Bombers Punch Up

Well... lets just say if i was at a lions training and saw Simon Black having a punch up with a second year player i would think they were both w***ers. Unprofessional, leaves a sense of tension in the group. The group wouldn't feel closely knit. A key to success.

I can assume then you have never played football.

it is a common occurrence in football clubs and furthermore i can say from my own experiences it is actually more prevelent in successfull clubs.

I am very happy about this actually as i believe Houli lacked some self confidence on the field last year.

With any luck he might be a big improver this year.

I can assume then you have never played football.

it is a common occurrence in football clubs and furthermore i can say from my own experiences it is actually more prevelent in successfull clubs.

I am very happy about this actually as i believe Houli lacked some self confidence on the field last year.

With any luck he might be a big improver this year.

Haha i just played under 18 rep. footy for townsville this arvo against cairns. It's not a common occurrence. Your meant to always encourage your teammates. Not smack them in the face.

Fairley, just get off your horse and go back and read the thread. No report and no poster has referred to players going tooth and nail. It was a dust up, and tension released pure and simple and not some bar room brawl or brazen act of thuggery.

Good to see you get out for a kick, but this incident and the perspective brought to it by the posters in this thread refers to players on the fringe of AFL firsts. Encouragement they have had plenty of pal. Houli has talent but he is a long way from being a regular pick just yet. If he shows no metal at training with 8 other potentials competing for the same spot how do the coaches know what he is saving for the field.

So don't be so precious about players wanting to push the envelope a bit. Ambition, killer instinct, whatever but it has an honest motive and was inhouse. Its called footy not bench warming or have you come a little too used to the pine up there?

Bomba, I would be concerned if these guys were patting each other on the rear or backing off from training contests out of nicity. They will laugh about it. And if they don't then we have found an attitude problem sooner rather than later. None of these blokes can afford an ego that separates them from the pack. Whether it was meassured pressure as Ant suggests or something that flared it all bodes well.
Tough to know what to make of it. It may have been an act of genius by by the coaching staff to see what Houli is made of. If so, he passed in flying colours.
Tough to think the coaching staff will go out and create disharmony amongst the group though. I was disappointed the instant after I had read the thread title. I can see your point of view, and sure it is good to see things are serious down there, but an environment where players genuinely dislike each other isnt great for the team.
Fingers crossed it was just a bit of biff and they're having a laugh over it.

Tough to know what to make of it. It may have been an act of genius by by the coaching staff to see what Houli is made of. If so, he passed in flying colours.
Tough to think the coaching staff will go out and create disharmony amongst the group though. I was disappointed the instant after I had read the thread title. I can see your point of view, and sure it is good to see things are serious down there, but an environment where players genuinely dislike each other isnt great for the team.
Fingers crossed it was just a bit of biff and they're having a laugh over it.

Bombadude, this is the thing. The assumption from the title misleads. Professional AFL footballers have come through the ranks and seen it from all sides. At this point everything is so close that some frayed tempers let loose, but they know that they are in this together. A whack on the chops can do wonderss if taken the right way. I reckon your second code EPL, would have the temperaments that would take it the wrong way, like fairley LOL. AFL players know how to view this shit and anyway there is little option. On the chin or walk. Houli wants to play bad, its on the chin and I can see the mischief in Mcveigh. Storm in a tea cup.

Soccer is different. No need to make a comparison to that. I hope they are all having a jibe at the two and that they've both made up. Sure I can understand what you are saying, and no, I havent viewed the incident and am only commenting on what I read, but it seemed quite serious. Pperhaps I am badly misinterpreting what happened. One thing we now know is that Houli has balls. We knew McVeigh was a tough player but it is good to see Houli stepping up too. Hopefully he has the same attitude in matches and is a good hard, fair player. I rate the kid highly and hope to see him as a permanent fixture in our midfield in the not too distant future.

I don't think it was a smack in the face, just a bit of a wrestle, nothing wrong with a bit of competitiveness between teamates.

P.S. I actually played under 17 for Townsville back in 1992. I played for the Hermit Park Tigers. Have they still only got 4 teams in that league?

Last year we had Setanta and Ackland go at it (you can guess who we were cheering for), and that week Ackland actually played a half-decent game for once. They should beat the shit out of him more often at training :D

I don't think it was a smack in the face, just a bit of a wrestle, nothing wrong with a bit of competitiveness between teamates.

P.S. I actually played under 17 for Townsville back in 1992. I played for the Hermit Park Tigers. Have they still only got 4 teams in that league?

Snap!

Unreal.
Obviously under the pump and it got to them...
Find it funny the coaching staff thought it was amusing..
they must be pretty happy that the boys are fired up..
Hopefully we see them pumped up on the field. :thumbsu:

I mentioned last year in a thread about when i was over in Vic at Easter and we went down to WH to watch training. They were having a sort of match simulation session and the ball came down high to young Neagle in the FL. McVeigh was the defender and ran in to spoil Jay's marking effort.

Instead of punching the ball,McVeigh landed a huge wack across Neagle's head and nearly took his head off. No sorrys or 'You right?' from McVeigh. He just stood his ground and stood over him while he rolled around the ground in pain. Standing on the mark (free kick to Neagle) he just glared at Jay without a word.

Teaching the young blokes what to expect in the big time:thumbsu:

Settle down guys. The six players broke it up because they where the ones all gathered together. If there had of been two players next to Spike and bash then two players would have seperated them. It is not like 6 guys came running over from a distance to stop it.
Unless you where there to see it you shouldnt be passing judment on what happened. It was far from a serious incident. McVeigh put the acid on Bacher and Bacher stood up to it. Nothing more to it than that. I think the coaching staff may be behind a few of these little battles between senior players and the young blokes.;)

We have a winner!!!!!

Senior players acting on instrucion....

Its interesting McVeigh is taking on the role of grizzled senior player leading by example.......... every footy club have a few of them and it works well- almost the natural order- if the senior player does everything right on and off the field.

If so it could be a wise old move. Houli giving it back means he would most likely not be intimidated by the senior players from opposition sides. Because for 1st to 2nd year 'fresh' players it isn't uncommon to be targeted.

Or he may be targeted even more as it is known that he will lose his cool and retaliate!

These sort of things would happen all the time, especially if the team is focussing on contact drills

Its interesting McVeigh is taking on the role of grizzled senior player leading by example.......... every footy club have a few of them and it works well- almost the natural order- if the senior player does everything right on and off the field.

I agree,McVeigh is an interesting player and I reckon Hird going has hit him hard. He's on a search and destroy mission this season. I wouldn't want to line up on the little nutter..

But he has to channel that aggression in the right places.
Just hope he dosn't do a Solly and give 5 free kicks away every week.

I was there at the time, Bachar gave him a little bump that sent mcveigh on his arse, all within the training drill. McVeigh got up and elbowed him in the head.

Bachar then grabbed him by the jumper and started giving him a couple of jumper punches.

You shouldn't be doing that, instead of elbowing them in the head, he should of gotten up after the hip and shoulder and should of tapped him on the arse, and said "good bump". Something that Hird would of done. Seems to me that Mcveigh is a very selfish type of guy, previous offences support my claim.

I now pity him.

Bombers Punch Up