Bluey or whoever - do your job

Danny Chook Fan Club

Let me first say that I am not a fan of censorship, and that forums such as these work best as open forums where the users are trusted and mature enough to co-exist peacefully.

That said, the absolutely disgraceful post that has been up on this site since this morning does none of us any credit. There is a clear difference between freedom of speech and abuse, and clearly this post falls under the abuse category.

Clearly we are all appalled by it. Yet twelve hours on, the post remains on the site. Bluey, if you are charged with the maintenance of this site, and you have seen the post to which I refer and haven't deleted it, then you are negligent in that role. If anyone else who posts here has the ability to delete posts, the same applies.

Given the racism discussion that went on over the last two days, I think I have a fair idea who would be responsible for them, and I'm about to post elsewhere to that effect. However, I and most users here are powerless to do anything about it. Those that do have the power should exercise it.

The photo and the sentiments attached to it are absolutely unacceptable, and the sooner it is removed the better.

For Christ sake , sorry, for "all alleged half-human half-divine entities sent to redeem a select group of homo- sapien"'s sake... take the PC and shove it. The net is the last refuge of FREE SPEECH and while I think, for example, joffa's jokes about Lade's broken leg were PATHETIC, she has the right to make as big a twit of herself as she wants.
Mud

Bluey does a good job.
But, he goes missing for long periods - probably because of work commitements. I mean, hes whole life wouldn't revolve around BF.

But there are lots of people, myself included, who post on here just about every day.
I think he should delegate jobs, such as deletion of posts, IP banning, etc,. to various members who have been here for a while and he can trust to do the job effectively.

------------------
Go to Footy Tips and join the Big Footy tipping competition. For Information on how to join, just ask.

visit the Easts Cricket Club

A must for anybody into statistics - http://cromulent.freehosting.net/

Originally posted by Mudholian:
For Christ sake , sorry, for "all alleged half-human half-divine entities sent to redeem a select group of homo- sapien"'s sake... take the PC and shove it. The net is the last refuge of FREE SPEECH and while I think, for example, joffa's jokes about Lade's broken leg were PATHETIC, she has the right to make as big a twit of herself as she wants.
Mud

Joffa can be annoying but that is the point he/she comes here. they aim to take the piss out of everyone. That is acceptable.

But what SS J posted is totally unacceptable. Its not free speech. its ****in sick. thats what it is. were talking about they lowest point in the history of mankind here, and some ****in tosser tries to insult our intelligence over it.

Its totally sick, that guy shouldn't even be alowed to live, let alone post on BF.

------------------
Go to Footy Tips and join the Big Footy tipping competition. For Information on how to join, just ask.

visit the Easts Cricket Club

A must for anybody into statistics - http://cromulent.freehosting.net/

[This message has been edited by WCE2000 (edited 07 March 2001).]

The net is the last refuge of FREE SPEECH

Where's the limit Mud? What's sacrosanct? Is threatening violence free speech? Child pornography? You can shout free speech as loud as you like, but some things are beyond the realms of decency, and those photos are one example.

Actually, the net is no longer any sort of sort of safe haven for slander and libel (AKA like Parliamentary Privelege) any more. There's been a couple of high profile cases where ISPs have had to pay up big time for libellious abuse on their boards (Yahoo in France is one and Demon.net in UK is another)... so get your facts right.

Chook,
it aint me or koj so keep thinking about who dunnit cuz i dont have a clue about any of that nazi stuff nor does my cousin koj....he is in hiding i have tried to contact him on icq but he seems like he knows what hes done wrong and doesnt want a spray from me....

any way id like to say sorry on behalf of my cousin for his language.....and i my self will refrain from using the demon president in any of my posts from now on...

every body just chill out and lets talk footy again.....

i think the diversions have come cuz there is only 4 clubs playing....and other supporters have nothing else to talk about...
so lets get on with our lives and the moderator should be deleting the insulting posts and have a clear board again....

also i am willing to moderate on big footy if there is a position available....i check the boards regularly and i will make sure everything is clean and that swearing and abuse will not be tolerated...so bluey if your still with us give me a holler at

phreeze77@hotmail.com

have a good day evening what ever

[This message has been edited by phreeze77 (edited 07 March 2001).]

Originally posted by The Dutchman!:
Actually, the net is no longer any sort of sort of safe haven for slander and libel (AKA like Parliamentary Privelege) any more. There's been a couple of high profile cases where ISPs have had to pay up big time for libellious abuse on their boards (Yahoo in France is one and Demon.net in UK is another)... so get your facts right.

Well you didn't quote anyone so I have no idea who you are asking to "get the facts right". But true, anyone who breaks the local national law on the net is fair game, but I think alleged holocaust pics would be public domain.
Mud

Is that the holocaust is 'alleged' or the pics might not be of the holocaust?

Right click on the pic - it will show the site they came from. Very good informative site.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club:
Where's the limit Mud? What's sacrosanct? Is threatening violence free speech? Child pornography? You can shout free speech as loud as you like, but some things are beyond the realms of decency, and those photos are one example.

If the Jews want to use the holocaust for political leverage than the holocaust archive should be available to anyone else who has a different purpose. The limit is, in my view, expicitly publishing here malicious allegations that someone has commited an offense. Totally different to posting historical archives.
Mud

Originally posted by WCE2000:
Joffa can be annoying but that is the point he/she comes here. they aim to take the piss out of everyone. That is acceptable.

But what SS J posted is totally unacceptable. Its not free speech. its ****in sick. thats what it is. were talking about they lowest point in the history of mankind here, and some ****in tosser tries to insult our intelligence over it.

Its totally sick, that guy shouldn't even be alowed to live, let alone post on BF.

So you are saying you would commit murder rahter than have someone post something you found unsettling. Think about it.
Mud

Dont blame Bluey, he does a damn fine job here. He cant be here all the time and im sure as soon as he sees it it will be taken off straight away.

------------------
All the people in the broken homes dont wanna fight no more. All the people nursing shattered bones dont wanna fight no more. But theres no profit in peace so we gotta fight some more.

Mud

I'VE MADE SOME BORDERLINE OFFENSIVE JOKES TOO, BUT ONLY A SOCIOPATH COULD CONSIDER SS'S POST A JOKE OR FIND ANY HUMOUR IN IT AT ALL. THERE IS AN EXPONENTIAL DIFFERENCE BETWEEN CALLING SOMEONE A FAIRY OR A CALLING CARLTON "WOGLAND" AND MAKING LIGHT OF PEOPLE'S DEATHS.

TO COMPARE SS'S POST TO JOFFA'S BROKEN LEG JOKE IS AN INSULT TO HIM AND SPEAKS VERY POORLY FOR YOUR INTELLIGENCE AND SKILLS OF DISCERNMENT, MUDHOLIAN!

WHERE THE PHOTO CAME FROM DOESN'T MATTER. SS'S POST WASN'T MEANT TO BE INFORMATIVE AND YOU KNOW IT YOU MORON w***er BITCH!

[This message has been edited by TONY SHAW (edited 08 March 2001).]

Originally posted by jod23:
Dont blame Bluey, he does a damn fine job here. He cant be here all the time and im sure as soon as he sees it it will be taken off straight away.

jod, the point I'm making is that the thing was/is up for too long, and if Bluey hadn't seen it, then there's nothing he could do about it. The post certainly wasn't designed to have a shot at him.

Does anyone else assist Bluey in moderating the board?

Yeah no worries Chookyboy wasnt having a dig at you or anything.

------------------
All the people in the broken homes dont wanna fight no more. All the people nursing shattered bones dont wanna fight no more. But theres no profit in peace so we gotta fight some more.