Bob Murphy

Classy thread lads and lasses. Shame that such an innocuous couple of seconds overshadowed two hours of riveting football between the two of us. I get the feeling Bob won't let it go easily, he is so invested in the club and what we're building that i reckon he'll give the comeback a red hot crack.

As for your boys, they just keep on keeping on. Amazing talent across the board and i hope that we can get close to what you have done/doing. All the best and fingers crossed we cross paths again in October, September is overrated.

I quite often see Bob when I'm getting coffee while walking my kid on the weekends.

He's the only non-Hawks player who when I see I have to resist the urge to hug and tell him how much I love his footy. And how much I love his public approach to footy and life in general.

If it's time for him, I wish him all the best. Really shitty luck.

But I reckon no matter what he chooses to do, or his destiny is forced upon him, he'll have no trouble being successful in whatever he chooses to do. Legend.

Apologies for the intrusion, but I just noticed this thread...

Class act to have a thread devoted to a player from the opposition! Well done.

Like most Dogfolk, I'm gutted for Bobby. One of the greats of the club, no question.

I have to admit I wasn't taking much notice of Sicily's kick at the time. Just ripped that Murph was being carried off.
All of our supporters were in shock rather than being concerned with the result. The Dogs had shown what they're capable of, so it didn't really matter. The sight of our leader effectively crippled was enough to send us into a state of disbelief.

The Hawks showed once again why they're the benchmark, and one of the all-time great sides.

Thanks again for your class and your sportsmanship.

Class act to have a thread devoted to a player from the opposition! Well done.
There's a pretty strong connection now with Bevo and Suckers over there and we still can't thank you enough for Brian.

Lake being attacked for his very honest and reasonable comments about Murphy is ridiculous. Hero worshipping of Bob Murphy is going a bit far. It's unfortunate that he has done his knee and I empathise with him on that level but thats about the extent of it. He's just a footballer and he's not dying. The media seem intent on making him a poster child of good-blokiness. Its a bit contrived in my opinion.

This

When a journalist tries to trend a #prayforbob hashtag its ridiculous.
While the football world mourns Bobs crook leg lets hope they find the time to mourn and spare a thought for people doing it genuinely tough #prayforkumamoto two huge earthquakes and 220 tremors over 48 hours and plenty dead... a bit of reality folks

This

While the football world mourns Bobs crook leg lets hope they find the time to mourn and spare a thought for people doing it genuinely tough #prayforkumamoto two huge earthquakes and 220 tremors over 48 hours and plenty dead... a bit of reality folks

I'm with you, mate. Bob Murphy is probably a good guy, a great family man, I don't know him, but the huge outpouring of grief is a little embarrassing.

I feel sorry for him, but I feel just as sorry for a number of Hawthorn players who've had their careers wrecked by knee injuries. Poor old Max Bailey, he played in a premiership but his career was finished at 27.
We also have Brendan Whitecross and Alex Woodward on our list who are trying to overcome double knee injuries; their careers are probably over too.

Maybe the fact that Murphy has never had any success is part of that.

This

Or don't pray at all, since it's ****ing useless.

Peter Gordon giving a sneaky backhand to Hodgey while talking about Bob Murphy on ABC.

Saying that Bob Murphy is more of a spiritual leader then Hodgey, and that Bob is more loved by Bulldogs fan, than Hodge is by Hawks fans.

Wow.

Bob is great, but come on ... talking about Hodgey like that is crazy.

Peter Gordon giving a sneaky backhand to Hodgey while talking about Bob Murphy on ABC.

Saying that Bob Murphy is more of a spiritual leader then Hodgey, and that Bob is more loved by Bulldogs fan, than Hodge is by Hawks fans.

Wow.

Well it's not like he can compare on-field achievements now is it! :p

Plus, who ever listens to Peter Gordon?

Wow.

Who's Peter Gordon? A talkback guy?

I don't think we love Hodge in the slightly effeminate way people go on about Murphy. He's just an alpha wolf.

Who's Peter Gordon? A talkback guy?

I don't think we love Hodge in the slightly effeminate way people go on about Murphy. He's just an alpha wolf.
Doggies president and a lawyer so he thinks he knows stuff about stuff and stuff

Murphy is a good player and captain for them and seems like a nice guy but a bit too snaggy for me, no one comes close to Hodgey on any level, he's hands down the best in all departments :cool:
Why Bumps I do believe you just said oh Captain my captain

Well it's no secret Hodgey is a sexy beast :D

But getting back to Bob, if he is such a good captain ans spiritual leader (which I think is probably true) it begs the question why did it take them so long to appoint him to the role? Clearly Griffen was not right for the job.

Well it's no secret Hodgey is a sexy beast :D

But getting back to Bob, if he is such a good captain ans spiritual leader (which I think is probably true) it begs the question why did it take them so long to appoint him to the role? Clearly Griffen was not right for the job.
Took Bevo to become coach