be up there. They’ve got that many irons in the fire and a heap of good picks this year and next. Watch for them this offseason, they’re going to go real hard at established talent. They’re looking to get some big names in. Got good kids, but a big gap behind them. Looking to fill that gap.”

Old mate - “Bloke at works a blue. Any names?”

Official - “GWS again. Heard Shiel and some, Setterfield has been mentioned, good player, but ADE are right in there for Lukosius, but there’s a heap of teams enquiring and a lot of good names mentioned. Some teams also need points and want their early/Mid 2nd rounders. SOS is happy to deal their picks. Expect a lot of movement at top end, Suns too.”

I’m dictating it straight from him. Old mate just said, Saints expect AFL to give Blues a high PP as the league loses out when we struggle. Called it “much better business for AFL when the Top 4 Vic teams are doing well. Carlton at the bottom costs them money.”

There it is FWIW, dissect as you will. My take is - experience over prospective talent. Happy with that.
Great googa Mooga!!!! That's huge. Could be the mother of all trade periods this year....need to make sure I have a huge supply of popcorn and unlimited domestic clearance to be on Big footy 24/7. :)

Liked for the use of the term 'great googa mooga'.

McGovern has agreed to terms with us, so now its about getting the right deal for the crows. What that looks like right now is up in the air as we will be super active come trade period.

Interesting development MS3. Is it being suggested that pick 1 will be included in any deal for Gov?

Yes both, no we won't be reaching for a McVeigh type. Expect us to only bring players that fill that age hole we have that Bolton/SOS have talked about. Both players happy to be leaders in the VFL if the game passes them by next year.

That's good.

We're bound to have a change of captaincy and I think it's a bit of a slap in the face to the new captain, the old captain and other leaders, to bring in someone the way Brisbane did with Hodge this year. If we did it last year for 2018 then fine, but not for 2019.

I like the idea of backing the new regime and not having some fillers because we somehow don't quite trust them.

That's good.

We're bound to have a change of captaincy and I think it's a bit of a slap in the face to the new captain, the old captain and other leaders, to bring in someone the way Brisbane did with Hodge this year. If we did it last year for 2018 then fine, but not for 2019.

I like the idea of backing the new regime and not having some fillers because we somehow don't quite trust them.

Make Cripps & Docherty co-captains. Supported by Simpson Curnow Kruezer Thomas Murphy is probably enough leadership.

McGovern has agreed to terms with us, so now its about getting the right deal for the crows. What that looks like right now is up in the air as we will be super active come trade period.

I just can't see it even though McGovern at his best is a very good player.

How does the shape of the squad look with McGovern involved?
There must be a bigger plan afoot if we're seriously engaging McGovern, but it just looks to be ever so risky to me.

I just can't see it even though McGovern at his best is a very good player.

How does the shape of the squad look with McGovern involved?
There must be a bigger plan afoot if we're seriously engaging McGovern, but it just looks to be ever so risky to me.
I'm with you on this Harks... do we really need him. I thought that this year MIDS are the high priority.. hopefully we aren't giving too much away for him.

The only way I see pick #1 being involved is if we get a pre-round 1 priority pick. So unlikely that'll happen but if it does:

#1 (CB - PP), #2 (GC - PP), #3 (CB), #4 (GC), #5 (GC - FA compo)

For #1, I would think would only go if they offer up #9 + #15 + McGovern.

We end up with #3, leaving Lukosius for the Crows and Rankine for the Suns while we take Walsh. Then the Suns can take two of Smith/M.King/B.King.

I doubt Adelaide will sell the farm like that. We end up with something like #3 + #9 + #15 + #26 + #28 + McGovern

To be honest, if we did get a pre-round 1 pp, I'd rather we keep it anyway.

Rate McGovern as a early to mid 2nd, so it would be enough. But with the Crows in the market for early picks, that trade will be interesting

I'd be happy with Pick 25. Just wonder if we can leverage Pick One? McGovern, Pick 8 and maybe a young Vic like Gallucci or our second rounder? Going to be interesting trade period.

I don't see McGovern as a need, but I have a fair amount of faith in SOS.
Would need a hell of a lot more from the Crows in terms of peak age guns to mean us missing on Walsh.

I'm with you on this Harks... do we really need him. I thought that this year MIDS are the high priority.. hopefully we aren't giving too much away for him.

I reckon he's one of those players that will really help us.

24 next year so still 7-8 years in him but has a mature body. Mobile forward who can go up the ground. Next to McKay/Charlie and/or Kerr/TDK it makes us flexible and a hard side to match up. I still think Charlie will spend time in the middle.

I am very happy to get him. Then concentrate on mids

Thanks for the update, just hope it is not true, as I don’t know why we are after another tall, when we need more midfielders.

I'd be happy with Pick 25. Just wonder if we can leverage Pick One? McGovern, Pick 8 and maybe a young Vic like Gallucci or our second rounder? Going to be interesting trade period.

In theory, I have no issue with it, but if we are adding a McGovern, can't see him also taking Lukosius, but by all reports, SOS is keen on Walsh.

It might come into play, if we receive an earlier pp, rather than if it is end of 1st round

If SOS wants Walsh as much as TheRedPill suggests, there is no way we'd be using it in a trade for McGovern, unless somehow Adelaide traded along to get Lukosius and we were still assured of Walsh at say a pick #4 or #5 and that would be way too hard to orchestrate.

I'm comfortable that the #1 won't be leaving us, unless it was for a #2, #3 or #4 with the assurance that Walsh will be ours.