Bob Murphy

• Thread starter Thread starter Jane Doe

7895710-3x2-700x467.jpg

Shame he didn't go the full John Terry .... as he was wearing his Bulldogs jumper underneath the tracksuit

How is the context any different? They both impact their clubs in similar ways whilst not being able to play.

Roughead has 4 premiership medals already and is 29. Murphy is 34 and has zero.

The Bulldogs hadn't won a flag since 1954. Hawthorn have won 9 just in the period of time Murphy has been alive.

The only comparable scenario I could see would be if St Kilda had won the flag (heh) and Nick Riewoldt was out injured.

It is a feel good story. What is wrong with a bit of love for one of the AFL good blokes?
The dogs have just won their 1st flag since forever. The only people around that could remember their last, would be pensioners now.
This man is the blood in the veins of this team and personally I am rapt for him. Even though he has been struck down with injury, I have no doubt he would have been an inspiration to all those boys and virtually a second coach to quite a few.
He is their leader, their mentor and someone the whole club admires.
Yes he didn't play but he was every bit a part of that team and deserves the admiration he receives.
IMO the club as a whole, just oozes class.

i havnt read a single one, but i cant turn the tv in without hearing about it.

I hope he makes a full recovery....id hate to see what it would be like if he had complications
what about the articles about how hes missed his chance etc. Get over it mate

Come in thread
Complain about murphy telling everyone
Say you haven't read any of the articles where he's "telling everyone"
???????
Profit

The Bulldogs hadn't won a flag since 1954. Hawthorn have won 9 just in the period of time Murphy has been alive.

The only comparable scenario I could see would be if St Kilda had won the flag (heh) and Nick Riewoldt was out injured.

Or Melbourne winning one and Jones being injured. I would want him to get the exact same treatment as Bob.

I think its great he has been recognised for his leadership within the club of the dogs, but even bob im sure would not want anymore spotlight on him and not on that group of 22 blokes who broke the drought.

so over hearing about robert murphy- you have a crook knee, stop telling us about it
i havnt read a single one, but i cant turn the tv in without hearing about it.

I hope he makes a full recovery....id hate to see what it would be like if he had complications

Okay, now I'm confused.

First you're telling us that he is 'telling us about it'

Then you say you haven't read a single article of his, despite knowledge that his articles are that of a whinging nature.

Pls send help.

S

so your comparing a man that is on his death bed with a Man that's done his knew?
Nope, I think there's a connection between allowing someone that's poured his heart and soul internally into a football club to enjoy and join in on the celebrations, regardless of the situation that disallows them from having an input on the field.

Say Crawford was injured in 2008. Do you reckon he wouldn't have been celebrating alongside the rest of the players the way Bob is?

Admittedly a better example than Roughead.

Let's also say that in years prior Mitchell walked out, Clarkson got sacked and Crawford took the club on his own back because of all the turmoil, made an instant improvement in year 1 and made a flag in year 2..

Stewie Maxfield was the Swans captain (and 200 game veteran) at the start of 2005, played 5 games. Injured his knee. 72 year drought. I don't remember there being such a fuss. I guess he'll get a medal now.

Did anything of any significance happen to Sydney in 2003?

I think you're missing the point, it has nothing to do with the drought, it has to do with what Murphy does behind the scenes and has done behind the scenes with the coaching group and playing group collectively to build the side to this point.

Did any one from the club call him on stage? Offer him their medal? Say they were going to request from the league? #bloodsculture