Crow Envy

Norwood
Sorry if this has been discussed on another thread but tonight proved CHB is his position. 3 times hes played it this year, 3 times he has beaten his opponent and generated heaps of play. Rutten and Bock form two outstanding Key Defensive bigmen, players you can build a side around. Given the lack of standout CHBs this year, give Bock a full year and we could have another AA defender. Forget match ups, keep him at CHB!

He looks a BRILLIANT player when moved to defense but only a serviceable forward (effective for pinch-hitting). I was hoping he could show a bit more inside attacking 50 especially given his performance in last year's prelim but it does appear he's a defender at heart; and a damn good one at that. Damn good.

agree with the above unreservedly!

having a player like gill hold down CHF and applying consistent defensive pressure released him to CHB tonight. thats where Bock needs to stay!

Stevens is becoming more than servicable in the 3rd tall, bassett-style role too.

Hentschel is the man to take that role long term. I'll get hounded down but best for his knee to run in straight lines than to twist and turn up forward.

You won't get hounded down... it is much better running straight at the ball rather than twisting and turning coming back from a serious knee injury.

If he was just left at CHB, he would be the best in the competition by so far it wouldn't be funny.

Hopefully he keeps himself injury free and stays at CHB, because if he does, he's got quite a few AA's on the horizon.

Craig has acknowledged his best spot is @ CHB.........he has only been plying forward out of necessity.

With a fwd line next year of

Bode Welsh Trent
Bird Gill Porps...

... reckon he will settle @ CHB

I am not going to be carried away by the performances of the guys by last nights' win. Gill and Bock performed well and the team benefited. I feel that these fellas are 'interchangeable'. By that I mean if we are in trouble in one half of the field, these 2 fellas can swap. IMHO no tall these days holds a position. If we are adaptable to a change mid-game with our bigmen we are laughing all the way the finals each year.

Set positions are gone these days - it's the match-ups in game that count.

C.C.

Stevens is becoming more than servicable in the 3rd tall, bassett-style role too.

Agree. Stevens has been outstanding. In some ways I prefer him to Bassett. Stevens wouldn't get shown up in one on one contests like Bassett sometimes does. I didn't realise Stevens had the skills he has displayed this year. He is also a reliable mark.

Rutten, Bock, Stevens, Massie, Torney, McLeod, Johncock is a sensational back line.

Agree that Bock is best suited to CHB and Nick Gill's introduction to the team has allowed this to happen.

Writing the Hound off is a big call. He is in the best back 6 in this team.
For mine it is Basset, Truck, Stevens, Macca, Bock, J.C.
With the players we have, we are set for finals action for a long while to come, even given te retirements that must come over the next couple of years.

I'm sure Bassett will get back in the team next year, but I don't think he is needed this year if all those players I mentioned stay fit.

It's human nature; because he hasn't played for so long, you forget how important he is.

Stevo has been pretty bloody good this year, but Bassett is awesome.

He's like the child of Rutten/McLeod; good one on one, but his run is also great.

I agree they are probably our best 6 defenders, but they obviously all couldn't play in defence at once. too tall. Can only have 2 out of Bassett, Stevens, Bock. I'd go for Bock, Bassett, Rutten as three talls in defense and move Stevens forward. There will be a fight for positions though when Hentschel returns. Stevens, Hentschel and Gill all up forward is too tall when Welsh and Burton are up there (and I certainly like those 2 up there). Not to mention the development of Sellar and Tippett up forward. Good problem - quality depth.

Perrie is certainly gone and I'd like AFC to try trade McGregor, Jericho, Mattner. Throw in 1 of Meesen or Biglands.

I believe the crows don't make the tough decisions come trade time. Carlton look like the main target for Meesen and Jericho. They have a plethora of draft picks and/or trade for a SA boy.

McGregor to bulldogs would be possible.

We can't be ridiculously loyal, if tough decisions are there to be made the club needs to make them.

Thoughts???

Agree. Stevens has been outstanding. In some ways I prefer him to Bassett. Stevens wouldn't get shown up in one on one contests like Bassett sometimes does.

I love Stevens and would select him every week as the 'swing-man' extra tall who can play defence or attack but if team balance dictates a '3 talls' defence with Rutten, Bock and player X, then that guy has to be Bassett. He is an AA and has only really played one bad game in recent history after being crook all week. If we play against a tallish forward line we could fit all 4 back there as all are quite agile...a brilliant defence!

Perrie is certainly gone and I'd like AFC to try trade McGregor, Jericho, Mattner. Throw in 1 of Meesen or Biglands.

I believe the crows don't make the tough decisions come trade time. Carlton look like the main target for Meesen and Jericho. They have a plethora of draft picks and/or trade for a SA boy.

McGregor to bulldogs would be possible.

We can't be ridiculously loyal, if tough decisions are there to be made the club needs to make them.

Thoughts???

With the quality talls depth, i agree with delisting Perrie and trading McGregor for sure, along with 1 ruckman.

Interesting to see the names of Jericho and Mattner thrown up. Both could be desirable players to other clubs who may see more in them than we do. Personally though I'd be keeping both. I guess player for player trades need specifics to discuss but as far as picks go, i"d want 2nd round for Jericho and 1st round for Mattner and if thats too high then keep them.

Club should make tough trades but i also wouldn't want total upheaval of a reasonable list. Prob McG and a ruckman traded for decent picks or quality midfielder and that would do me.

He is a gun CHB. Bock is quick running straight lines but isn't the most agile thing. Keep him there... future AA CHB written all over him.

You won't get hounded down... it is much better running straight at the ball rather than twisting and turning coming back from a serious knee injury.

I agree I always thought that Hentschell looked really good in defence and I'm not convinced his knee will hold up to defenders crashing into him in the forward 50.

the great thing about him at CHB is that he not only beats his opponent, he gets plenty of the ball and gives us rebound out of defence. with no real standout CHB's in the comp, I reckon he will be AA next year