Society & Culture Bogan

Oh yes they ****ing do. Never been to Mt Lawley or a Perth International Arts Festival gig clearly.

These guys are only living in Perth until they get enough frequent rider points from their fixies to take them to Melbourne, the hipster capital of Oz

Or London where they bitch about Perth being full of bogans or go on about how kitsch and 'so like us' the castle was which contradicts everything they go on about.

I think because of the influx of Perth hipsters is why I've never lived in Melbourne.

Pretty much everyone in Australia has bogan traits to varying degrees, and those who don't are toffs, much more unlikeable than bogans IMO.
Agreed. I get a bit of stick from mates for being a little on the toffish side, but even I can identify with stuff in this thread. I say mate and deadset a fair bit. I drink Toohey's New. I watch Bathurst and would have no problem driving a Ford (probably not a Holden though). I own a flanno. I like Aussie rock.

The term or the person who is a bogan is morphing in to something new. The term now takes in surfs and others when it used to be Bogans V Surfs.
Yeah, this. The term 'bogan' used to be synonymous with 'westie' in Sydney/NSW. They usually rode dirtbikes and had mullets.

Was recently talking to a guy from school who described another guy as a 'bogan'. He's a surfie and in high school the real bogans hated him.

Agree about hipsters being far worse. I don't think anyone can stand hipsters except other hipsters.

Agreed. I get a bit of stick from mates for being a little on the toffish side, but even I can identify with stuff in this thread. I say mate and deadset a fair bit. I drink Toohey's New. I watch Bathurst and would have no problem driving a Ford (probably not a Holden though). I own a flanno. I like Aussie rock.

Well you did grow up on the Central Coast or in Newcastle so you never really had a chance :D

Yeah, this. The term 'bogan' used to be synonymous with 'westie' in Sydney/NSW. They usually rode dirtbikes and had mullets.

Was recently talking to a guy from school who described another guy as a 'bogan'. He's a surfie and in high school the real bogans hated him.

Agree about hipsters being far worse. I don't think anyone can stand hipsters except other hipsters.

And even then they're being ironic.

Seems to me all sorts of groups are now deemed bogans.

Whatever happened to ferals, mods, sharpies, surfies, jocks, nerds, bikers, stoners, burnouts, homies, metros, skaties, ballers, rockers, punks etc.

Now theyre all bogans?

Or people just lazy and quick to judge?

IMO Bogans today are not the underclass or whitetrash, they tend to have a different tag depending which town or city you live in.

I see Bogans as the Aussie middle class, and there are probably many types of bogan for example;

The cashed up Bogan - Usually tradies
The suburban Bogan - loves bunnings
The Aussie Pride bogan - Oi Oi Oi, hates boat people
The meat pies, footy & Cars Bogan
The "I'm an individual" Bogan - names their kids "meeshell", Jahamie, Celly and the like.

Even though i have plenty of Bogan traits, most other bogans annoy me but probably not as much as the Latte sipping holier then thou types!

Housos next week.

In fact Fenech, who plays Franky in the series based around a fictional housing commission block, says his latest provocative show represents a large, and mostly ignored, section of the Australian community.

"There are so many bogans in Australia a show had to be made about them," he says.

"It wasn't just an idea, the total bogan movement of Australia demanded a show be made about them so I gave it to them.

"For me I like to root for the underdog no matter what.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/entertainm...-for-bogans-20111018-1lyhb.html#ixzz1bEG3JGgo

Paul Fenech, ya stooges

Housos next week.

Paul Fenech, ya stooges

I didn't know about this so thanks for posting...

""We're just becoming a crazy, over-regulated, over-controlled society and now that's creeping into comedy and it's sad," he says, offering this suggestion to anyone who thinks they may be offended by his show: "If you don't like the show don't watch it and don't whinge about it."

Raises some valid points. I think a significant part of our humour is that we ARE quite non PC - like that Aussie film movement in the 70s. It's a bit racist and vulgar and overall non PC. Today our humour isn't that full on but we're not as PC as the poms and the americans. Not to say we're more racist - I think enforcing PC-ness has zero to do with where a society's actual values lie. Hence why I agree with fenech that over regulation is a crap thing to do to comedy.

I saw a bloke a the supermarket a couple of years ago with a Holden jacket & a Ford cap?!?!?!? WTF ? i was expecting a fellow bogan to threaten him with a "which f**en one is it buddy, can't be both!".

Other clothing they like to wear (at least here in Tassie) is motorcycle clothing eg Fox racing. Disagree with the bundy rum though, i usually find that is associated with your country types, you know, ute, big mud flaps, brahma bull stickers, 427 arials...
Yeah Fox, Unit and monster are a popular brand amongst bogans. I think it's cos they have naked chicks on their t shirts half the time.

The line between a bogan and a metrosexual are becoming increasingly blurred.

Common traits that I pick up are:

* Designer clothes (especially Billabong and those disgusting 'vomit shirts' that look like someone has thrown paint on them and scrawled random graffiti)

* Motor sport enthusiasts

* People that either get Australian flag tattoos on Australia Day or walk around with an Australian flag draped around them

* Fauxhawks

* V neck t-shirts

* White shoes with jeans

* People that regularly write letters or texts to the Herald Sun

* Anyone that says 'mate' twice in one sentence

* People that visit Bali for any reason whatsoever

* People that wear tshirts with idiotic ironic sayings on them

* People that wear tour shirts of a band that played the night before (extra bogan points - they often walk around with their gf or bf who is also sporting the same shirt)

* Music collection has an overabundance of Fat Wreck Chords releases in it

* Listen to MMM (especially their football coverage)

As someone who has been to the US quite often I've seen many of these trends over there (v-necks, fauxhawks, graffiti shirts and jeans/white sneakers).

I think a lot of Australians who aren't/don't think they're bogans just look at every other Australian as a bogan. It's become a way of defining any thing or person who is different from us or who we don't like.