Society & Culture Bogan

Gimme a god ol' bogan over a hipster douchebag any day o' the week.

Bogan's are generally no-nonsense kinda folk, you know where you stand.

Bogan's are comfortable in their own skin, not slavishly adhering to the latest trend or fad.

Bogan's are anti-authority, a god ol' Aussie trait that's been lost on the majority of the population.

Bogan's aren't racist, I know bogans from many different ethnic backgrounds. Immigrants tend to settle in the more affordable areas of our cities i.e. bogan heartland. Multiculturalism works well in Boganville.

Bogans can drink

Is there anything wrong with Rose Tattoo and AC/DC?

The use of the term bogan in it's perjorative sense is an extremely lazy one, used by those who like to consider themselves socially and culturally superior. Flogs!

4958751693_449c29b41b_o.jpg

These guys are our uncles

These guys are Sharpies.

Reminds me of another great song by The Celibate Rifles called The Paddo Sharps

pure bogan is an old skool bogan who drink jack daniels on trams as well as spit, wear flannel shirts, treat their girlfriends like rubbish and live in commission flats.

Refer to my earlier post for the broader definition of a bogan.

Your view of the bogan is a bit narrow.

Your broader dofinition is incorrect

Your view of the bogan is a bit narrow.

Your broader dofinition is incorrect

Your definition of bogan sounds like a really nice person with perhaps an aussie twang. It's a very affection interpretation and I would feel equally at peace around your definition of a bogan.

I tried to stick with a derogitory theme of bogan in both my definititions.

If by 15 minutes of being in a room and you cant spot the bogan

You are the bogan

And Southern Cross tats and "**** off we're full" bumper stickers

Malifice
BigFooty Legend

Deadset Bogan! And an authority on them as well.

brut deodorant and rats tails.

Rat tails immediately qualify you for absolute mungbeetle status.

There is nothing worse than Parents who endorse and endow their kids with rats tails, how can they seriously absolutely bona fide think it's a good thing for their kid to have a ratty? They HAVE to be delusional.

My girlfriend works in childcare and cut a bogan kids ratty off for the lulz saying it was a hazard and getting caught in things.

brut deodorant and rats tails.

Rat tails immediately qualify you for absolute mungbeetle status.

There is nothing worse than Parents who endorse and endow their kids with rats tails, how can they seriously absolutely bona fide think it's a good thing for their kid to have a ratty? They HAVE to be delusional.

My girlfriend works in childcare and cut a bogan kids ratty off for the lulz saying it was a hazard and getting caught in things.
I can understand the rat tail, but why the deodorant? I've never heard of a brand of deodorant identifying with any bogan stereotype.

To be honest I've never seen Brut marketed to that demographic either.

I can understand the rat tail, but why the deodorant? I've never heard of a brand of deodorant identifiying with any bogan stereotype.

To be honest I've never seen Brut marketed to that demographic either.

Its cheap, tacky and their ads are horrificly bogan. That pretty much does it for me.

Traditional bogans like the guy who sang that song "Bloke" back in the day are pretty harmless.

The new age, younger bogans who sport sleeve tattoos and/or southern cross and often find trouble at nightspots (a good example - Todd Carney) are the ones you need to look out for!

Also you can often spot a bogan parent by their children's names. Often common names with a different spelling, or more recently, surnames as first names (Cooper).

All in all, I reckon there's nothing wrong with having a bit of bogan in ya! Pretty much everyone in Australia has bogan traits to varying degrees, and those who don't are toffs, much more unlikeable than bogans IMO.

Bogans in this day are a dime a dozen these days.

Mullets people, mullets. I don't think anyone has said them yet. They still pop up on bogans from time to time.

Sometimes you can't always spot a bogan if you're on a busy train or in a crowded place, but **** me you can certainly hear them. "SIDDOWN (sit down) OR I'LL SMACK YA!!" is something often heard by bogan parents.

Bogans have this tendency to talk louder than everyone and let everyone know the problems they're having whether you want to listen or not.

