Bogan Neighbour Problem

Are they impacting on other neighbours as well as you?

I guess one option, which I admit could be difficult as it could backfire and make things worse, is to approach other neighbours living nearby on your street and see if they're having a problem with them too.

That way next time you approach you could say something like, 'Look mate, it's not just me, I've been told by several others that your noise is an issue'. A further step in future if things got really bad could be to get a petition of sorts and pass it onto the local council, police if you were at your wits end.

Hopefully this would be enough to make them change their ways or make them feel so sheepish and ashamed that they eventually move out.

But, on the flip side it could just motivate them to be bigger bums. It's a tough call.

I've lived in apartments a lot which has had its fair share of issues too with rude, inconsiderate neighbours, I've just been lucky that it's never been too frequent or severe for it to truly become an issue.

I feel sorry for eastaugh. That's one of the main reasons you move to higher socioeconomic areas - to not have to associate with people in your private life that are uncivilised. Having such plebs as neighbours would make me shudder. Elitist? You're ****ing right it is.

The flaw that leads to such disappointment is assuming there is some sort of correlation between socioeconomic status and civility.

Personally I've observed roughly the same number of ********s in most streets I've lived in, regardless of location. Worst neighbour I had was one of the wealthiest, to boot.

Let me start by saying that we live in a decent area so how we got stuck next to a bogan couple really baffles me as she doesnt work so you tell me how they can afford the place!!

Firstly, some previous problems -

Firstly, we had the music problem. On a weekly basis this bogan would have his mates around to drink,yell, swear while listening to thump thump music. This would occur during the middle of the week!! They would be out in his little bogan cave which is their outside garage.

Next it was the tree removal. He went on a mad spree cutting down trees,bushes on their property, many of which provided some sort of privacy for us. So now it is as bare as anything. I would understand if he was cutting stuff down to replace it with either home extensions or other trees but its been a year and nothings been done!

Then came the kids stoning our roof and also coming onto our property for no reason. Also the kids are always just throwing empty junk food wrappers on the ground which blow into our property.

Then it was the dog problem. You know the usual type of aggressive dogs that bogans own. One in particular was a ferocious thing that would bare its teeth at you and growl when you were in your own yard! They never walk the dogs that I have ever seen.

Then it was the junk pile problem. They have times where they accumulate this massive pile of junk. It sits and grows over a few months before they finally get a skip in to take it away. This is just a horrible look and really degrades such a nice area.

Anyway they are the previous problems now heres the next thing to come up.

Firstly, we do share a driveway which leads into both properties. We have our carport on their side so it is next to their entrance gate. This morning I have noticed that she has parked their big people mover thing in our carport!!!! Yes the carport is empty most days and she obviously assumes we are both at work and doesnt realise I am home on leave but still, I couldnt believe it!!! The carport is private property!!! So what would you do????

Its one thing after the other and nothing would surprise me anymore with the ferals. No wonder the kids are like they are when they have these disrespectful idiots as parents.

You are living next door to low life drug dealers;

1. it is how they afford to live there
2. parties natural congregate where the drugs are
3. they cut down the trees and plant life during a speed psychosis

Honestly, you should just move.

The flaw that leads to such disappointment is assuming there is some sort of correlation between socioeconomic status and civility.

Personally I've observed roughly the same number of ********s in most streets I've lived in, regardless of location. Worst neighbour I had was one of the wealthiest, to boot.

No doubt there are idiotic wealthy people as well.

Socioeconomic status does not prevent rich daddy's little princess from blasting kesha at 6am in the morning, just like it doesn't prevent the bogan from blasting whatever he wants to at a ridiculous time time.

Nevertheless, the association is still there in my opinion.

It's about the odds.

It's funny the little routine he puts on when I first open the door, "Mark! How are you? Just coming around to see what you're up to". I'm thinking, "Yeah, whatever. Get on it with it. What do you want?"

I just want him out of my hair so I agree and drive him down to the bank and get him $50. I tell him that he needs to pay me on Monday as I am short of cash myself. He replies, "You have my word. I will pay you back first thing Monday morning."

A week later and no sign of him or the money. I don't really care because hopefully he has too much shame to ask for anything else so it's $50 well spent.

wtf? why is he calling you Mark? your name's Noddy! some friend.

also, seriously, i cant believe you actually drove him to the bank to get some money. tell him to **** off, or at least provide nudes of aforementioned girl he plans to sechs

You don't have much of a clue, do you? Have you ever had these sorts of neighbours?

It was almost all that he'd play, 2 or 3 songs from each, over and over again, November Rain in particular. I could tell when he'd passed out because the DVDs would jump and repeat.

5 households had to suffer because of one persons' lack of consideration.

november rain is my favourite song:eek:

i understand what you're saying though, we have this nob builder who will occasionally have late night bbq's with tradie mates during the week up until 3-4am and he'll crank up bon jovi, ac/dc (high voltage) and ****en kiss again and again. he's got a wife and young kids so i have no ****ing idea why he'd do this. the rest of my crt is good but this w***er gets on the piss and it annoys everyone, usually once or twice a month. unfortunately, he has his phone number on the side of his ute. my phone goes to private number and recall every time until someone picks it up, usually the poor wife, and they're told to cut that shit out.
**** bogan neighbours, they all need to go and congregate together in melton, dandenong or frankston (don't come down mt martha though)

Are you sure it's their house or are they renters? If you know anyone in the real estate game or the council they know what sites to look up who owns what and even how much they paid for the property. If these neighbours are renters you can contact the agent they pay rent to and list complaints.

If they are as bad as you say i'd record as much as possible. There are EPA laws on what time of the day you can use machinery in a house. I think 7.00 p.m. is cut off time tho I'm not sure about start up time i.e. lawn mowers etc.

