Bogan Music

How can those bands be called bogan music when virtually all of them are American?

I would have thought bands like Spiderbait, Frenzal Rhomb, etc were Australia's modern day bogan bands.

Most bogans i know of these days listen to eminem, dr.dre and snoop. They wear beanies and nylon eminem shirts in the middle of summer,weight 50 pounds soaking wet and drive clapped out VL's or EA's and are smelly and greasy. An acdc/gunners bogan is some old school shiat!

Lol:thumbsu: Dr. Dre and Snoop are old school, and the people that are fans of those rappers are usually the ones who think they're down with the 'old school gangsta life', even though they couldn't tell you what a dutch is if you asked them lol. Eminem attracts a much wider audience, and is more readily accepted by the 'older generation'. My dad likes a few Eminem songs, and he's definitely not a wigger, not really a bogan either.

Back on topic though, i agree with what an earlier poster said, in that bogans are usually the type to grow fond of a band, just because they're an Australian band. Wolf Mother is bogan music, younger bogans, but bogans all the same.

Exactly, it is ridiculous to classify RATM as 'bogan' music because... well, I think bogans are pretty far removed from leftist social-activist anti-capitalist music that protests against U.S. domestic and foreign policies?

Agreed...this seemed an odd choice. Would bogans know anything OTHER than the outro to "Killing in the name of..."? There'd have been a big bogan turnout at the Powderchair gig who'd have just gone "what the?" with the Reconciliation theme of the night. How many Midnight Oil fans would sing along to "Beds are Burning" while poking fun at the "coons" down at Smith Street?

Ironic innit, that some of our most overtly political Aussie bands are most popular with bogans who don't know or don't GAF about politics?

Just an observation.

Exactly, it is ridiculous to classify RATM as 'bogan' music because... well, I think bogans are pretty far removed from leftist social-activist anti-capitalist music that protests against U.S. domestic and foreign policies?

wow no way do 'bogans' listen to anti-establishment music:eek:

RATM would be just too high brow for them:rolleyes:

wow no way do 'bogans' listen to anti-establishment music:eek:

RATM would be just too high brow for them:rolleyes:
Not high brow, but on the wrong end of the political spectrum :); although it depends entirely on how you define the term bogan.

Wiktionary defines bogan as a whole bunch of things but the last sentence is what is relevant in this example:
  1. (Australia) ....Its meaning is more or less analagous to the US american redneck.

Taking that last sentence into account, if bogans are analogous to 'rednecks', and 'rednecks' are generally not known for their left-wing agendas, then why would they listen to RATM's left wing rants?

Not high brow, but on the wrong end of the political spectrum :); although it depends entirely on how you define the term bogan.

Wiktionary defines bogan as a whole bunch of things but the last sentence is what is relevant in this example:

Taking that last sentence into account, if bogans are analogous to 'rednecks', and 'rednecks' are generally not known for their left-wing agendas, then why would they listen to RATM's left wing rants?

Interesting. So bogan means the equivalent of redneck. There have been calls on this thread that have suggested that certain aussie music is bogan music. Let's take Cold Chisel as an example (as cited by an earlier poster as a bogan band or a band that bogan's like) - now Chisel's songs contained a number of political statements that took a stance against the govt. at that time (the Fraser Liberal govt.). Therefore a bogan would not like Chisel based on their socialist agendas, so therefore if we are inferring that Chisel is a bogan band then this is actually incorrect.

Now say that a bogan likes Chisel - we would assume then that the person likes the band merely for their music and not the political statements made within the lyrics. So what does this tell us - the music appeals to bogans. So a band then is only bogan if they espouse right wing agendas. So why do bogans like bands that have viewpoints on opposite ends of the spectrum?

