MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl

Adelaide Crows
So guys, with my special boy not playing for the next couple of weeks - who will be given a chance?

Bock - Nathan is a bit older and perhaps bigger and stronger. I wouldn't mind seeing him get a game. He played quite well in the Wizard Cup of 2002 when he was a rookie. Kicked 3 goals I think for the Eagles on Saturday.

Hentschell - Trent didn't have a terrific first up game but perhaps with the King sitting at FF it might give him a bit more room to move at CHF. He played quite well and kicked 3 goals on Saturday for the Eagles.

Rutten - I haven't seen Ben play too much and what I have seen he seems more of a CHB, but he could possibly fill the void. He is a big lad and it would be interesting to see how he would go.

what does anyone else think?

k
xx

OK first of all Rutten is out for 5 weeks with broken thumb.:(
Bock kicked 1.3 for the Eagles on the weekend and has taken 5 marks. He is too skinny for AFL at this stage. He is not bulky enough to hold down a KP but in time I see him beeing a very good KP player.

IMHO Trent Hentschel is not quite ready for AFL but since Rutten is out then I think its between him and Schell. This being the case I would pick Hentschel but I think selectors might favor Schell since he is more experienced.

As I said if Rutten was fit I would pick Rutten since he is not I would go for Hentschel;)

geez Stiffy, Stevo's injury must have effected me more than I thought!

I wasn't aware Rutten had hurt his thumb - must be catching since Begley, Welshy and now Rutten are all suffering from thumb injuries - interesting that.

I reckon it is a bit of a toss up between Trent and Nathan personally. I think it would be worth throwing an opportunity at one of these two. How do you pick which one though? Maybe on form Trent.

I wasn't going to mention the other name rattling around in my head - simply because I am only just getting over the nightmares from the last time he played...........Daniel Schell? no surely not - I hope not!

k
xx

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
geez Stiffy, Stevo's injury must have effected me more than I thought!

I wasn't aware Rutten had hurt his thumb - must be catching since Begley, Welshy and now Rutten are all suffering from thumb injuries - interesting that.

I reckon it is a bit of a toss up between Trent and Nathan personally. I think it would be worth throwing an opportunity at one of these two. How do you pick which one though? Maybe on form Trent.

I wasn't going to mention the other name rattling around in my head - simply because I am only just getting over the nightmares from the last time he played...........Daniel Schell? no surely not - I hope not!

k
xx

Having watched little bits of the Eagles v North match last week i'd like to see Nathan be given a go.

Maybe we should give Schell another go and see if he can prove himself and maybe pigs can fly!:D

Daniel Schell? no surely not - I hope not!

k
xx

If it was up to me Schell wouldn't get in the team. I would try to avoid playing Hentschel and Bock before they are ready for it which I personally think will be towards the end if this year or beginning of next. Last thing we need to do is give one of those a chance before they are ready and as a result they will not perform which will shatter their confidence.

If I was a selector this week These would be my ins and outs.

IN: Massie, Doughty
OUT: Mattner, Stevens

Begley is pushing for selection but I would give him another week or 2 in SANFL before giving him a go. Massie has deserved a chance as he has beemn named in best players in every game he has played so far. Doughty is running back into form. One thing is for sure, you can never have enough midfielders.

Cheers;)

No, they couldn't pick Daniel Schell - we may as well play with 21 men if we do - Mr Softy isn't up to it. I watched him the other week on TV with Centrals and he couldn't kick a goal to save his life.

k
xx

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
If it was up to me Schell wouldn't get in the team. I would try to avoid playing Hentschel and Bock before they are ready for it which I personally think will be towards the end if this year or beginning of next. Last thing we need to do is give one of those a chance before they are ready and as a result they will not perform which will shatter their confidence.

If I was a selector this week These would be my ins and outs.

IN: Massie, Doughty
OUT: Mattner, Stevens

Begley is pushing for selection but I would give him another week or 2 in SANFL before giving him a go. Massie has deserved a chance as he has beemn named in best players in every game he has played so far. Doughty is running back into form. One thing is for sure, you can never have enough midfielders.

Cheers;)

Says it all Stiffy. Agree with all of the above, mate.

Not for this week, but I think Bock is probably the best prospect out of the three, unless Rutten can somehow develop some speed or perhaps the ability to turn around.

Would pick Rutten if fit. :(

Don't reckon Bock is ready yet (& not convinced yet he is up to AFL standard).

If we need another tall, then I would pick Hentschel as he is a talent, & hope that he does a Hart or Roo & adapts to the AFL at a young age.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
So you don't rate Hentschel??????:confused:

I dont rate Rutten, I didn't mention Hentschel. Hentschel is still at least 12 months away though.

Originally posted by Port01
I dont rate Rutten, I didn't mention Hentschel. Hentschel is still at least 12 months away though.
Why don't you rate Rutten?

Originally posted by Port01

Fair enough I sort of misunderstood your post.

On Rutten I think he is a very good player. I only see one weakness and that his pace. However, I think he is one of the smartest young players around. I think he can overcome this efficiency with his footy smarts. He is a bit like Lance Whitnall. I personally rate Lance Whitnall if he can keep his weight under control. Whitnall of 2000 (I think) was bloody sensational.

LoL, maybe they were in a brawl!!!:p :( :eek:

hmmm, reminiscent of Ramsgate....:(