bingle

Celtics, Patriots, RedSox
it looks as if he may sign a contract extension to tie him to the club beyond next season.:thumbsu:

just got back from overseas trip. Cook in discussions about his contract. Wants to make it official before Xmas.

Article up on official AFL page.

weird that 2 years ago we were all screaming for him to be sacked. I think he should stay on as what he is setting up down at the cattery looks like it will have a long term impact on our success. I especially like this "Insitute of Sport" style approach to coaching juniors in order to bring them on quicker into AFL footy.

On balance I'd prefer to wait to see how we shape-up next year. If Bomber does get an extension I hope Sando does too - so Bucks can't get him down the track.:eek: Definite senior coach in the making is Sando IMHO.

Our chances of keeping Sando are basically zip - he's already publicly said that as soon as Buckley starts coaching he's keen to work for him. I couldn't agree more though on potential, he'll be a great coach. Isn't it weird how many coaches come from the ranks of nuggety backmen?

Gary Ayres????? :p:p:p

Sando has already resigned for the next 2 years though!

Geez I hope he has re-signed and there is no get-out clause cos I know he and Bucks are as tight as.... and that Bucks rates him.

Not sure the Institute of Sport is a Bomber concept. Would still wait before I signed him long-term as the way we were comprehensively out coached at the big dance still grates. Bomber prepares teams well but isn't a great game day coach IMHO.

Having a contract didn't stop Sando leaving Port. However I'm not convinced either way he'll be a great head coach.

Time only will tell J.B. But we do know Choco Williams rates him as he fought tooth-n-nail to keep him at Port, something he hasn't done with the plethora of other assistants that have left that club. Bucks rates him and he's not a bad judge. And so must Bomber as he took him as his assistant when he coached the Vics. Reasonable credentials I would say. But time will tell.

Mark Williams will be the cats next coach. Don't need to lock bomber up anymore. 9 years is plenty for one man.

I sort of agree.......only on the condition that Motlop, Cornes (plural) and Tredrea come over for a trade with Byrnes/ Varcoe...I think thats fair.....

The Hawks player ?
Ex-Sandy coach ?
Singer of 'Show no Mercy' ?

Which one ?
Oh god,not that dropkick from Port Adelaide :eek:

Yup. I never liked him until the past couple of years. Loads of charisma

And on that scale, ones I would not want.

Malthouse - grumpy old man
Harvey - Grumpy young man
Laidley - see above
Pagan - see above
Lyon - See above
Ayres - see above
Sheedy - From a different planet

There's not many left other than assistants or Matthews.

Longmire - possibly. as long as the swans game plan didn't come with it.
Matthews - possibly, not sure he will coach again

Or will McCarthy get the gig next? I personally don't think succession plans work for coaches.

Yup. I never liked him until the past couple of years. Loads of charisma

And on that scale, ones I would not want.

Malthouse - grumpy old man
Harvey - Grumpy young man
Laidley - see above
Pagan - see above
Lyon - See above
Ayres - see above
Sheedy - From a different planet

There's not many left other than assistants or Matthews.

Longmire - possibly. as long as the swans game plan didn't come with it.
Matthews - possibly, not sure he will coach again

Or will McCarthy get the gig next? I personally don't think succession plans work for coaches.

What about Nathan Buckley??? Would we go down the path of an untried coach???

Out of all ex-players with no coaching experience, he would be the only one I'd take. The club that recruits him should look at getting a mentor for him for his first twelve months.

I'd take Leigh Matthews in a heartberat. he could put Brunsy on as an assistant....what a PR winner. I recall in an interview with leigh after he retired from the Lions he was asked if he woulf coach again soon and he said something like, "Probably not, unless it was Geelong of course!" Bingo!

Out of all ex-players with no coaching experience, he would be the only one I'd take. The club that recruits him should look at getting a mentor for him for his first twelve months.

That would be a good idea for whatever club gets his services; I just think its a matter of when, not if, with Buckley.

Im sorry if anyone disagrees, but I honestly think Leigh Tudor could cut it in the senior coaching ranks. He might not be high profile, but he seems to be sociable when approached and his development of the younger players seems to be really working (with direction/ assistance from senior coaches in the GFC).

Reckon the only Melbourne side Choco would be interested in would be the moccasin brigade at Lexus. Not sure I’d want him anyway.
I agree. Bucks had the footy smarts as a player and his appraisal of games in the media shows he knows his stuff and is a good communicator. However, he has said on radio many times he thinks he needs the experience of being an assistant coach somewhere before he moves to a head coaching role. If he was to go straight into a senior role I reckon the big noting Prez of Collingwood would roll out the $$$$$$$$ to ensure it’s with them.