I knew people would have a hissy fit over this. There is no doubt that you can put bands into the "bogan" category:

AC/DC
Barnesy
ZZ Top
Angels
Rose Tattoo

And the station preferred by bogans: Tripe M

Why is it so hard for someone to acknowledge they like bogan music? I remember there was a thread about bogan names (Tyla, Sharyn, Darryn etc) and some people who have kids with these names had a big sook and were in denial. Same thing happened when there was a thread about girly music.

I'm no bogan but I really like a lot of bogan music. I'm more than happy to acknowedge and don't need to be in denial or have a hissy fit about it.

Interesting. So bogan means the equivalent of redneck. There have been calls on this thread that have suggested that certain aussie music is bogan music. Let's take Cold Chisel as an example (as cited by an earlier poster as a bogan band or a band that bogan's like) - now Chisel's songs contained a number of political statements that took a stance against the govt. at that time (the Fraser Liberal govt.). Therefore a bogan would not like Chisel based on their socialist agendas, so therefore if we are inferring that Chisel is a bogan band then this is actually incorrect.

Now say that a bogan likes Chisel - we would assume then that the person likes the band merely for their music and not the political statements made within the lyrics. So what does this tell us - the music appeals to bogans. So a band then is only bogan if they espouse right wing agendas. So why do bogans like bands that have viewpoints on opposite ends of the spectrum?
The problem is you and many others don't understand the term "bogan". There was a thread once about bogans (i think it was something like "which footy players are bogans") and I was dismayed that so many people didn't know.

Anyone who was a teenager in the 70s or 80s knows exactly what a bogan is. Wiki have it wrong. Very wrong.

That's not quite hitting the nail on the head. Whilst lots of rednecks are bogans and lots of trailer trash (well pretty much all trailer trash) are bogans, they're not quite synonymous.

Bogan is more about clothing, look, and attitude. Just happens you get mre of it in low socio-economic areas.

The problem is you and many others don't understand the term "bogan". There was a thread once about bogans (i think it was something like "which footy players are bogans") and I was dismayed that so many people didn't know.

Anyone who was a teenager in the 70s or 80s knows exactly what a bogan is. Wiki have it wrong. Very wrong.

Do tell. I was a teenager in the eighties. I am assuming mullets, flannos etc have something to do with being a bogan - we used to call them westies if we are talking the same thing.

Yep, that's exactly it.

But the modern day bogan has evolved and learnt to cammoflage themselves.

Except I was on a train yesterday to go to the pub to watch the game and as I live near the beach there were all these bogans wearing footy shorts down to the beach.

Footy shorts for casual wear - the ultimate bogan apparel.

Yep, that's exactly it.

But the modern day bogan has evolved and learnt to cammoflage themselves.

Except I was on a train yesterday to go to the pub to watch the game and as I live near the beach there were all these bogans wearing footy shorts down to the beach.

Footy shorts for casual wear - the ultimate bogan apparel.

But isn't that normal dress sense in the 'shire'.;)

See I was a lover of westie music when I grew up and that is how I classify bands such as chisel, the Angels, the Tatts etc. Myself or my friends or those in the area I grew up never classified them as bogan (in fact I don't really ever recall using the word during my youth). That is why I am trying to figure out what bogan music is - thus assuming you are correct bogan really is another term for westie.

But isn't that normal dress sense in the 'shire'.;)
Nope, these are bogans from out west coming to the beach. The many bogans in the Shire are much better at camoflaging themselves

See I was a lover of westie music when I grew up and that is how I classify bands such as chisel, the Angels, the Tatts etc. Myself or my friends or those in the area I grew up never classified them as bogan (in fact I don't really ever recall using the word during my youth). That is why I am trying to figure out what bogan music is - thus assuming you are correct bogan really is another term for westie.
Bogan music is really a sound that has come from what bogans listen to. Rock is essentially bogan music. When I say rock, I mean the absolute epicentre of the rock sound. It's about what chords they use.

I love AC/DC but they are as rock as you can get and as bogan as you can get. Bogan anthems may include Black Betty, Copperhead Rd, Smoke on the Water, Run to Paradide, Khe Sahn etc.