As someone else said, check with the surrounding neighbours but in a subtle way, your missus and the other neighbours wives/GF's etc are more than likely to get up a baitch session on the bogans over a chardy or 3.

They sound like the type who would be deaf to any civil suggestion.

Feel for you Eastaugh, my folks have the same problem with a house full of little bogan shits across the road from their place. Decided to smash up all their XMAS lights last year so this year we didn't bother. Pretty much nothing you can do to get rid of them to be honest. Funny thing is they live in what would be classed as a high end suburb compared to me and I have zero problems.

Terrible neighbours suck, hopefully things imrpove for you Eastaugh. We have some bad neighbours at the minute, they're not bogan but they are childish and very ****ing stupid. E.g. we live in a unit, i.e. we have a common ground driveway, and the neighbours decided to get some ****wit to completely hack at the trees without consulting us what so ever (they look ******ed and we are now going to boil in summer). This is just a recent incident, they also had some stuff delivered and the truck driver smashed into our fence. They wouldn't hand the insurance money over for months and we had this ****ing knocked down fence for close to a year.

Sounds like the OP requires the services of a good pest controller. Someone that has a specialty in removing rodents.

my experiences have been no where near as bad as the OP's but just having experienced more than a taste of bad neighbouring i have much sympathy.

i found it's definitely worth picking one's battles. i tolerate almost anything except noise at night during the working week.

the 3 people/families i have had problems with i've made a big effort to be polite and friendly as possible explaining how their actions affected me which has worked wonders 2 out 3 times.

the 3rd time the ****wit i was talking to just went in to denial/dismissive mode. fortunately i've develevoped some rapport with the Mrs who seems to have some moderating influence on her shitful partner.

it's tempting to go to war and retaliate with my noisiest power tools or give in to my worst urges at the worst time and bash the **** out of the ****. but the consequences of this are very unlikely to be positive. hospital (possible), court (likely) and a damaged reputation (definitely).

it's kind of like international diplomacy. you know war is bad and are keen to avoid it but how much shit should you put up with before enough is enough.

Lacking civility and being someone you wouldn't want to associate with aren't necessarily the same thing. Bogans (as a proxy for lower socioeconomic status) are likely to be same. With the exception of those with inherited wealth, people in higher socioeconomic areas had to earn their money. And that's generally hard to do without at least being able/having being forced to learn to act in a civil fashion - even if you don't like people.

From having lived in a few suburbs from 'lower middle' to 'upper middle' 'class' the further up the socioeconomic ladder, the less I've seen of the problems in the OP - loud noise, cars/junks all over the yard, aggressive dogs never exercised (the one that especially shits me, as I had a rottie in a not so large yard, and kept him and I fit by taking him for a jog every night, them not exercising the dogs is animal cruelty IMO) etc.

Hell, even anyone going to friends / family / business associates around any city couldn't help, but notice a bunch of the OP's issues, that any person on the street passing properties can observe, that 'better' suburbs are just that - better all round.

I don't blame the dogs. I feel sorry for them. It's not their fault they have lazy owners who don't know what exercise is. It's not their fault they were never trained or disciplined. I'll never forget when they got the dog he was saying "it will keep intruders out blah blah blah". Only a bogan could say it....

The dogs are merely there to hold off the police long enough for the owners to get rid of their drugs.

A relative of mine recently married into a bogan family and family get togethers have never been so much fun :rolleyes: About a dozen bogans rock up for a free feed every time my ralative's family has a bbq. One thing that never ceases to amaze me is how they dress their kids in shorts and t-shirt all year round. It actually does get chilly around winter.

I'll never forget the bogan dad giving a speech at the wedding in his footy team's scarf. Class.

I got bogans living down the street from me. These are real ferals and they kind of sound like the ones the OP is typing about. These ferals has rubbish piled up on thier front yard and sometimes they actually sit in the rubbish drinking beer. The female feral works in the local fish n chip shop up the street. Every now and then i would treat myself to fish a chips but not anymore not since the feral started working there. They often get drunk and shout and carry on like true bogan's. The police are often there and their kids wear rags and always look dirty. I feel like buying a block of soap and throwing it at the parents ands telling them to clean thier kids. But i think the female feral will try and boganise me.

Are you sure it's their house or are they renters? If you know anyone in the real estate game or the council they know what sites to look up who owns what and even how much they paid for the property. If these neighbours are renters you can contact the agent they pay rent to and list complaints.

That's what I did with the mouth breathers that were renting the place behind ours and playing doof doof music until all hours. It took a number of complaints but they did get evicted.

You are living next door to low life drug dealers;

1. it is how they afford to live there
2. parties natural congregate where the drugs are
3. they cut down the trees and plant life during a speed psychosis

Honestly, you should just move.

Yes but before you do, try jumping the fence one night when they're not home and nick their hoochie plants. Will send them into a state of paranoia as they will believe someone is onto them. If they confront you about it, tell them you don't touch the stuff. They'll most likely move on before you have to. Works nearly every time :):thumbsu:

Well last night the music was real loud, they had a party. It was so loud you wouldnt have been able to hold a conversation with other people over there but thats a bogan for you. As it was new years eve I left it alone.

Another trick of mine is to start the lawn mower at 10:00 am sunday morning, if that is the time that the council allows the earliest mowing in your area, also have the wife ready to call the police when said bogans are woken from their slumber and come onto your property, best to do this after they have kept you awake until 6:00 in the morning. Use the law to your advantage.

Yeah have done that before! The lazy bastards don't surface on weekends until 11am. Typical bogans.

How do you know what time they get up? (unless you are looking through their windows)

Also, how do you know that he gets home at 3pm every day? You say 'some of us have to work long hours', so wouldn't you be at work then?

Parking their car in your carport is pretty ordinary if true.

Bogan Neighbour Problem