The line between a bogan and a metrosexual are becoming increasingly blurred.

Common traits that I pick up are:

* Designer clothes (especially Billabong and those disgusting 'vomit shirts' that look like someone has thrown paint on them and scrawled random graffiti)

* Motor sport enthusiasts

* People that either get Australian flag tattoos on Australia Day or walk around with an Australian flag draped around them

* Fauxhawks

* V neck t-shirts

* White shoes with jeans

* People that regularly write letters or texts to the Herald Sun

* Anyone that says 'mate' twice in one sentence

* People that visit Bali for any reason whatsoever

* People that wear tshirts with idiotic ironic sayings on them

* People that wear tour shirts of a band that played the night before (extra bogan points - they often walk around with their gf or bf who is also sporting the same shirt)

* Music collection has an overabundance of Fat Wreck Chords releases in it

* Listen to MMM (especially their football coverage)

There's some pretty interesting reading here, some of it particularly disturbing on a personal level. I've got to admit that i might have a few bogan tendancies i think. I say mate occasionally, i've been to Thailand, like a bit of old fashioned aussie rock.

It's all a bit confusing for me though as I love literature, art, listen to RRR and care about other lefty type things. I'm getting a bit worried about loving my footy in case it makes it onto the "Things Bogans Like" site.

That even had stuff on it like bogans liking low interest rates and foxtel.

It's all very ****ing confusing.

The first two replies are a good start. I think I'll direct you to this website:

http://thingsboganslike.com/the-full-list/

One of the things on the list in that link of what Bogans like is the Fender Stratocaster. I have four of them. What's more if you read the mini-article attached to the Stratocaster bit, the guy is clearly talking about a Gibson Les Paul and even has a photo of Slash with a Les Paul.

http://thingsboganslike.com/2011/07/01/233-fender-stratocasters/

The rest of the piece is good and I also think Guitar Hero "gods" are idiots. If they took the time they spent learning that stupid game and put a genuiine guitar in their hands, they could actually play guitar.

But no shame in having love for Fender or Gibson guitars. That's my point.

There's some pretty interesting reading here, some of it particularly disturbing on a personal level. I've got to admit that i might have a few bogan tendancies i think. I say mate occasionally, i've been to Thailand, like a bit of old fashioned aussie rock.

It's all a bit confusing for me though as I love literature, art, listen to RRR and care about other lefty type things. I'm getting a bit worried about loving my footy in case it makes it onto the "Things Bogans Like" site.

That even had stuff on it like bogans liking low interest rates and foxtel.

It's all very ****ing confusing.

LOL it's a good thing I guess that makes me a non-bogan as i like high interest rates since i have no loans to my name and a high interest rate should equate to more free money for me.

Had a lovely bogan experience this afternoon.

Turning left on main city street, you know the ones were you have to wait ages because there heaps of pedestrians, waiting, waiting last one crosses I start turning, then out of the corner of my left eye I see this feral woman basically running, pushing a pram with child virtually at my car, dead shit boyfriend in tow 5 metres behind screaming "It's still ****ing green ya ******!!"

Just one of those moments where you think to yourself, why does these people exist and why are they allowed to procreate?

Guy I know was at a get together in Melton, fairly low key but was wearing a suit because later in the afternoon had to go into work

When it was time to go he was saying goodbyes, one of the many guests looked him up and down and said

"Oh!, you going to court?"

Boganville.

Hipsters don't live in perth

Oh yes they ****ing do. Never been to Mt Lawley or a Perth International Arts Festival gig clearly.

Whoever made the point about the 'new' form of bogan that go out looking for trouble has replaced the older stereotype has it spot on. The term or the person who is a bogan is morphing in to something new. The term now takes in surfs and others when it used to be Bogans V Surfs. As someone that grew up in so called bogan heartland (Rockingham) a majority do not have a ****ing clue.

Also, I'm sure there's sociology classes at universities aruond the country where ignorant middle class w***ers are debating about this too and clearly would have no idea.